We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Booking.comUS$110*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 314: English reviews
Cape May Beach
Reviewed 11 July 2015

I remember everyone was friendly last year. This year not so. There are changes. Some reception staff were terrific, but others seemed annoyed to have to talk to me (check out). Same with breakfast. The person acting as receptionist there was always sweet, but most of the wait staff were grouch and seemed angry to have to bring me anything,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonCapeMayBeach
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear DonCapeMayBeach, Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We are sad to know that you were not satisfied overall with your stay with us this time around. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with some of our staff members and with the cleanliness of our facility. Rest assured,...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We were in town to try out the gym in the area. We just needed a decent hotel to lay our heads. It was during the holiday season (Dec 2014), so a lot of places were booked. I was apprehensive at first as this hotel is within walking distance to UGA. But the school was closed. So we lucked out!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Myeyeson_u
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Myeyeson_u, Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that the school was closed during your stay with us but nonetheless, we are thankful that you chose our hotel for your accommodation needs during that busy holiday season. We always strive to give our guests the best experience...

Dallas, Georgia
Reviewed 26 June 2015

The hotel was comfortable and clean. No funny smells. Bed was comfortable and the staff was nice. Downsides: There was a lot of street noise in the room, but if you want to stay downtown I guess that's what you get. There are no vending machines on the floors. I just prefer a vending machine near the room instead of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VPJ115
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 25 June 2015

I've been staying at this hotel every summer during the Athfest music festival for the last 5 years. The staff has always been professional. A special call out to the manager Scott Norris who helped me resolve an issue I had with booking my room with the corporate office earlier this year. He was very courteous, professional and followed through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

If I had paid full price for the room, I would have only given 2 stars... But considering I got $80/night off by booking through Priceline, it was a little more acceptable. First off, the rooms need updating. They aren't terrible, but felt a bit muggy/dingy. The breakfast is terrible and our server was short with us because we asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slp2296
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Slp2296, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed with your overall experience at the hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Only two blocks from downtown and the Classic Center, this hotel is very convenient to all that Athens has to offer. The rooms were dated and could use a renovation. They were clean and comfortable. The hotel was sold out and while we wanted a king bed, we had to settle for two doubles. They assured us we could both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CamATL
Aiken, SC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

This recently renovated property is located in the heart of Athens, within walking distance of shopping, attractions, and restaurants. We had a nice comfortable stay. The rooms are specious and well appointed. Service is courteous, prompt, and attentive. The employees are very professional. We would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlm57
Norcross, Georgia
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Always my first choice when staying in Athens. Great location right next to Downtown and North Campus. In addition there is ample parking, the most comfortable beds you'll ever sleep on, and the rooms are immaculately cleaned. The only downside is no free breakfast but with so many great spots right next door in Downtown why would you eat at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
Atlanta
Reviewed 7 May 2015

If you are seeing a show at the Georgia Theatre - this is your place. Only a block and a half away! Oh, how a little research will make your stay better! Someone suggested to request the North Tower - great advice! Check-in took forever - at least 20 minutes standing in line for my turn with two women working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaseythekat
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 May 2015

It's super convenient to the university. And there is parking for your car. There's a great cupcake shop right across the street and a great pizza place about a block away. It's a good place to stay if you need to be at the university.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Jill F, Thank you for taking the time to post a candid review of our property during your business trip. We’re glad that our location was suitable to your business travel and regarded our parking facility. Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.8 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
648 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
3.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.4 km away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Athens. Located on the corner of Broad and Lumpkin Streets in downtown Athens hotel, travelers will appreciate the hometown feel of this historic city as well as the more than forty dining and lounge options nearby. We are also in easy walking distance from the University of Georgia and only a four-mile drive from Ben Epps Regional Airport.This Athens hotel has two on-site fitness facilities to help you maintain your exercise regimen. Enjoy a swim year-round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work or browse the web in our complimentary business center. Our Ginkgo Tree Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, offering tasty Southern cuisine including breakfast and lunch buffets with multiple options. For your convenience, we offer in-room dining, or visit our lounge to unwind and experience our nightly drink specials.Our event space and outstanding services make Holiday Inn Hotel Athens the Preferred Meeting Place. Our superior meeting staff coordinates your successful event down to the last detail, which makes us the favorite wedding, conference, banquet, military, reunion, and convention planners in the area.Businesses near hotel: Carrier, Certainteed, Weyehaeuser, Eaton CorporationAttractions near hotel: The Classic Center, State Botanical Gardens, Sanford Stadium ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Address: 197 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2801
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: $132 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Athens-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area Hotel Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Athens-University Area staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Buford, Georgia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Athens-University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at the Hampton Inn, Athens, GA (free breakfast) or pay more and stay at the Hilton Garden Inn,”
gasnailer, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If in the executive tower, park in the overflow parking lot and go in the back door with room key.”
SusanCully, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in a part of the building directly above the front desk!”
Jamesmedlock, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the executive tower”
Y5860JHdavidm, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We liked the extra quiet and security in the Executive Tower.”
Wanda71, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$110* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$110
HolidayInn.comUS$110
TravelocityUS$110
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates