We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Agoda.comUS$150*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$150*
US$152*
US$150*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 315: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Clean tidy and super service. Nothing is too much trouble. All staff to be applauded and especially for their command of English and ability to respond and understand an elderly traveller. Great taxi driver called Manyoloi.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank billh12015
Cape Town
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Finally being updated as rooms tired and fittings broken. As such, be prepared for noise and boarded up areas. Slow check in and check out has always been an issue with this hotel but otherwise a good bar and pool area and adequate breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 18h00 from a airport. Group of 4 on business. Check in took an hour. Rooms not ready / available. I was given a room in renovated wing which was crisp and fresh, enjoyed that. Not really great value due to poor service but for a short stay, not bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rohan2109
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for taking the time out to give us feedback! is highly appreciated! Please accept our apology for the poor check in and service experience you had. We are currently busy with a full refurbishment of the property which means all rooms and facilities will be upgraded and changed. The aim is to have this completed by...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 6 March 2017

High price - low standard The area is ok - green trees, big lawn, etc. But the room standard was bad - mould in the bathroom. Fridge broken. Dryer not in the bathroom but in the salon. Because of the trees rooms are not quiet (birds in the morning!). Good that the air condition works ok.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaboronaj
Management response:

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service. Please accept our apology for the poor experience you had - we are in the process of doing quite a comprehensive refurbishment. You are assured that your next visit to us will be...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Done this before so in short great venue friendly staff spacious rooms clean and nice setting at the bar and pool area.Only gripe is the aircons are no name brands and make a hell of a noise so it could be time to replace them.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyrZ8990YP
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service. Please accept our apology for the poor experience you had - we are in the process of doing quite a comprehensive refurbishment. You are assured that your next visit to us will be...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Old room, facilities need upgrading. Seems they are doing that but had not yet come to the section where I was. The food in the Mahogany restaurant was really really good. But everything else about the place is really tired.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pabilis
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service. Please accept our apology for the poor experience you had - we are in the process of doing quite a comprehensive refurbishment which includes the bathrooms in full. You are assured that your...

Orkney, South Africa
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Not value for money.Food is generally poor. Cleanliness not up to standard. Admin staff friendly. Location good- near rank if one does not have own transport, near shopping malls where one could eat out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keamo2017
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service. Please accept our apology for the poor experience you had - we are in the process of doing quite a comprehensive refurbishment. As to the cleanliness it is unacceptable and we appreciate you...

Maun, Botswana
Reviewed 18 February 2017

The reception was excellent, took the time to explain the changes and ask the right questions about room preference. Asked about assistance and even about family that was now on this trip . Room was spotless and finally TV was clear. Well done Gabs.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Graeme P Thank you for the positive feed back. It is highly appreciated!! May your next stay with us be as pleasant! Reagards Riaan

Francistown
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Although under renovation the hotel offers a comfortable environment for business and leisure guests. The staff are friendly and willing to assist even a fastidious guest, The only glitch was the delay in fixing a wardrobe door, though it requires getting a bigger screwdriver to fasten a loose screw.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 81josephk
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Mr Joseph Thank you for taking the time out to give us feedback. The renovation is going fine - with your next visit I am sure you will be delighted!! Regards Riaan

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Relative to its price, this hotel is not good. But it's not an entirely bad place to stay. Staff are friendly enough. It is less clean and well maintained than average. Food is generally poor. Pool is tiny. My bed was very uncomfortable. Two mismatched singles with separate mattresses stuck together.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColonelCathcart
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service. Please accept our apology for the poor experience you had - we are in the process of doing quite a comprehensive refurbishment. We are also awaiting the arrival of a new chef which...

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
2.6 km away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 16 in Gaborone
362 reviews
2.0 km away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 16 in Gaborone
174 reviews
1.3 km away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#7 of 16 in Gaborone
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#10 of 16 in Gaborone
46 reviews
5.2 km away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
6.0 km away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 16 in Gaborone
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: Chuma Drive 4727, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Price Range: $198 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Gaborone, Botswana
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Presdential suites and other rooms close to those one”
DrBeautyMMuzadzi, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First FLoor”
628willyv, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best view from rooms facing the pool area.”
hugot790, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away if you can”
nazparmar, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground Floor, Pool Facing rooms”
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
MoeYou, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$150* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$152
TripAdvisorUS$150
Orbitz.comUS$152
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates