We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Friendship International Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Friendship International Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of Friendship International Hotel
 Click to rate
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nothing positive to say about this motel,every thing bellow basic stranded ,rooms dirty with bed bugs,over priced, dirty and dusty environment / surroundings, food uneatable, TV. a joke, outside noise. and many other

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miketodde
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel staff where here friendly, I had arrived at a very busy time for Ethiopia there was an African Union conference and all rooms were fully booked. But friendship were friendly enough to allow me to stay they also included a free pass for me n my friends to enter their exclusive club down stairs

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience from your recent stay in our hotel! we are very glad to serve our guest in utmost experience in our hotel and we look forward to host you again here in our hotel! Best regard, The Management

Finland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed couple of days with my family in this hotel because of our flight was cancelled due to weather in Istanbul. In this hotel nothing works. so bad costumer service from manager to low level special reception name called Lidia the rude human being I have ever witnessed as well as duty manager called Tibebe! Omgd they are extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bikil
Management response:

Dear Bikil, Thank you for your feedback and Please rest assured that the issue you have been through in the first place does not reflect our normal standards and we have taken the appropriate measures in order to avoid any future re-occurrence. Best, The Management

East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I was pleasantly surprised arriving at this hotel as it really is well appointed. Check in was simple and the rooms were great but the hot water takes ages to come through, wasting liters of water. The meals were good and the service in the bar and restaurant was excellent. This stay was totally spoilt by the loud music coming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grant W
Management response:

Dear Grant, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay in our hotel! We are very glad to hear that Our foods and services meets your expectation and we are very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise in your stay. In fact we accept that this noise was happened in the night of Friday and Saturday...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

This has been my third stay at Friendship Hotel. More restaurants and lounges have opened on the main street so that is a big plus. It looks like there is a new chef because the food has changed and has been upgraded; not that there was an issue before. This is a good consistent hotel in the heart of Bole.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will S
Management response:

Dear Will, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay in our hotel! we are very glad to hear that our service were as per your expectation and we are looking forward you in your next visit to Addis with best service experience! Best, General Manager

San Jose, California
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Weekends are a time to avoid this hotel which is next to a big nightclub playing techno music which is causing the building to vibrate. Forget sleeping on weekends here. A little old and rundown, maybe not all that clean, but otherwise (on weekdays) not as bad. I stayed here at the start of my trip on a Monday and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve H
Management response:

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel! We are very sorry to hear that you were disturbed for the night of Friday and Saturday though we did not receive any complains from other guests. We will check the sound and adjust as per the hotel standard totally avoid the sound arrive at guest...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Ethiopians are in general very warm friendly people, and you must enjoy the coffee after food PLUS walk in the late nights in the lanes of Bole road, without getting lost. Lot of night clubs in the vicinity... Review of the this hotel - 1. Ordinary hotel with courteous staff - except for the receptionists who look exhausted and wont...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VAggarwal1977
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay in our hotel! we always do our utmost to accommodate our guests. As per your feedback, Please rest assured that the issue you have been through in the first place does not reflect our normal standards and we have taken the appropriate measures in order to avoid any...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Nothing is exceptional at the FIH, but everything is OK. The rooms are large and clean. Rhe staff is friendly and Breakfast is nice. The location is very good, off Bole Rd. and very close to the airport. Prices are a bit high, but not unusual for Addis. In all - a reasonable place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alonh1000
Management response:

Dear Alonh, Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us! we are very glad to read such kind of feedback from our guests and we strive every day to help our guests create great memories of their time with us. I'm so gratified that we were able to do that for you. I hope that we...

Reviewed 10 November 2016

The Hotel is Centrally Located in Addis Abba , walking distance from the famous Medhane Alem Church.. The hotel is decent for a short stay .. but will not rank it among the 4 star hotels .. its between a 2 star to 3 star hotel.. the room i stayed in was clean and decent . break fast buffet had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adnan K
Management response:

Dear Adnan, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback in your recent stay with us! we are very glad for the positive feedback's and we are very committed to hearing your feedback to ensure our future service improvement. I'm so gratified that we were able to do that for you. I hope that we can look forward to...

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Friendship for two different nights. This is an obviously Chinese built hotel (Chinese characters on labels). The good: large room, clean bed linens and towels. The bad: very hard beds, leaking showers, and mediocre food. Breakfast and dinners are very average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reginafug
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest! Thank you for taking time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us and We appreciate your real concern towards our weakness. For the beds, we do have comfortable mattress cover upon guest request and for leakage in showers, we have taken the proper corrective maintenance by considering your review. Once again thank you for...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.3 km away
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
Golden Tulip Addis Ababa Hotel
#14 of 116 in Addis Ababa
70 reviews
0.3 km away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#19 of 116 in Addis Ababa
288 reviews
0.1 km away
Siyonat Hotel
Siyonat Hotel
#27 of 116 in Addis Ababa
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#11 of 116 in Addis Ababa
70 reviews
0.1 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#15 of 116 in Addis Ababa
209 reviews
0.4 km away
Kenenisa Hotel
Kenenisa Hotel
#52 of 116 in Addis Ababa
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Friendship International Hotel

Address: Africa Avenue, opposite to Alem Building, 200 meter inside, near to Robel Plaza, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Price Range: $106 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Friendship International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Friendship International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#24 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Friendship International Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Friendship International Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Queen room on the higher floors is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles VAggarwal1977, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“chose a room at the higher levels for a better view of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles 409adnank, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles RaymondGonzales1978, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors to enjoy the view of the city Addis”
 of 5 bubbles emmanuel848, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“prefer the high floors”
 of 5 bubbles wgt007, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5