We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant

Save
Traveller (110)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (18)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
“dorm room”(7 reviews)
“bunk beds”(6 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
2 Star Hotel
Sandbar Restaurant, Bar and Hostel is a thrifty traveler’s/backpacker’s dream come true. Located in San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, we are on the water and priced for even the most budget conscious. Dormitory style sleeping arrangements with Air Conditioning or Private Rooms with optional...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
7 Boca Del Rio Drive | Beachfront at Roundabout, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
1.7 km to San Pedro Airport
39 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
145
29
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
145
29
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roombunk bedsprivacy curtainsshared balconylockable storagerestaurant and bar downstairssleeping maskprivate rooms aregreat pizzabring earplugspizza specialgreat location on the beachwifi signalfridge and microwaveair conditioninghot watercommon areas
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

One of the better hostels I've stayed at. Beachfront accommodation with their own dock and beach. Pizza restaurant, full bar, coffee shop and ice cream all on the 1st "floor" of the hostel, what more could you ask for? 3 rooms of about 12 beds...More

Thank ffburnie
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful time staying at the Sandbar. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the location was perfect. Our room was in the back (Jaguar) and was spacious and the shared balcony was nice. Would stay here again!

1  Thank jonathanpalmbeach
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On the beach. A short walk away from the water taxi, scuba shops, dining and grocery. AC and internet also worked well. We had a little balcony, but it wasn't private and we never used it. Having a kitchenette was great, too.

1  Thank Keys_Hospitality
Reviewed May 19, 2018

At first when I arrived (on a Saturday), I thought i'd be in for party hostel vibes (given there was karaoke going on next door & folks drinking downstairs) , which I wasn't looking for but I was pleased to find the dorm rooms were...More

1  Thank Courtney W
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

My friend and I arrived without a reservation because our other accommodation didn't work out and they were so helpful. We only stayed here 2 nights, but kept coming back to hang out for our whole month in San Pedro. I was really excited to...More

1  Thank Rina F
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (110)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (18)
Pool & Beach (11)
Amenities (17)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Caitlin W
September 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from atshore14 | Reviewed this property |
Belize City is undoubtedly a dangerous place. That being said, it's not so dangerous that you can't use it as a transit point to go on to other places in the country; I just wouldn't stay there. Not that it is the most... More
0
Votes
Tracey P
May 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain_Random | Reviewed this property |
It isn't that noisy IMO. as long as you have a private room it will be fine.
1
Vote
awick989
April 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain_Random | Reviewed this property |
No. But they did have an awesome private room with balcony for about $80/nt.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"mixed dorm room was comfortable for a solo female!"
Read review
"Crocodile Room is great for 3 people or a couple and 2 kids as it has 1 queen bed and a bunk bed. Also has a..."
Read review
"be prepared for a hike from the water taxi stop"
Read review
"We did not stay her, we ate at the restaurant."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing