We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this place is a heaven @@@pineapple pizza was the best ### wine#### just wow####loved the samaki hot from grill#### charges are on steep side### can they provide card facilities. kids friendly areas can be considered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwake
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Kiwake Thank you for taking the time to write about your Sunday experience. It gives me pleasure to come to know that you had a good time when you visited the Golden Tulip Hotel, Masaki. We will definitely look into providing the card facilities as well as the pricing. We will surely look into the kiddies area as we...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Difficult to imagine a place like in our days. The hotel was empty, a dead place where you feel really unconfortable. No facilities, nothing related to luxury etc ... food is really bad, I have seen the meat for barbecue for our outised, under the sun in normal boxes, nothing to the meat cold. Never again !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amédée S
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Amédée S Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at the Golden Tulip Hotel. It is utterly disappointing to hear that we have not met your expectations when you visited the hotel .We have discussed your feedback and since June we have made a lot of changes in the kitchen as well...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The hotel is old and facilities are poor. It's a pity this is still listed as a Golden Tulip hotel while the staff on site clearly says this is not GT management anymore. Breakfast was ok, but restaurant is poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mathieuv184
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Mathieuv184 Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It is disappointing to hear that we have not met your expectations this time when you visited the Golden Tulip hotel. We are in the process of renovating the hotel and will soon upgrade all facilities as well as refurbishment. I can assure you that the hotel...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Perhaps the owners are trying too hard without understanding what their clientele really want, they may want to engage with visitors to see how they can improve. They cant improve on the service of their staff who were all excellent and make the place worth visiting. Shock horror the owners may even consider talking to their staff to see how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave c
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Dave C Thank you for providing feedback of your experience at the Golden Tulip Hotel, Masaki. We are aware of the improvement the hotel needs and we will soon be doing major renovations . I am happy to hear that you have received good service as we work very hard on providing our guests with the best service possible....

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 11 October 2016

second time I spent there this year. I felt the price is not worth the experience. What I liked: The Ambiance, location, view on the sea are amazing. The service is good, even if we feel a bit lonely when outside, the waitresses takes time to come and ask for your order. What should be improved: The quality of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phindo
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Phindo Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Golden Tulip Hotel , Masaki. I am disappointed to hear that we have not met your expectations this time around when you visited the hotel. I have discussed your feedback with the team and have requested immediate actions to be taken to improve on the...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 11 October 2016

It’s probably not the staffs fault, but they are way out of their depth when It comes to dealing with customers. I travel extensively for my company and have stayed at literally hundreds of hotels around the world so have a yard stick to go by. They literally do not know the meaning of professional service. They are friendly just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rossco1610
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Rossco1610 Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Golden Tulip hotel, Masaki. It is very disappointing to hear that you have encountered such a bad experience during your stay. Your feedback has been excessively investigated into and also been addressed to the concerned departments. We train our staff on daily basis but have...

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

When I arrived yesterday evening they insisted on full upfront payment... now I know why. For $250 a night the toilet in the room should work, there should be towels in the bathroom, shower gel would have been nice... and the list continues. The hotel is clearly managed for cash and has been deprived of investment for a long time....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Niels B
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Niels B Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my heartfelt apology for the discomfort you have experienced during your stay with us. It is unacceptable that the basic amenities was absent in your room and that you did not receive value for money. We will look into this matter and will take strict actions against the manager in...

Karachi, Pakistan
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

When we arrived in Dar, it was like the old city area back home (Karachi, Pakistan) but quickly we realized that Dar is a bit less chaotic and things are sort of well laid out. We picked Golden Tulip by doing online research and when we arrived there, the appearance exceeded our expectation. The place was clean, friendly staff, non-claustrophobic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ammarj00
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Ammarj00 Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience. You have actually stayed at the Golden Tulip hotel in the City Center which is our sister branch. We are always happy to hear that our fellow Golden Tulip hotels are doing well and receiving such good reviews. I will certainly pass on the feedback to them...

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Great place. This place is mostly used by expatriates, not a favor of locals. Bit expensive, you are having lots of attractions and distractions. If you are a newly married dude, take your girl to here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HiznyK
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear HiznyK Thank you for writing about you experience visiting the Golden Tulip Hotel , Masaki. By the suggestion of newly married couple i assume this was in your case. I am delighted to hear that you had a good experience. There are some days where we do have a lot of local people visiting the Golden Tulip Hotel as...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 14 September 2016

When I arrived there was a bad smell in the bathroom and a hole in the ceiling. This was fixed the next day and the smell disappeared. However, the mortar droppings on the toilet bowl took 2 days to clear away - symptomatic of the general standards employed here. Buffet is 'fair' but could be improved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DurbanPearl
GTDManagement, Deputy General Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review

Dear Durban Pearl Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during your visit to the Golden Tulip Hotel. I do apologize for the foul smell and maintenance issues you encountered upon your check in. This is unacceptable and has been addressed to the concerned managers. Be rest assured that this issue will not be repeated again....

245 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.5 km away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#14 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
395 reviews
1.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
1.7 km away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#12 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
7.7 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
624 reviews
9.2 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#4 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Golden Tulip Hotel - Dar es SalaamFor a luxurious stay with a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean. Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam, a pearl on the Indian Ocean, is located on the Msasani Peninsula, one of the Dar es Salaam’s most tranquil and elegant neighbourhoods. It is 4 kilometres from the city centre, main business area, international organisations and embassies, while the airport is just 18 kilometres away. The hotel has fantastic views overlooking the Indian Ocean and offers exclusive services to its guests. With an interior inspired by a blend of Arabic and Swahili cultures Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam provides a unique and comfortable experience, starting from the lobby through to the large spacious rooms. Free wireless internet is available, making it the ideal hotel for both business travellers and holidaymakers. Golden Tulip Dar es Salaam has 84 full-sized rooms, 4 Executive Suites, 2 Diplomatic Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. All rooms and suites have a private balcony and offer all the comforts you would expect of an international hotel on the East African Coast. They are air-conditioned and are equipped with satellite television, a large writing desk, in-room safe, direct dial international telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathrooms are all equipped with hairdryers. The hotel offers 24-hour room service and laundry services. Both restaurants provide a unique dining experience in a relaxing environment be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Sanaa Restaurant a la carte restaurant, located on the first floor provides a panoramic view of the ocean while Ocean View Grill & Bar directly overlooks the ocean. Le Rendez-Vous Café is open all day for that informal business meeting over tea or coffee, or simply for a nice break, which will not be complete without one of the chef’s fresh pastries. Additional business and leisure facilities include spacious banquet and conference rooms, which provide ideal venues for meetings, conferences and weddings for up to 500 guests while the infinity pool offers that is perfect for a quiet moment of leisure with stunning views of the Indian Ocean in the backdrop. With competitive rates throughout the year, Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam provides great value for money in an ideal setting. A luxurious stay with a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam

Address: Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula | PO Box 6300, Dar es Salaam 6300, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $158 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Golden Tulip
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Over the weekend rooms near the marquee are very noisy when there is a function there.”
 of 5 bubbles DurbanPearl, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms offer ocean views but the ones on the left wing look out more at the sea and not the courtyard as well.”
 of 5 bubbles lavienrosee59, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“A room very far away from the Marquee.... That is where they host Events and they can get really loud”
 of 5 bubbles Lawi_Sultan, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“Brilliant Views”
  • Brilliantly Laid Out Room
 of 5 bubbles AmanGandhi, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ensure the room lights and locks are working when you get the room so u can request to change the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 746murtazam, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay