We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aurora Hotel

Show Prices
#9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Aurora Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Location is ideal since it's just off the main esplanade which makes it easy to get to restaurants but keeps the noise level down on a weekend night. It is a bit of a walk up a hill, but worth it once you reach the roof top deck. Staff was friendly and attentive, giving full details of the hotel's amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fredrick J
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations on your honeymoon! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back and visit us on your anniversary. Our ocean view deck is always a popular place for guests.

Dana Point, California
Reviewed 9 June 2016

the hotel wass really clean and the staff was really friendly. the late checkin kinda sucked but it was fine. they took our bags and placed them in our room when it was ready. i would definitly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tommy v
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at the Aurora. I'll be sure to share your compliments with the staff and we'll all be looking forward to seeing you on the island again soon.

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2016

The hotel is on a street off the main strip so very easy to walk to all places. we paid extra for an ocean view .. and you could see the bay if you sat on the balcony to the far right .. far from what I have experienced before as an ocean view ... The room was SMALL (and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perky88
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your expectations weren't met on your recent getaway. Unfortunately space -- and bandwith -- can be at a premium on an island. We've re-evalutated our breakfast and will soon be making some upgrades. I hope you enjoy your next Catalina Island experience.

Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Overall it was nice. Out boat arrived at 11:15 and we couldn't check in until 3 pm which wasn't great. Our room was nice but it was tiny! Even smaller bathroom! My knees could touch the door when I had to use the toilet. Other than that it was great! Definitely would recommend if your just staying the night... I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the Aurora. Our staff works hard to make sure that each of our rooms are ready for guests at our standard check-in time at 3 p.m. For additional space we offer two suite categories -- hope to see you again soon.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

The staff at hotel was very nice and helpful. All tho the room was small the Hotel was clean and well taken care of. The view from our room was great we had a partial ocean view. We definitely got a workout going up the hill from the main street it was steep. Their breakfast could of been a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blkcoldone
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Aurora Hotel and Spa. I'm glad to hear that the room was clean and well maintained and that you enjoyed the views. We're currently evaluating our breakfast offerings and plan to make some changes very soon. We hope to welcome you back to Catalina Island in the near future.

California
Reviewed 31 May 2016

The view from the outdoor deck is fantastic...but that is the best thing I can say about this property. Our room was 1/2 cleaned one day and we had to make several trips to desk for towels, clean glasses, and empty garbage. A partial room credit was given to us though. Worst part is tiny bathroom, the smallest sink I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pres2n
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your expectations weren't met. We've discussed the concerns you had with housekeeping with staff to ensure the problem is not repeated.

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

The hotel was probably one of the cleanest most well maintained hotels I have been to! It was not the biggest room but the size was enough to feel comfortable! The service was amazing everyone was friendly and very helpful I was really impressed. For sure I will be coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank herica R
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Aurora Hotel. Our staff works hard to make every guest feel appreciated and I'll be sure to let them know how much you appreciate their efforts. We're looking forward to welcoming you back to Catalina Island very soon.

California
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed here and the hotel is new and fresh. The staff is very nice and helpful and the location is great. The only downside is the smallness of the room and bathroom. It's well appointed just tiny so don't expect to bring anyone else and have them get a roll-a-way. It's great for a solo or couples stay. Beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJfromHB
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at the Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island. I'm glad you enjoyed the wine and cheese -- our guests have been enjoyed it so much we're going to expand it to additional evenings. We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

La Quinta, California
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The hotel is about a 10 min walk from the dock; some of the walk is uphill. If you have lots of luggage you better taxi. If you don't mind walking and managing your luggage then a walk would save you some $$. I am torn because the hotel is small, quaint and very clean but........no bathroom privacy because the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Al R
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Aurora Hotel and Spa. We work hard to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay on Catalina Island. I'm sorry that you were disappointed by the room configuration but pleased that our upgraded continental breakfast was appreciated. We hope to see you on the island again soon.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay and I regret I couldn't stay long. Just a block or two up the hill from the town center is a very well maintained lovely gem. The staff booked my trip on the Catalina Express and greeted me with a warm welcome. I was by myself for a bit of sightseeing and snorkeling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OneFlight53
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review and we hope to see you again soon.

507 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (359)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Aurora Suite (81)
Viewed
Junior Suite Partial Ocean View (59)
Viewed
Standard Non-Ocean View Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Room Ocean View (46)
Viewed
Standard Room Partial Ocean View (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
1,037 reviews
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
581 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#12 of 20 in Avalon
203 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
471 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, embraces guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. Our junior suites feature in-room jetted tubs and for the ultimate in luxury, our Aurora Suite features a fireplace, ocean-view six-head shower and a private sundeck. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: $264 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island, CA - Avalon
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aurora Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Chandler, Arizona
7 months ago
Chandler, Arizona
7 months ago
el cajon, ca
8 months ago
Paso Robles, California
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Aurora Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose third floor rooms -connects you right away to the roof deck.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryandLisa0916, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you don't want to lug all of your luggage to the 3rd floor, then I would go for a first floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles langnerryan, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The basic room is small.”
 of 5 bubbles BenOntarioCANADA, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms were small but you really don't spend much time in them. There is to much to do around this beautiful place”
 of 5 bubbles Y3538QGcindym, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suggest upgrading from a standard room”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5