We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Atwater

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Atwater
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Atwater
See the most recent reviews
Showing 468: English reviews
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Reviewed 12 June 2015

We had a great stay at this historic hotel.. It is right in the heart of town. You can walk to anything . OUr room was fine, bed was a King Size and was so comfortable! Bathroom a wee bit small... but we were never in our room much , so it didn't matter. The staff was very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frankie S
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Frankie, Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Atwater. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 10 June 2015

The room smelled really bad as soon as we entered. I talked to the front desk staff- couple of kids who didn't seem to care- to change our room, but I was ignored every single time. They were trying to get rid of me somehow until the end of their shifts. I'm sure whoever's in charge of this place is...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank houdi4
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Houdi4, I am very sorry to hear about your recent stay at the Hotel Atwater. I appreciate your feedback and I thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. Please email me at Social@scico.com to discuss further. Sincerely, Robert Perico General Manager

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 4 June 2015

I was invited to Catalina by Bud Light for Whatever USA. I wasn't even a paying guest and the people at this hotel were amazing still! They treated us with such kindness and every time we needed help they were there to help. They always had smiles and asked how we were doing. If I was a rich man I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MattLoweCatfish
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Matt, We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again at the Pavilion Hotel. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager

Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

Although this hotel was clearly an old building, it was still a very nice stay. The rooms and restrooms were smaller than what we're typically used to, but we got lucky with a corner room which was more spacious. The staff was very welcoming throughout our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah M
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thanks for staying with us! We look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Atwater in the future. Sincerely, Robert Perico General Manager

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Small rooms. My friend and I were both Given crappy inside rooms when 2/3 of hotel is vacant. Tried calling front desk three separate times - no answer. Horrible squeaky fan. Bathroom floor has mold and water damage around sink area. bathrooms are extremely small. I travel 75-90 nights a year and by far the worst hotel I've stayed in....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank AdventurerMN
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear AdventurerMN, We're disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We appreciate your feedback about your room, the bathroom and the service that you received during your stay. We invite you to email us at social@scico.com to further discuss your experience. Sincerely, Robert Perico General Manager

Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Because this was rated at 2-stars, my hubby and I braced ourselves for hotel that was acceptable but not accommodating. We were pleasantly surprised. The vintage vibe of the hotel fit the local, old-timey feel of the island, and our room was small, quaint, and very comfortable. We were accommodated with a larger than average TV, a fantastic AC, and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mrs_courtneysmith
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Mrs_CourtneySmith, Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Atwater. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

It starts with a great boat trip, beautiful views of the Island as you approach and the welcome to a wonderful place. Don't throw all that away by staying somewhere bad. This is certainly not the case with the Avalon Hotel which well deserves the number 1 position. We stayed here for our 2 nights on Catalina Island and loved...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Simon E
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Simon E, Thanks for staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to Catalina Island and the Hotel Atwater in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Atwater for one night and found the room very comfortable and quiet. Just off the main thoroughfare but still a short walk to many restaurants and shopping. An older style hotel that has class. Fewer amenities than many other hotels but would certainly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MikeT596
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Atwater, We look forward to seeing again in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager

San Clemente, California
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

Great Value with no frills! Better than camping, great location, time for renovation for this historic motel. Pavilion Lodge redone, now is the time for the Atwater! Affordable rooms in high demand for most families, even when it is a 95 years old. Comfortable room and bed

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary Jo C
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Hi Mary Jo, Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Atwater. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager

Reviewed 26 April 2015

Clean hotel with good location about 1 block from ocean. We reserved 2 rooms for one night as we brought a business associate along. Rooms are very small, bathroom and shower even smaller yet. Not recommended for above average sized people. Our room had a shower valve that would not turn to hot or just cold showers and no time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiAnnesInLove
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Diannespain, Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Atwater. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the issue with the shower. Our staff is available to assist with guest luggage. We hope that you will consider the Hotel Atwater again. Sincerely, Robert Perico General Manager

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
1,042 reviews
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
581 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
182 reviews
0.1 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
471 reviews
0.2 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: $143 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island, CA - Avalon
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Atwater staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Los Angeles, California
5 months ago
El Cajon, California
5 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Atwater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Double queen room, spacious bathroom, spacious room, clean, tidy, light room, nice views, airconditioned, good choice! Room 312 on 3rd floor”
  • Welcome card with roomkey card and Ben's Cafe voucher
 of 5 bubbles michellevlavianos, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the family suite, which slept our family of five.”
 of 5 bubbles 943candicec, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We upgraded and had a good view”
 of 5 bubbles USAwalkers, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near the entrance on Sumner have street and bar noise, choose a room in the center of the property.”
 of 5 bubbles 459jamesp459, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lots of stairs to climb no elevators, staff will help. Upgrade for better view”
 of 5 bubbles 77TG16, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5