We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Yaounde

Jumia TravelUS$228*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$296*
US$228*
Great Deal
US$258*
US$259*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Yaounde
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

615 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Yaounde
See the most recent reviews
Showing 263: English reviews
Little Rock, United States
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Poor to average facility and service at an extremely high price. Rooms are small and smelly. Service is average but not great. Staff is friendly but terribly inefficient. Pool needs a good cleaning. We stayed here because we were desperate for an international-quality hotel experience. Instead we just felt like we wasted our money.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
Samuelle B, Secretary of Direction at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review

Dear Lisa A, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are sorry you were not satisfied by our services specially the state of the room. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasantness. We would like to let you know that correctives actions are taken to improve our services. Also, the renovation of the...

Rawai, Thailand
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Disappointed with the Hilton Standards in Cameroon. seriously we paid average 0f 400US a night for a 3 star Hotel. the outside is filthy, you can't see out the windows, the towels are decades old by the pool. service was so slow it was ridiculous. they ran out of orange juice by 9am for breakfast. it took 40 minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AliGoebel
Samuelle B, Secretary of Direction at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review

Dear AliGoebel, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are sorry you were not satisfied by some of our services. Please accept our sincere apologies for all problems you encountered during your stay. Please rest assured that we will not spare any efforts to please you. Should you consider staying in our hotel. Our guest complaint...

Gent, Belgium
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Saturday till 3:15, loud music heard in Hilton Yaoundé. Am i joking ? No, really. I am serious. You pay about 200 euros the night and cannot benefit from a good sleep in such a "top" hotel. They had accepted a wedding-party without good insonorisation. After hard negociation, no choice but tot pay the full monty at moment of check-out....

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabian Nicolas ... T
Samuelle B, Secretary of Direction at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review

Dear Fabian Nicolas ... T, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are sorry you were not satisfied by some of our services particularly the internet connection and the noise during the night. Please accept our sincere apologies for all problems you encountered during your stay. We understand that we did not fulfill the promise of...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed at The Hilton during the conference. Average rating. Polite staff, old facility, expensive. Check in took almost 1 hour. Lighting poor in the rooms. Visited friends I. A few other hotels which cost less than half the Hilton rates and provided decent accommodation close to the Hilton.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Preyef
Samuelle B, Secretary of Direction at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review

Dear Preyef, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are sorry you were not satisfied by some of our services. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasantness. We would like to let you know that correctives actions are taken to improve our services. Also, the renovation of the hotel is undergoing. Your satisfaction...

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Business trip to Cameroon so limited places to stay, Hilton had enhanced security which is to be expected with the current situation in the neighbouring countries, a choice of places to eat within the hotel complex with a reasonable menu, the Staff were always friendly, helpful and efficient, all in all pleased with this as a hotel, great to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peteblakemore
Samuelle B, Secretary of Direction at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review

Dear peteblakemore, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you were totally satisfied by our services. Thank you for your appreciations concerning our staff and services. We hope you will consider staying in our hotel, and it would always be a pleasure to welcome you. Yours Sincerely, Jean François...

Mauritius
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Spent a night last week and frankly I was disappointed. When you approach the hotel premises, they have beefed up the security checks and now it looks like any US Embassy in sensitive countries...Except no one checks your suit case to see whether you have some Semtex instead of toothpaste... The hotel is old and the bathroom in room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank constantinos1959
Samuelle B, Secretary of Direction at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review

Dear constantinos1959 Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied by our services. We understand that we don't fulfilled the promise of our brand : every customer should feel respected, cherished and valued. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. We have noted all your problems concerning...

Joburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This is the third Hilton I have had the misfortune to stay in of late. None of them have been of five star standard. This one is no different - the service is shoddy - check-in was a nightmare that took forever and was so frustrating. The rooms are nice enough - there is not much to choose from in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAddict
Samuelle B, Secretary of Direction at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review

Dear TravellingAddict, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are sorry you were not satisfied by our services. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasantness. We would like to let you know that correctives actions are taken to improve our services. Also, the renovation of the hotel is undergoing. Your satisfaction is very...

kigali
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Given the security situation, you get search regularly and you have to cart your own luggage to the entrance and then have everything manually searched. This is surprising given the size of the hotel but once you get over that it's fine. The rooms are dated (slightly sketchy old carpeting on the floors) but are spacious and comfortable with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anuka9
Samuelle B, Secretary of Direction at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review

Dear anuka9, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you were very satisfied by our services. Thank you for your appreciations concerning our staff and services. We hope you will consider staying in our hotel, and it would always be a pleasure to welcome you. Yours Sincerely, Jean François...

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Our second stay at the Hilton Yaounde, the first was 8 years ago. Professional and helpful staff, quiet and calm atmosphere in the hotel. Security has been put in place since our last visit, every person, car and piece of luggage is scanned and inspected before you are allowed into the hotel. Our room was a good size, very clean,...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
Samuelle B, Secretary of Direction at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review

Dear Janet L, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you were totally satisfied by our services. Thank you for your appreciations concerning our staff and services. We hope you will consider staying in our hotel, and it would always be a pleasure to welcome you. Yours Sincerely, Jean...

Yaounde, Cameroon
Reviewed 21 February 2016

The staff was great, always friendly and ready to help. The room was run down and in need of updated furniture (dresser drawers off track, wouldn't close, chipped wood, etc). Housekeeping amenities should have been systematic (always same quantity and placement of towels, washcloths, clean glasses). The overall experience was OK, but definitely not 4-5 stars like I would expect...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
honore-guiondogno, Owner at Hilton Yaounde, responded to this review

Dear Lauren D, It is always glad to read these kind of comments. Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel, the staff and the service. We have shared them with the team and can tell they were very enthusiastic. We will continue to work hard to make you feel like at your home during your next...

295 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (24)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yaounde hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel La Falaise
Hotel La Falaise
#2 of 25 in Yaounde
99 reviews
0.8 km away
Djeuga Palace
Djeuga Palace
#12 of 25 in Yaounde
142 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Merina Yaounde centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hotel Mont-Febe
Hotel Mont-Febe
#15 of 25 in Yaounde
106 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mansel
Hotel Mansel
#5 of 25 in Yaounde
19 reviews
0.0 km away
Aurelia Palace
Aurelia Palace
#19 of 25 in Yaounde
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city's central business district, Hilton Yaounde hotel is the only international hotel in Yaounde, is walking distance to government offices, local corporations and is only 30 minutes from Nsimalen International Airport by the hotel's complimentary shuttle service. The hotel features 248 rooms and suites, 16 flexible meeting and banqueting room, a well equiped Business Centre, 5 restaurants and Bars, a Fitness club with an outdoor pool, an indoor Mall with 14 shops, and is ideally situated to explore local activities and tourist attractions including the National Craft Market and National Museum. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Yaounde

Address: Boulevard du 20 Mai, Yaounde, Cameroon
Region: Cameroon > Centre Region > Yaounde
Price Range: $380 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Yaounde 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Yaounde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Yaounde Hotel Yaounde
Yaounde Hilton
Hilton International Yaounde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Yaounde staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Yaounde staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe worth being a HHonors members to benefit from an upgrade”
JoDi3010, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Add breakfast to your room at booking”
fasteddie565, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cars cannot wait for too long in front of the entrance and they don't have parking for them. Need to call driver to pull up from outside.”
lizzylizzy, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“8th floor is executive floor, with specific facilities”
127Fred, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Executive Lounge is excellent!!!”
ahanoubon, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$228* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$258
TripAdvisorUS$259
HotelQuicklyUS$296
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates