We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pan American Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pan American Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pan American Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

You feel like time has stopped - in the best way! If you are looking for an authentic gem from the 40s, with the most charming and charismatic staff I have ever seen, then you have to come here. It's not a boring American Chain - it's passion and commitment to it's community at every corner. - Lovely rooms from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank pinkilly2
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pinkilly2, Thanks a lot for your comments; they encourage us to strive everyday in serving our guests and make them feel like better that at home. We do hope to serve you again. Cordially, Silvia Cruz / Manager

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 November 2014

This was 'the' place to be a couple decades ago. You can tell just by walking through it. If you're expecting the Ritz, then.. maybe you should go there instead. This is a quaint old hotel with lots and lots of memories of busy times. There was a time when airline personnel who had layovers would 'automatically' choose this hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank danstarkey
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear danstarkey, Thank you for your comments; they encourage us to strive everyday in serving our guests and make them feel better that at home. Cordially, Silvia Cruz / Manager

Panama
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I think a lot of people are hesitant because it is in what many consider a dangerous location. No there are not a ton of tourists staying here, but it is in the centro and historic zone. There is a lot to do and see around the hotel, just get back in before midnight and you will be ok. If...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank K_Mennem
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear K_Mennem, Thanks for your comments; they encourage us to strive everyday in serving our guests and make them feel better that at home. Cordially, Silvia Cruz / Manager

Reviewed 7 May 2014

While traveling with grand circle travel, we were taken to this hotel on 5/4/14 departing the next afternoon. Was told my our travel guide not to go out after dark..it wasn't safe. My room 201, looked out onto a broken down building. Blankets were frayed and questionable of cleanliness. Grand circle travel made a Hugh mistake in placing a group...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Molly C
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Molly C, Thanks for your comments; it is importat for us to know our weakness and work hard to turn them into strengths. Unfortunately we cannot do to much directly with insecurity in the streets, however the Government has been working hard to improve this aspect in the Historical Center and we believe that the situation is much better...

fort worth
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Flew in from San Jose Costa Rica in March and selected this hotel based on it's past history. I had prepaid at the hotel web-site a cab to pick me up for $20.00 (US). Landed and no cab. An hour went by before the cab finally came. Livid? Yes. But... The explanation that I got was that the hotel had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank FortWorthJeffie
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FortWorthJeffie, Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you better. Cordially, Silvia Cruz / Manager

Portland, OR
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Hotel Pan American is a clean, bright hotel in the heart of the historic district of Guatemala City. My room was a good value. Small, but comfortable, as was the bed. The bathroom was clean and stocked with good soap and shampoo. The bathroom had a vent window that opened to the lobby. No one could see you but,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steven3000
Silvia C, Gerente at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Steven I would like to thank you for your opinion about us. Your comments are very important because they encourage us to improve our service. Hoping to see you soon,

Manhattan, KS
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel needs serious renovation. The rooms are ancient, the beds and bedding are definitely decades old. We found the beds rather comfortable. There is no decor in the rooms. The elevator doesn't work. We were not given the TV remote and had to look for filtered water (it is located in the hallway, but nobody told us about it)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Witoldzio
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Witoldzio Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you better in the near future. Cordially, Silvia Cruz / Manager

Pirkkala, Finland
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We, a family of four, stayed here for one night. The hotel was very clean and the room was nice. The noise of the other guests spending time in the lobby downstairs was pretty loud but it didn't disturb us as we were really tired. Nice place, thank you for the stay!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jari F
Silvia C, Gerente at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jari I would like to thank you for your opinion about us. Your comments are very important because they encourage us to improve our service. Hoping to see you soon,

Nowra, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2014

After a great stay in Antigua, we decided to spend one night in Guatemala City close to the airport because we had to be at the airport at 5am the next day. Reading the info on tripadvisor, we booked (through hotelclub) largely because of price and the advertised 24 hour airport shuttle. On arriving late in the afternoon we were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Trevor K
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trevor K, Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. We are also working in the descriptions at some web pages that offer things just to catch travellers and cause serious problems. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The service was very good, the hotel is very well situated (in the center, right in the middle of a spot of restaurant and main street). The room itself is OK for one night of two, nothing exceptional tough. Hot water, clean room, good bed for 60$/night.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank S G
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S G, Thanks a lot for your comments! they encourage us to strive in attenging our guests and make them fell better than at home. Our rates are changing according to season and now you could find real offers. We hope to serve you in your next visit to our country. Cordially, Silvia Cruz / Manager

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#29 of 48 in Guatemala City
17 reviews
0.8 km away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#12 of 48 in Guatemala City
303 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 48 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center
Conquistador Hotel & Conference ...
#39 of 48 in Guatemala City
139 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Royal Palace
Hotel Royal Palace
#38 of 48 in Guatemala City
35 reviews
4.9 km away
Santander Plaza Hotel
Santander Plaza Hotel
#25 of 48 in Guatemala City
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Pan American Hotel

Address: 9A Calle 5-63 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Price Range: $67 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pan American Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Pan American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan American Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pan American Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pan American Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the road are a little louder than rooms facing into the central courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles islaym2014, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not drink water out of the tap there, buy drinking water.”
 of 5 bubbles WhiteFireLady, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think all rooms are noisy, but that's just part of its charm!”
 of 5 bubbles 151clareg, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles RandyOK, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We never pre-reserve. We like to SEE the room before we sign up.”
 of 5 bubbles CaboSanLucasCocinera, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5