We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 414: English reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little more used, but not more as Holiday Inn hotels Italy or USA or Canada. Or OMG dirty Crowne Plaza Amsterdam or terrible H-Inn Lisboa City center. Of course, IHG chain members in Germany, China, Hungary or for example Slovakia are much much beter. What is not OK is complicated WiFi internet access with insufficient signal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pan P
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mr.PanP, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com. We also thank you for rating our hotel better than other hotels mentioned in your review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you because of internet/wi-fi not being good enough as per your expectations....

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had to stay for one night, because our flight was canceled. The management did a goo job. I needed a wheelchair accessible room and after a littel back and forth we got it. The bathroom is small but ok, the room was clean and the bed good. Enough space to move with a wheelchair. Unfortunately with carpets, but that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Streitferdt
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Streitferdt, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com. We understand that you are a traveler with special need and we try to ensure that your need for wheelchair accessible room is handled efficiently. As per the Holiday Inn standards we have to have...

Gurgaon, India
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. I'd rate this place as an average business hotel. The rooms are decent sized, the breakfast is ok. There was a lot of renovation going on when I was there, there was tarpaulin all over the lobby and the intercom wasn't working. Would have appreciated if I were informed when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salilsood
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Salilsood, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your inconvenience with the renovations. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here a few weeks ago, but I gotta say it is a great place to stay. Right just at the perfect place from the centre city centre. You feel like you are at the centre of it all! Fantastic for site seeing. The staff are friendly, and the rooms are a very decent side. The roof top restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank varmull
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Varmul, Greetings from Holiday Inn dar Es Salaam! We thank you writing a review about your experiences at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. We are happy to know that you like our rooms, services and the roof top restaurant. We appreciate your good words about our staff. It feels good to know that our staff is taking good acre...

Pune, India
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This a three star property, Service is bad , I had to approach the General Manager to get basic things moving. Food is average. Pool is a tank filled with water, best avoided. They charge you money for room service and deliver really pathetic food. So do'nt even try. bathrooms are very small and clogged. Stay here if it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deekshitm
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear deekshitm, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the unsatisfactory quality and service you have received during your stay. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small,...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I would really like to review this hotel better, but I was kind of disappointing. I've stayed at this hotel twice over the past two months and can't say I was impressed either time. On the plus side it is in a great location, right in the center of the city with nice staff. There is also a nice rooftop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Eric D, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and...

Madurai, India
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is located very close to the city center. You get lots of taxis from this place. The city center is walkable from this hotel. It has outdated equipment in GYM, sad experience for a people like me. The rooms are kept very clean, the service at the front desk is good and warm. The towels served wont be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rduraikannan
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear rduraikannan, Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review about your visit. I am happy that our location was of convenience. However, please accept my apologies if this stay was less than satisfactory due to the condition of the gym facility and breakfast served. We take all feedback seriously and your comments will help us improve what...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a good value stay if you use IHG points and as Platinum I enjoy the lounge and free breakfast in the restaurant downstairs, and usually a suite upgrade. Its not a luxury hotel for sure, but its where I always stay when in Dar on my way to a safari or beach holiday. Staff is friendly; reception is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordonnomad
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Gordonnomad, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn City Centre Dar Es Salaam! I thank you so much for writing a beautiful review about our property on tripadvisor.com. We are happy to know that you have always been using our hotel for your stay in Dar ES Salaam and you have always found this hotel to be good because of the...

Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in holiday inn last month and I was very happily pleased because in Africa it is not easy to find such nice hotels.staff very friendly,very clean rooms, nice room service ,food very good ,private taxi, good location.everything very nice .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariantontis
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mariantontis, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn dar Es Salaam! We would like to thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com It is good to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our property. We look forward to see you again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on your next visit. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a 4 day business trip to Dar Es Salaam travelling from the UK, the location was great, right in the city centre and close to the office I was visiting. This was my second visit to the hotel. The hotel in general was very comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly, recognising me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naveed K
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Naveed, Warm Greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! I am happy to know about your thoughts of Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. We thank you for your excellent review of our property on tripadvisor.com. We are happy to see that you appreciate our services. It is always good to see our guests coming back to use our...

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.8 km away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#17 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
201 reviews
0.1 km away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#11 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
108 reviews
0.6 km away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#15 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
624 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#25 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
91 reviews
0.6 km away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $151 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd go somewhere else in future”
 of 5 bubbles ianmilne667, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Roof top bar”
 of 5 bubbles 522noelh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the Indian Ocean are best”
 of 5 bubbles 466japhetk, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Standard room and executive rooms are very similar.”
 of 5 bubbles amrid2015, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher Floors are nice”
 of 5 bubbles shaf_qh, 13 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay