We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

HolidayInn.comUS$98*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$98*
Great Deal
US$99*
US$99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 427: English reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I had stayed in the hotel earlier may be a decade ago , however since then not much seems to have been done to make it top class or up to date with other star hotels, It need a lot of attention in its Menu/ Gym and over all outlook.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunder K
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sunder K, Hello from IHG! Thank you for visiting Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, Tanzania again. I am grateful for your comments. It is pleasing to learn that you found our staff's service to be satisfactory. I also appreciate you sharing your thoughts on areas where we can improve, particularly with the gym and the aesthetics of...

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We ended up in this hotel when KLM overbooked our flight and we were offered free accommodation for the day we had to wait for the next flight. Although, the hotel was a nice place to relax after several long hours at the airport, the rooms are basic and slightly weathered. If we were paying for the rooms ourselves, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HenriCloete
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear HenriCloete, Thank you for sharing your experience and for providing feedback regarding your stay. I am happy to hear you appreciate the hospitality of our hotel staff and enjoyed your dining experience during breakfast. Our property 's goal is to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us. However, I am sorry if the overall condition and atmosphere...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This is a rather no-nonsense hotel providing you with the basics. Clean. The staff is friendly and efficient. Location is good. Room small but comfortable. Our bathroom was impeccable. The nicest thing about it was the rooftop restaurant which provided us with a good breeze. We ordered grilled fish. It was delicious, especially since we were not expecting anything outstanding....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bilgi a
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Very basic rooms. Scratchy, not soft, bed linen. Food is not good anywhere in the hotel. A chicken sandwich and chips £20 barely anything on the plate and what there was looked like leftovers Very disappointed with the rooftop. Half built and barely any menu available. Service lacklustre. My food was cold in the middle. I complained. Nobody cared. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _cornishpixie7_mk
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear _cornishpixie7_mk, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory dining experience you had and for failing to meet...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Joined a friend for dinner. The restaurant at the rooftop offers great seafood and the chef made an amazing delicious platter. Loved it. The atmosphere at the roof top is amazing with a great view of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kbblandi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here before and returned because I was happy the first time. I was not disappointed. A good stay. Great service. The Wifi was good and free. The room spacious and clean. Food and service top quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColmV
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Hotel taxi was waiting at airport - very good driver. Check in took a bit of time and involved 2 receptionists. Nice to get an upgrade to an executive room with access to lounge and breakfast included. Room ok - a bit small. And the AC did not really cool the room, rather made a lot of noise. Nice rooftop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hans L
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Positive: Staffs are friendly Nice Breakfast area Fairly good choice of food for breakfast lunch and dinner. Have a better size swimming pool than some other neighbour hotels.. Negative: I stayed on the 8th Floor and the whole floor smells damp!!!. It was same experience when I stayed here last time for one week. Bathroom needs complete upgrade, tiles, grouting,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hyolmo A
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Hyolmo A, Thank you for staying with us and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and restaurant service good, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

They were busy and maybe they just gave me poor rooms, however when there is so much noise on the mains electrics it messes with your laptop it is not good. I changed rooms once because of the smell of chemicals and the whistling windows that wouldn't lock. To another room where the windows didn't whistle as the gaps were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianmilne667
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear ianmilne667, Thank you for providing feedback on your experience during your recent business travel. We sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us due to the smell of chemicals, whistling windows and size of swimming pool fell below your expectations. Please know that these are not the standards that we aim for, nor that which...

Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We went for breakfast buffet. It was good spread. There were usual variety of breads, sweet and savory entrees, Egg omelettes made to order, variety of cereals both cold and hot. Coffee and tea with juices. There were fresh coconut split open with coconut water. Overall it was good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf M
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Yusuf M, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you liked our breakfast service. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 km away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
138 reviews
0.8 km away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
215 reviews
0.6 km away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#18 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
649 reviews
0.8 km away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
656 reviews
0.3 km away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $130 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I asked and the x01 rooms are apparently all suites of the same configuration of 801, so all very private.”
fallinandfilmin, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose the rooms on the top to get the larger view of cityside”
ganeshbhandari2011, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I'd go somewhere else in future”
ianmilne667, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Roof top bar”
522noelh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the Indian Ocean are best”
466japhetk, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
HolidayInn.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$99
Orbitz.comUS$99
Expedia.comUS$99
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates