We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Hartford Avon

Show Prices
#2 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 104: English reviews
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
628 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As others have mentioned, this hotel is in dire need of an update as the carpets are worn, beds sag, and walls marred. Though king-sized beds seems to be AWOL at this hotel, the rooms with an inviting fireplace are lovely this time of year when the chill sets in. The breakfast is better presented and maintained than on our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda K
nelson_adame, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. We want to be your favorite hotel. I am personally very disappointed in the lack of hospitality that you should have experienced. I will continue to work with me staff to provide friendly, helpful, and personal guest assistance that we are know for. I believe our the overwhelming majority of our suites are in... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Property looks very nice from outside but inside is deceiving. The hotel interior is in need of major upgrades. The carpet, decor and more looks and feels like the 1970s. Beds are sunken and in need of replacement. Mini snack shop available adjacent to front desk with the food items (e.g. chips) past expiration date. Great restaurant within walking distance... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandi S
nelson_adame, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize for those issues that need immediate attention; especially regarding staff friendliness and sincerity. We do hear you, and a decorating redo of the hotel is in our future. We hope you consider us again. Sincerely yours, Nelson More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is really nice, the rooms and facilities are great and the staff very helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast available, no bar or restaurant but the "First and Last Inn" is a two minute walk away

Helpful?
Thank Theo W
Newport, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
220 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The one bedroom suite was very clean and comfortable - Free breakfast was excellent- scrambled eggs, fresh spinach, coffee cake, oatmeal bar, port and turkey sausage - huge selection. Only draw back is that this is a dog friendly hotel but $100 per night extra??????? I feel this is excessive - Otherwise I would have given this hotel 5 stars!

Helpful?
Thank Sunapee17
nelson_adame, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Avon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for review. I will pass along your positive comments to my staff. It is always a great to hear that they are doing an outstanding job. The complimentary hot breakfast buffet continues to be upgraded and we are pleased that you enjoyed it. I agree that the pet charge is high for one night and I... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This property has absolutely no king beds. A baby crib is 27" wide, and half of a queen is 30" wide. So two in a queen is not much wider than a baby crib. My wife and I travel often, and are very careful to get a room with king size beds. Unfortunately, I was in a hurry and booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank John_Super
nelson_adame, Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Avon, responded to this review

Hello John_Super I'm so sorry a queen bed made for an uncomfortable night for you and your wife. We are actually in the process of transitioning many rooms to Kings. Thank you for your input and for staying with us. More 

Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This was a family stay. We ended up getting 2 rooms. The front desk staff was a pleasure to deal with, accommodating my requests. This RI still has the old color scheme, and should hopefully get its refresh in the next few years.

Helpful?
Thank joshuacoiner
nelson_adame, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Avon, responded to this review

I appreciate that you took the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your positive response on our Front desk staff and we all try our best to make your entire stay memorable. A redo have the hotel is being planned. Thanks for staying with us. Sincerely, Nelson More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The suite with a queen and sofa bed had problems. The sofa bed was bad, and although sheets and blanket were in the closet, there was no pillow. The chair to the work desk was very low, and no obvious way to raise it. Everything seemed well used. The WIFI was just OK. On the plus side, the free breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bubba75
nelson_adame, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay. We will pass on your experiences to the approximate people who can improve the hotel for the future. I apologize for these issues and we do have plans for improvements. We are pleased that you enjoyed our full hot breakfast buffet! Sincerely, Nelson More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during the 1st quarter of 2014 over a business trip. The hotel is small but cozy, with very friendly and accommodating staff. They served complimentary buffet breakfast and every wednesday (or thursday) there was a dinner / snack event for all guests courtesy of the Hotel Manager. Rooms are quite spacious and the hotel also has... More 

Helpful?
Thank John Virzon D
nelson_adame, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Avon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the Hartford/Avon CT Residence Inn by Marriott. We were very pleased to read that you found our associates friendly and accommodating! We have been updating our Breakfast buffet and if you stay again with us or at other Residence Inns, I believe you will enjoy the variety of new healthful choices. And... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Residence Inn while traveling for work. I found the room to be very spacious and great to relax in after traveling. The staff has been very pleasant, and having snacks in the lobby in the evening was a nice touch. Breakfast is also complimentary and the overall accommodations have been very comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Coley517
nelson_adame, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Avon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your complimentary review of the Residence Inn by Marriott, Avon, CT. It is great to know that you were pleased with the hotel suites, and that our associates were pleasant. We have succeed in our mission of providing a memorable guest experience. Thanks for writing! Sincerely yours, Nelson More 

West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

I'm sorry to say this is my 2nd poor review of this Marriott Residence Inn.nothing has changed in a year and a half. The mattresses are old, sagging and well past their prime. The rooms. Although clean are old and tired looking. The staff are as helpful as they can be under the circumstances. Avon is a very upscale area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joan G
nelson_adame, General Manager at Residence Inn Hartford Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing your experience to my attention while you were at the hotel. We do strive to make each guest stay a positive one. We are very sorry that you did not have a comfortable mattress. The hotel is planning a renovation in 2017. Sincerely, Nelson More 

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
1.6 km away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
4.6 km away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
176 reviews
11.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#5 of 7 in Farmington
221 reviews
9.7 km away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
19.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Residence Inn Hartford Avon

Address: 55 Simsbury Rd, Avon, CT 06001-3713
Region: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Price Range: $242 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Hartford Avon 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Hartford Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Hartford/Avon Hotel Avon
Residence Inn Avon
Avon Residence Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Hartford Avon staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Boynton beach
6 months ago
Boynton beach
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Hartford Avon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont' get the room next to the elevator! Pump runs frequently.”
 of 5 bubbles Sunapee17, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pick a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles John_Super, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“some rooms have fireplaces.”
 of 5 bubbles joshuacoiner, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“any room in 3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles prasencallsu28, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“second and third floors are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Mumyork, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay