We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Booking.comUS$98*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$138*
US$98*
Great Deal
US$99*
US$99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 425: English reviews
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is my first visit to Dar es salaam. I am sure that i met all my expectations. when driver said "welcome back sir", my husband told him this is our first visit.. Loll!!. There was good buffet with many varieties. WiFi is ok. My husband loves this rooftop restaurant and me as well. There was multiple times power failure....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth J, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We welcome your views about our property on Tripadvisor.com. It is always good to hear praise from our customers, that makes us feel that we have been able to do our job correctly. Our aim is to surpass the expectations of our esteemed guests but sometimes we fail because...

UK
Reviewed 12 August 2014

To use trip advisor correctly the point is to score the hotel as you find it during the stay This hotel is very poor We had no hot water for 2 days and despite complaining each time the excuse was the boiler was broken and it will take several days to push the hot water through the system-pathetic statement from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GSPS
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear GSPS, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences caused to you during your stay at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. We had a problem with our hot water systems due to sudden surge in the electric voltage in the area. Our fuel operated boiler was working but the pumps could not...

Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel itself is well presented and the beds seem clean etc. But what no one mentions here is that the whole hotel smells of mold. The first indication I got was in reception and then in the room it is overpowering. Its is in every corridor and every area of the hotel. You cant get away from it. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marcus b
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear marcus b, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGCare

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stopped here as I'm a IHG member on company business, got to say this hotel is over priced. Reception staff were friendly. Stopped on the executive floor room 904, the room was clean, but carpet was stained and black round the edges. My only real complaint about the room was that some days there was no hot water for showering....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin8358
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Colin8358, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at our property. There was a sudden and unfortunate surge in the electricity supply which caused our hot water systems collapsed. Even the heating elements in our back-up hot water tank also broke down. We have sorted out the...

clawson
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice hotel with welcoming staff and clean rooms ( apart from the carpet) there are 2 bars and the food is great however the breakfast is moderate with rubber eggs etc. The gym works and it has free wifi which is more hit then miss. Overall happy stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank damppants
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear damppants, Let me first thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit. We are delighted to know that you had an overall good stay at our property and that you appreciate our accommodations and staff. However, it is unfortunate you were disappointed with the breakfast and wifi. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Free Wi-Fi and welcoming staff!!! Roof top restaurant to relax and clean rooms to stay! Value for your money too. Excellent facilities with Computers and very friendly IT Manager!!!!! Duty Manager responds within minutes any time whether its day or night to resolve any issues no matter how trivial they are!!! Very happy - will definitely go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SriAgasthyaraju
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear SriAgasthyaraju, Warm Greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We appreciate your good comments about our property on tripadvisor.com. It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and we are happy to see that you have enjoyed our services. You have specially mentioned about our roof top restaurant and IT services. Your comments about our It manager...

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Pros - Good breakfast buffet -Free Wifi -Location i.e. good (relatively speaking)restaurants around. -Good Ice Coffee -Shuttle to airport -Roof top bar is nice Cons -Staff is near remedial in terms of service. -Complimentary water contains lead (yikes) -WiFi is spotty (but has gotten better) -Pool is dirty, furniture falling apart. -Management seems to be lacking -Food takes forever and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RandomWhiteDude
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear RandomWhiteDude, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn City Centre Dar ES Salaam, Tanzania. We thank you for writing such a detailed review about our property on Trip advisor.com. I must appreciate your eye for detail as you have been very observant in looking at the issue minutely. I appreciate your understanding of various situations. We have take a not of...

Pune, India
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful clean rooms , good service, good breakfast. Nice clean pool cannot really think of anything bad to say. Much higher standard to other holiday inns I have stayed in.astoria restaurant around corner for great food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajinkya1986
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Sawant, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn City Centre Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for such a good review about our property on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your comments, we will share the same with our team. Looking forward to see you again at Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam. Best regards, Mahesh Chander Langoo General Manager Holiday Inn 5...

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel frontline staff was very courteous and very helpful, room was much comfortable and view to city,restaurant at rooftop was awesome experience. Gym at hotel is Gud, for tourists hotel Has especial beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nageshwar r
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mr. rao, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn City Centre Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for such a good review about our property on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your comments about the front line staff and our reef top restaurant, we will share the same with our team. Looking forward to see you again at Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam....

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here in March of 2013.Everywhere else was fully booked. my hotel driver didn't pitch to the airport to pick me up and they still tried to charge me for it. Got to the hotel and there was a power outage so i couldn't get into my room for about 2 hours.That didn't bother much since TIA.Eventually got up to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry B
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Terry B, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you during your visit to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam in March 2013. But it gives me immense pleasure to inform you that we have changed a lot since March 2013. We...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 km away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
134 reviews
0.8 km away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
212 reviews
0.6 km away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
648 reviews
0.8 km away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
652 reviews
0.3 km away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $158 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I asked and the x01 rooms are apparently all suites of the same configuration of 801, so all very private.”
fallinandfilmin, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose the rooms on the top to get the larger view of cityside”
ganeshbhandari2011, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I'd go somewhere else in future”
ianmilne667, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Roof top bar”
522noelh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the Indian Ocean are best”
466japhetk, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$99
Hotwire.comUS$99
HotelQuicklyUS$138
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates