We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital Hotel and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Capital Hotel and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 341: English reviews
Start your review of Capital Hotel and Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a not so good experience. When i was allocated my room, i was not escorted to my room, i was given directions. Luckily i was able to find my room but alas the bed was a mess. It was clear to me that one of the ladies in the foyer had just used this with her client, quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor Z
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Normally this hotel would be above my allowance however a regional organisation paid for my stay. Very nice hotel ! Friendly staff, great restaurants and bars, nice swimming pool. I didn't use the sauna nor the work-out room however I got very good reviews from colleagues. Only minus was the internet but this isn't something the hotel can chance as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Han d
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in this hotel for work visit, but liked it enough to stay in it for a couple of days afterwards. I enjoyed the food, the facilities (complimentary sauna access was great), and above all the friendliness of the staff. The quality of the internet was the only annoying thing with drop-outs nearly daily and blocked sites. However, at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre R
Capital H, General Manager at Capital Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Warm Greetings, Thank you for your positive feedback, which we are delighted to hear, we will forward your nice words to our friendly professional staff and regards the internet it has been communicated to the responsible department to assure the situation. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

First, let me say that I have never rated a hotel so low, and I travel for work and leisure all over the globe. My poor rating is based on several factors/issues with this hotel. Poor customer service began before I arrived. When booking my stay, I asked about an airport shuttle. I was told they had a shuttle and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole G
Capital H, General Manager at Capital Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Warm Greetings, First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to the advice of your recent stay at Capital Hotel and Spa. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued Guest. We are disappointed...

Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was impressed with the service of the staff at this hotel. We had some confusion upon pickup from the airport, but once we arrived at the hotel the staff made every effort to accommodate us and improve our experience. The hotel is advertised as 5 stars, though I think it still has a bit to go to earn the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
Capital H, General Manager at Capital Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Warm Greetings, Thank you for your detailed and positive review about your recent stay at our hotel.We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you found our location practical.Regards to the confusion, Please rest assured that it has been communicated to the responsible department and we strive to exceed customer...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We organized a meeting in Addis and all our participants were hosted at the Capital hotel for 6 to 7 days. The stay was excellent, from the Pickup at the airport, the very pleasant welcome, the excellent rooms, good food both at the restaurant and the pool side, the very fast room facilities (room service, laundry, ), transfer to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serge D
Capital H, General Manager at Capital Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Warm Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about Capital Hotel and Spa. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the services of the hotel and had a comfortable stay. Our persistent effort is on ensuring each guest can count on us during their stay.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Was impressed by the service given by Heregweyn and Israel keep it up. Most pleased by the ambience good food and facilities provided.Will no doubt repeat my visit to the hotel. You have made my stay extremely happy and enjoyable.Keep it up and I love Capital Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ROSETTE D
Capital H, General Manager at Capital Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings, we are pleased that you had a good experience in our hotel .It’s rectitude that you recommend and enjoy our friendly staff .We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my favorite hotel in Africa. I do a lot of travelling and stay at a number of hotels, but this is by far the best. Beautiful rooms, incredible value for money and outstanding service. I would recommend it to anyone, whether travelling for business or vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank estellew504
Capital H, General Manager at Capital Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience and recommendation. We are pleased that our employees made a great impression. We strive to exceed customer expectations.Thank you once again ,looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

London, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Knowing how incredibly poor this country is, I was honestly surprised to find a hotel that felt very at par with comparable hotels in Europe or US. Although it feels more like a business hotel for staying here on vacation, it was such a nice welcome after 5 days roughing it in Africa. The room was spacious and comfortable, room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KooChoLondon_UK
Capital H, General Manager at Capital Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for declaring that we are suitable for a business trip, in addition, capital hotel and spa is recognized as a conference hotel. We are glad you relished our comfy rooms, gym&spa, and gastronomy.We look forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Surrey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on our first night in Ethiopia, after an overnight flight from the UK. We arrived mid Sunday morning, and they had a room ready for us. The room was modern and well equipped, and quiet. There is airport style security at the entrance. It was very clean. The small outdoor swimming pool was popular with locals. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A F
Capital H, General Manager at Capital Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read that you liked our location, service and found the hotel nice.We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
1.4 km away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
253 reviews
2.3 km away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#4 of 118 in Addis Ababa
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#6 of 118 in Addis Ababa
218 reviews
4.3 km away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#5 of 118 in Addis Ababa
417 reviews
1.6 km away
Marriott Executive Apartments Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Capital Hotel and Spa is a five star hotel located at the center of Addis Ababa. Our meeting rooms, lounge and spa make you feel like it is your home away from Home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital Hotel and Spa

Address: Mazzoria Haile G/Silassie ave. 22 | next to Ministry of Water and Energy or in front of Waryt Building., Addis Ababa 18786, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Price Range: $162 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capital Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Hotel and Spa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hotel and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont go for front facing rooms, you are guaranteed to have a tough time catching sleep”
  • After my complaint i was moved to this room....less noise and
  • Train passing through..roughly around 2145hrs
  • My initial room, obviously it had just been used
trevorz664, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay at a different hotel.”
NicoleG721, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room on the Soth side are quiter.”
523saids, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try out the skyline lounge.”
K6548CTcharlesk, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms were quiet - no comments on this front.”
mmX134ZT, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5