We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech
See the most recent reviews
Showing 71: English reviews
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hostel is by far the best I have stay in yet and considering the amount of hostels I've stayed in my four months of travelling south america and in Morocco, that speaks volumes. It nice to have the privacy, there is no sign up on the door so they is no beggers outside or even knocking on the door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clare F
Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The bedding in this hostel is basic. A mattress on the floor with some warm blankets and ok pillows. I slept well in the hostel and felt safe and happy. We stayed for three nights, with a night out in the Sahara in the middle of our stay. Lockers are provided in the rooms and a great breakfast was served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellewoot
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is one of 3 Riad's we stayed at in Marrakech. Most people have mentioned that it is hard to find - it is like that with a large majority of riads, even if they do have signs the Marrakech numbering/lane way system is odd. The staff are so welcoming and try their hardest to make you feel at home....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allyce B
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I visited Mama Marrakesh on an "off" day. The reviews were great and I booked three days. However my stay was anything but pleasant. The story goes: I was woken up on my first night to a yelling match between: the owner Yusef and neighbours who had complained about noise, then Yusef and 4 Australian twenty-somethings who had been causing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mate e
Crystal G, Owner at Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech, responded to this review

As you stated Mate, our reviews and reputation are great for a reason. Our clients for the most part, really enjoy their time with us and we love hosting their stay in Marrakech! You have mentioned this incident on several websites now and since you keep mentioning our reviews are great proves that this was an occurrence not normal to...

Denmark
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here with girlfriend for around a week. Both 23 and travelling alone together. We booked out a dorm room to have for ourselves. Very hard to find this hostel. No signposts or even markings on the building door, a completely anonymous building. Spent several hours looking for this property (bear in mind, most streets in Marrakech are unnamed/unmarked too,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank samt_st
Destelbergen
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hostel is an excellent place to stay when you visit Marrakech. If you book in advance, they welcome you like their own familly, and when you pop up a few day's later (unexpected) they welcome you even more, because they are so intrested in hearing your travel stories. This place is really a feel home place in a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derooverstof
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Good price, good owner, newly open, nice riad, terraces, typical maroccain. The beds were quite narrow. but the place is quiet, little bit hard to find, we had a luck and ask the man directly infront of the hostel if he has an idea where it is. you have to knock on the door and the door were not signed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burtie144
New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I had a lovely stay at Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech on my recent trip to Morocco. I can definitely see why they won an award for "Best Atmosphere." It was my first time staying at a hostel and I was quite comfortable. The hostel is beautifully decorated and is a relatively short walk from the main square. They provide free...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Allie365
Paris, France
Reviewed 28 March 2012

For travelers to Marrakech I would highly recommend this hostel. Not only is it warm and comfortable, it is also a place where you can meet amazing people. I stayed there for two nights and was blown away by the wonderful staff, as well as the kindness of the owners - Crystal & Youssef. Breakfast in the morning is really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wrldtraveller770
New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I highly recommend staying in Mamma Marrakech! The staff speaks (Native)English, French, & Arabic which makes for very easy communication. The Riad has a very cozy vibe to it and everyone was extremely HELPFUL. They helped us arrange for decent priced taxi back to the airport to recoup our delayed luggage, gave us great recommendations on where to eat &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colombianita201

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 501 in Marrakech
1,090 reviews
1.7 km away
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
#23 of 267 in Marrakech
181 reviews
0.8 km away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
#20 of 267 in Marrakech
539 reviews
0.8 km away
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
#47 of 267 in Marrakech
162 reviews
0.8 km away
Hostel Kif Kif
Hostel Kif Kif
#33 of 267 in Marrakech
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Description of Property and Hostel: Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech is a warm friendly place that welcomes travelers and backpackers, ages 18 and over, from all the far corners of the world. We have a tremendous amount of experience in the hospitality industry. Collectively, we are native English, French, Arabic and Spanish speakers so we can understand what travelers need during their stay in a place that may or may not be familiar. As our guest, you can relax on our beautiful garden terrace and drink free mint tea all day if you desire. If you are feeling social, mingle with other guests listening to music in our comfortable ground floor salon and even feel free to cook yourself a meal in our kitchen, using the wonderful spices you may have just gotten from the Souks. We can also help you set up the adventure of your life with day and night trips to other cities… Go to the beach for the day in Essaouira, take a hike on the trails and waterfalls in the mountains of Ourika Valley or even go camel riding and spend some time in the Sahara… After a few days of adventure, you may want to relax, come back to Mama Marrakech and sense that this hostel is your home away from home. We desire that you to feel that this experience is one you want to tell your friends about or feel safe enough to come back alone, because you are a part of our extended family! Accomodations: Three large mixed dorm rooms available: Dorm One- 5 single beds with bathroom en-suite Dorm Two- 6 single beds, Dorm Three - 6 single beds. All dorms have a bathroom a few feet away from the room and all clients have access to the bathroom and shower on the terrace. There are 3 nice European style bathrooms with hot water showers in the hostel. Prices: 120 Moroccan Dirhams per person per night for dorm 1 with 5 beds and bathroom in the room (approximately 12,50 Euros), 100 Moroccan Dirhams per person per night for dorm two and three (approximately 9,00 Euros). Private rooms are possible for groups that can fill the accommodation desired room or entire hostel. Prices can be arranged by email based on the needs of each party. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

Address: Derb Raouia No. 18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Price Range: $25 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“in other hostel maybe”
 of 5 bubbles Wladyki, 13 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Don't come here.”
 of 5 bubbles liketurquoise, 1 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Stay away of this place!”
 of 5 bubbles gliwiceTravel, 28 May 2014 | Read review
“Don't sleep here. 50 Durham's a night is not worth it”
 of 5 bubbles GemmaKB_12, 14 May 2014 | Read review
“Pay 20 more for the six bedded dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles Schubadvisor, 11 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay