We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spent a week at San Buenaventura this May 2014 with my wife and a close friend and had an amazing time!! The location is perfect. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was great and the owner, Natalia was very hospitable and we feel like we made a good friend. Cant say...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John1101
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed a whole month in this hotel in February 2014. There was plenty of space, the vaulted ceilings are incredible, it is quiet, a little bit out of town (a nice 15-20 minute walk into town or a quick ride with a very cheap taxi), the trees and birds are awesome, and it felt very safe. We walked around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcomove
Zurich
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were staying here in January 2014; the location is superb, but you do need to have a car to take full advantage of it (which we did). Also insect repellent is definitely a good idea as there's lots of mosquitoes. Aside from those two points (and the very hefty price) we enjoyed our stay very much, as previously mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bmarcoa
Atlanta
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This place is dirty and old, terribly overpriced and not worth your time. We were the only ones there so it was quite creepy, every other nearby hotel was full. Rooms are basic and dated like a 1970's roadside motel, and they reek of mildew. Location is just far enough out of town that walking is not possible or safe,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nurseladyAtlanta
Riveradellago, Manager at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

It is unfortunate for all parties when a dissatisfied guest does not elevate a problem or misunderstanding. to the attention of management at the time it arises. It may be that the employee at the reception desk didn´t do everything possible to rectify a legitimate problem. But, we had no opportunity to react and we have no way to investigate...

Venice, CA
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My parents an I stayed for 3 nights in February 2012 at the Hotel San Buenaventura in Panajachelo, Guatemala. AFTER checking in, we found out the hotel policy is that as soon as you check in, none of the days you have booked are refundable. If you cancel your reservation PRIOR to checking in, you are only held accountable for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beau286
Riveradellago, Gerente at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

Hotel San Buenaventura is at the edge of a heavily wooded coffee farm on the shore of Lake Atitlan. We are immediately adjacent to the San Buenaventura nature reserve. We have private wooded hiking trails, a private swimming pool, sauna, restaurant, private beach and a playground for kids. Our restaurant draws many accolades for its meals, although it may lack...

new york, NY
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've been sitting at the hotel's restaurant for over 20 minutes enjoying the views of the lake. However, I had to go into the kitchen to ask for a cup of coffee that it just came! I rated this hotel with a 3 based on the pool (that I really enjoyed yesterday,) the views, WiFi in the room and how...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Icventure
CR
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I spent one night in this hotel, staying in a 2 bedroom casita with friends with kids. There was plenty of space available for four people, and we probably could have fit more in the living room. The sleeping rooms are comfortable and have cable tv, but are also fairly simple--don't expect high-count sheets or Egyptian cotton towels. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katya008
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom house with a sloping lawn that meandered down to the lake. The house was quite large -- two bedrooms, two bathrooms, full kitchen, dining area, and a step down into a full livingroom with pull-out sofa and fireplace. Good internet and cable TV. As soon as we checked in, around noon, we arranged through reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CISWanderer
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I shared one of the two houses (kind of like side-by-side townhouses with a Guatemalan twist) with another couple over the New Year holiday. We found it to be perfect for what we needed - comfortable and safe. The house had two full bedrooms, each with own bath, a living room with fireplace (it gets quite cool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RLFloyd
Redwood City, California
Reviewed 8 September 2011

If you don't require a 5-star experience, this place can offer a reasonably good experience for the price. In this area, you can spend a lot on a nice place or go dirt-cheap and fearing for your safety. Overall, our stay at this hotel was fine. But the manager/owner did rip us off when it came time to check out,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonK1967

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
1.1 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
422 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
232 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
199 reviews
1.0 km away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#8 of 29 in Panajachel
124 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#13 of 29 in Panajachel
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Price Range: $98 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Buenaventura De Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views best in houses and first row.”
554bertas, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Suite 5 had views of the late from the windows and the patio deck”
Sportsanchor, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are amazing.”
the_halletts, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
3 of 3