We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale

Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (4)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
20
51
18
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
20
51
18
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water location is great caravan facilities lodge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 100 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

Very nice place but all the goodies get overpowered by the negatives for me. Booked the caravan (20$/night) 2 days before I came, but still came to super dirty sheets and the WHOLE caravan dirty. CLEARLY prior booking was useless, to top it up I...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Salman P
Response from Seremwe, General Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge AvondaleResponded October 30, 2018

Dear mr Salman I am sorry about the status you have found the Caravan in . Promise this would not happen again. Management will do everything we can to address your concern. We appreciate and value your review. Thank you George

Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Great tranquil place, back packers lodgings so not to expect 5* facilities,Hot water, secure area, mattresses in the dorms a bit thin, could use replacement, affordable, and recommended for the globetrotter,

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank BrendaMoyo
Reviewed December 27, 2017

I stayed in the dorm for 4 nights. The bunk bed was extremely squeaky - had trouble sleeping the first night. There are two showers to share between the entire dorm room (10+ beds) and multiple private rooms. One morning, I waited 20 minutes to...More

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Chieka C
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

Dorm rooms had too many beds in so no room for people and belongings, no key lock the door, bunk beds very creeky and so was the door! Overall didn't sleep well. Kitchen facilities need an update as even though the lady was cleaning it...More

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank EleanorBall
Response from Tariro01, MARKETING EXECUTIVE at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge AvondaleResponded December 28, 2017

Thank you Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We would like to apologize for the poor The issue was attended to.

Reviewed September 11, 2017

The room was nice, with bay windows and a smaller double bed and plenty of room space. However, the shared bathrooms were of poor quality, needing maintenance and hot water. This is not a place that I would recommend. Location is great as it's in...More

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank Loxa1a1
Response from Tariro01, Marketing Executive at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge AvondaleResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you somuch for staying with us ..we have noted your complain and the issue has been attended to.

View more reviews
About
Description
Small World Lodge is a backpackers lodge offering private rooms, dormitories ,camping and Safari tours. We have a swimming pool, bar, and travel advice service. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Restaurant
Laundry Service
Number of rooms
14
Price range
US$24 - US$40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Small World Backpackers Hotel Harare
Location
Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Number of rooms
14
Price range
US$24 - US$40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Small World Backpackers Hotel Harare
Location
Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Photos
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (3)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 nearby hotels
Russell Hotel Suites
4 reviews
2.71 km away
Bronte Hotel
678 reviews
2.93 km away
Horizon Inn
25 reviews
2.96 km away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
439 reviews
3.15 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 188 nearby restaurants
Fishmonger
253 reviews
1.34 km away
Gava's
108 reviews
1.60 km away
Casa Mia Ristorante Pizzeria
87 reviews
1.30 km away
40 Cork Road
119 reviews
1.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 67 nearby attractions
Mukuvisi Woodlands
194 reviews
7.24 km away
National Botanical Gardens
65 reviews
2.35 km away
National Gallery of Zimbabwe
45 reviews
3.17 km away
Haka Game Park
16 reviews
2.66 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Brian Z
September 24, 2015|
Answer
Response from Seremwe | Property representative |
Depends with our occupancy on the day
0
Votes
lefoko s
May 29, 2015|
Answer
Response from Seremwe | Property representative |
5 minutes by taxi for the one in town and 10 minute Avondale one
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Get a room with your own bath. More expensive but worth it"
patrickmB5767BL
Dec. 21, 2016
Read review
"Sometimes even the dorms are fairly empty. Ask if crowded and you may be able to stay in a quiet dorm."
Robbiec1964
Jun. 4, 2016
Read review
"If you can afford a private room, that is always the best."
susanhorcajo
May 24, 2016
Read review
"Take the dorm room, the other rooms are far overpriced."
servatius
Aug. 8, 2015
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing