We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 283: English reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We had guests from Nairobi and took them for dinner at Whitesands on a holiday. At the restaurant , we were very unhappy with the service, the waitress brought food one by one, by the time the other food came, the earlier food brought to the table was very cold.We complained several times, but service was still poor. The Manager,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abida A
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Abida A, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I do apologies for the lack of service you received, it is not the service we we stand for, but I am happy knowing that Norbert was able to assist and ensure that all went smoothly. Kind regards, Hotel...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place but very poor service. I had visited this place two years back and then now. I find immense decline in the service quality. I had to call three times for few more bathroom towels and guess what I am still waiting for a bottle opener, which they were supposed to bring with my Coca-Cola bottle. At restaurant, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arjun M
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Arjun M, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, I do apologies for the lack of services you received during you stay, and we will assure that it is addressed accordingly. Thank you once again I do hope you will visit us again soon to see our improvement....

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We had gone for a day out . Everything was okay but our only concern was price. They charged us 50000 for adults n 25000 for kids at the entrance saying they have only buffet today. Buffet menu was nit up to the mark n we were disappointed. Otherwise all other things were good. I request them to change their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burhanuddin M
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is right on the beach in Jangwani beach. I stayed here for four days. The room was clean, and had all amenities. The staff at front desk and house keeping are really good at making you feel at home. Big up to the IT staff who made every effort to make sure that I got Internet on my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry N
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Terry N, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Firstly I would like to thank you for your detailed and generous feedback and I am very happy to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were able t enjoy all services provided. Thank...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Well placed hotel and resort for work and leisure. Very spacious with clean beaches all around. Beautiful gardens and walkways for those who like fresh air exercises like me. Room are well placed for the beach side whether you are on ground or other floors. Great moments are there for anyone-young or old.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Japhet K
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Japhet K, Thank you very much for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your detailed and very generous feedback it is always a great feeling knowing a guest such as yourself truly enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

very nice facility .. rooms were tidy and clean. all rooms have a great view of sea. all ground floor rooms have direct access to the garden and from garden to the beach. beach was good for enjoying the sea during high tides .. the pool was good for enjoying during low tides .. guests staying in the resort have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shoeb a
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Shoeb A Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your generous feedback of your stay with us, I happy you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and thank you for your observations as they help us to improve on where we may be...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Really the best hotel north of Dar es salaam. ..rooms are lovely and clean...warm welcome..all rooms facing the Indian ocean with manicured lawns in between. ..beach nice but ocean the only let down...filthy. so sad to see so much plastic bags and garbage. Horrendous. Hotel staff doing their best to clean on a daily basis. Food good..two different pools to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rob L, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am happy to know that you really enjoyed your week with us taking a time to utilize the services provided as well as enjoying the green like scenary. I would like to thank you once again and I...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Besides the shady entrance the hotel is slick and fine. I would recommend this hotel for all people because the price for staying per night is moderate and we stayed in a suite two bedroom one hall and one bathroom all for a smashing £140. Very happy with the service. And I also loved the passion fruit juice. Just the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mufaddal Y
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mufaddal Y, Thank you for staying at Hotel White Sands and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. I am more than happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and do hope you return soon. Kind regards, Hotel White Sands Team

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Im currently attending a conference at White Sands and as a returning guest, I enjoy coming here. The food is wonderful staff from the reception is always welcoming. The only let down is the service in the restaurant its non existent the staff lag around as if theyve been forced to work there and just stand around huddled in groups....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joachim T
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Joachim T, Thank you very much for staying and conferencing at Hotel White Sands , I would like to thank you for your feedback and assure you that we have address the situation and that it will not happen in the future, as we aim to provide all our staff with further training. Kind regards, Hotel White Sands Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Visited the hotel as a day visitor so cannot comment on the bedrooms. Palm Trees and greenery close to the hotel, a contrast to the busy dusty road from the port area. Well set out, with two pools and bungalows located along the beachfront. A vast number of sun loungers, and static umbrellas and helpful staff to place them. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
Diana Kalikwela K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ralph R, Thank you very much for visiting Hotel White Sands and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. I am more thank happy to read that you had a wonderful experience not only enjoying the food but taking the time to admire the post card scenery and I would like to thank you for your detailed and generous feedback. I...

283 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
15.2 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
269 reviews
12.4 km away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
262 reviews
18.2 km away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#16 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
7.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.5 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#7 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The real gem of the East Coast of Africa! The White Sands Beach Resort is situated on an idyllic stretch of private beach front, just 25kms North of Dar es Salaam city centre, making it the gateway to a unique East African experience!Immerse yourself in the welcoming culture of Africa whilst you enjoy sincere, heartfelt GUEST service. The seaside accommodation comprises of 118 spacious, well appointed, standard rooms and 28 studio, one or two bedroomed apartments.Satisfy your palate with sumptuous fare from one of our restaurants, quench your thirst with an ice cold drink on the deck of the Pweza Jetty overlooking the warm Indian Ocean, unwind with a relaxing treatment from our White Sands Spa, take a boat trip to one of the nearby uninhabited islands, be adventurous and experience the beauty of the underwater world with a Scuba course from our PADI Dive Centre, have a work-out in our Gym or simply relax at the swimming pool or on the beach. Whether on Holiday, Business or Conferencing, the White Sands Hotel & Beach Resort is proud to provide our GUESTS with everything that they need and more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort

Address: Africana Road | Jangwani Beach, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $179 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel And Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Reston, Virginia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like walking ask for a room in the 400's, if not get something around 200-300.”
 of 5 bubbles ewenlb, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a 2 bedroom apartment villa right on the beach. Room 119 - excellent , spacious and ideal for families and all the luggage”
 of 5 bubbles MiAlpesh, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonymJ8980FF, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms closer to main area are no 300 to 330”
 of 5 bubbles Alpamit, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room are well placed for viewing the beach whether you are on ground or other floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 466japhetk, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5