We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Casa De La Iguana

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Casa De La Iguana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa De La Iguana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 26 June 2015

my experience was great a perfect mix of partying and professionnalisme lots of good people and places to see and things to do.the food was great a real good vibe my room was great i saw a couple others and they were great as well.all of the rooms had there own name and style;also the showers and toilets were spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dustin j
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Me and two others reserved a private room at this hostel for the three of us. When we arrived, a staff member took us to our room and upon entering we saw a large pile of poop on the bed! He quickly cleaned up the sheets so we didn't think much of it, although we did have to remind them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
Rustylucky, Owner at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Shannon. I am very sorry about your troubles at Casa de la Iguana. I apologize sincerely that you twice found cat poo on your bed. We have had a problem with stray cats at the hostel. Kind hearted people feed them and they stay. One in particular developed a habit of leaving "gifts" on beds. It was caught in the...

Reviewed 10 June 2015

Awesome party hostel with some really cool staff, Family dinners are a deal and the food is super nice! Breakfast is good value also. They arrange a number of different tours also which are well worth checking out! Livingston is a pretty cool lil town and Rio Dulce is as the name says, sweet! Some really nice scenery!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
London, Canada
Reviewed 1 June 2015

I stayed at Casa Iguana because of the recommendation by Lonely Planet and a friend had stayed here a few years back. I went in knowing it was a party hostel, so I wasn't concerned about the potential noise at night (though it must have been a slow couple of nights). The food was good and the internet was excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annakiwifruit
Rustylucky, Manager at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Hello Anna! Sorry about the problem you ran into with the showers. The night you stayed, we had a town-wide power outage, which disabled us from turning on the pump that pumps water to the showers. Livingston is a small town and unfortunately, we all have to deal with these problems from time to time. We do have at least...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

If you're looking for a party hostel: fine. If not: not fine. Staff is friendly, but the place itself is not maintained better than the poor minimum. The private cabins are situated closest to the common, cosy and lively area of the hostel and they don't come with towels. A padlock to close your cabin should be provided by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
Rustylucky, Manager at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Hello Tim, Thanks for your input. A padlock is provided for every private room and bungalow. If there was no padlock on your door, you simply needed to ask for one and we would have given you a few to choose from. We also provide towels, so another simple inquiry would have solved that as well. We will begin to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We stayed here because it was recommended in Lonely Planet. The staff and volunteers here are friendly and helpful but other than that it's not great. We had an absolutely terrible night here with very little sleep. The rooms are so hot, the fans barely spin and the mosquito nets are too small for the beds. Even with the shoddy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucyandRikki
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

This is a great party hostel with friendly and helpful staff who do a lot to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It seems the new management have drastically improved all areas and facilities, making for a cracking stay. The family dinners are a great way to meet people whilst enjoying the glorious fare on offer too. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon J
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I loved staying at Casa Iguana, Chris is the most helpful person you could possibly meet traveling! I had so much fun staying at this "hostel" the atmosphere was very familial, laid-back and there's always stuff around to help, very patiently ;), with everything! they are also open for all suggestions on drinks, party themes or whatever! I had an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wagneranna
Reviewed 17 March 2015

After we read the reviews, we decided to stay at this hostel. The hotel was pretty empty, so we planned to have a quite night. The staff we're very friendly. There are no hot water at all. Just before going to bed, we found 2 cockroaches and we are not big fan of them... When we woke up, we found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Assaff28
Rustylucky, Manager at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're glad you appreciated the friendliness of our wonderful staff, however it is unfortunate that you had an encounter with a cockroach. I see you stayed here back in December, so I will mention that there has been a change in ownership and since then, we have taken measures to rid the place of them entirely....

Paris, France
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

Nice place because it's like being in the jungle. But only cold shower (really cold) except for the shower close to the bar, so only one hot shower for all the guests!! Really noisy during the night so if you want to sleep, stay away from this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estelle9123
Rustylucky, Manager at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Hello Estelle, We're sorry the party was too loud for you. However, just so you know (in case you decide to stay with us again), if you had asked for a pair of our free earplugs, we would have happily given you a pair and done anything and everything else to make sure your stay with us was as comfortable...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
6.4 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 9 in Livingston
329 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#8 of 9 in Livingston
41 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
92 reviews
33.8 km away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
6.1 km away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 13 in Livingston
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casa de la Iguana is a fabulously famous party hostel for fun and friendly happy travellers. It is set in a jungle garden with awesome wooden cabins and dormitories all unique and worth the extra Q for a good nights sleep. We may not be the cheapest in Livingston but we pride ourselves on having handmade lockers in each dorm, comfortable beds, spacious private rooms, superb wifi for Skyping and calls home, great social staff and fantastic fun most evenings, especially when a lively Happy Hour involved. There is fantastic free wifi. the best in Livingston actually, as well as an international book exchange. We also arrange tours to Belize, La Ceiba, Siete Altares, Playa Blanca and Rio Dulce and recently added, our own very exciting Tiger Cave trip and Fishing (eat what you catch). Spanish Lessons available too. We have a great reputation for our parties but it happens when we have a great bunch of people too! Come see us soon, meet other like-minded free spirits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa De La Iguana

Address: Barrio Marco, Sanchez Dias | Izabal, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Price Range: $18 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa De La Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Iguana Hotel Livingston
Casa De La Iguana Guatemala/Livingston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa De La Iguana staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa De La Iguana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont choose the hammocks.... Simple”
 of 5 bubbles dylanullyot, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Come expecting to have fun and you'll find it, Spend a couple of days or longer - there's a lot to experience!”
 of 5 bubbles stuarth378, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“best owner, best tour, enjoyable nighttime, beautiful location”
 of 5 bubbles smurf229, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are in tree houses! It's great!”
 of 5 bubbles elieshan, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms may be a better bet”
 of 5 bubbles jasonw428, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5