We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Des Moines West KOA

68 reviews
Save
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good39%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Pets Allowed
Self-Serve Laundry
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (68)Write a Review
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
34
27
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
34
27
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitrestroom facilitiesbridges of madison countyheading westone nightsmall pondnice doghook upspull throughspull thrudes moinescamping tripwe've stayedrv parkswould definitely stay here againjumping pillowdeluxe cabin
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This KOA is friendly, and very popular when we were there. They offer escort to the site, which is level, has trees and grass and fire pits. They had so many activities, such as bobbing for apples, making caramel apples, ceramics, and they showed the...More

Thank SHC5015
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOAResponded 7 November 2017

We are happy to have you come out to camp with us this fall! It's so nice to hear that you were impressed by our fall activities which included bobbing for apples and making caramel apples. We thank you so much for your kind review...More

Reviewed 29 September 2017

There was nothing special or different than any other KOA really-and it was $20 more a night than the Douglas WY KOA we stayed at. Lots are not too close, but it was close enough. Dog area was divided for lg/small dogs I guess. If...More

Thank Cheryl D
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOAResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for camping with us, Cheryl, and for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will pass along your comments to our management team. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress sometime...More

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We spent one night here it's about 1-2 miles off the interstate. Staff is excellent. Facilities are excellent. Sites were level. It is all gravel but they periodically scrap them to re- level. They are currently expanding. Activities, small general store, pond, etc. one of...More

Thank Steven H
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOAResponded 8 October 2017

We are so happy to hear that your brief time with us impressed you, Steven! We appreciate your great review and hope to welcome you back to our park again in the future!

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

This KOA is one of the nicest I have ever stayed. It is well run and impeccably maintained. All sites are good sized, and the deluxe sites are great. Not only are they wide and long, they come with a large concrete patio with chairs,...More

Thank Bobby W
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOAResponded 27 September 2017

It's so nice to be considered as one of the nicest KOAs that you have ever stayed at - thank you! We truly appreciate your kind review and hope to welcome you back to the park again in the future. Take care, Bobby!

Reviewed 21 August 2017

This was the first time our family stayed at a KOA. We were left with such a good impression that we will continue to stay at them. This location had a really welcoming, friendly, and responsive staff. The grounds and cabin itself were clean and...More

Thank triciam214
Response from CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Des Moines West KOAResponded 27 August 2017

Your great review and high recommendation mean a lot to us, thank you! We're so glad to hear that our staff made your feel welcomed and that you found our campground to be well-kept! You're welcome back anytime!

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345614
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Pool
Details
Details
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dorothy S
14 July 2014|
Answer
Response from DesMoinesKOACamp | Property representative |
Hey Dorothy, we don't have availability for that time frame, unfortunately. Would any other dates work for you?
0
Votes
Room Tips
"This is an RV park which strives to make your stay active and a joy!"
Read review
"This is a campground not a hotel"
Read review
"Not sure - all sites are too close to each other in proximity"
Read review
"If you don't need the bathroom take a spot back by the lake away from the highway."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing