We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dusternbrook Guest Farm

TravelocityUS$58*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$60*
US$58*
US$60*
US$60*
US$58*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dusternbrook Guest Farm
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We stayed at Düsternbrook in the safari tents 2 times (in 2014 and 2015) and we enjoyed the nice atmosphere both times. The people are very friendly and relaxed. There is a big swimming pool and it is possible to have your laundry done. Dinner with the other guests is good as well. Although the 'cats unlimited tour' is rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annemieke v
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Annermieke, Thank you for your feed back and comment on Duesternbrook. It always takes a bit of time but it is very useful for other travellers, so thank you for making that time available. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed Duesternbrook and the different activities we offer. There is only one point I like to adress that...

Reviewed 14 November 2015

We visited this beautiful spot as it was recommended by our gorgeous host, Christina at Paradise Gardens Backpackers in Windhoek. After 3 incredible weeks around Namibia, we had one spare day and wanted to spend it out of the city. A short drive from the capital, we found Dusternbrook. Campsites were great, the staff very smiley and courteous and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudeCraig
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Jude, Thank so much for taking your time to comment and give feed back on Duesternbrook. I am so happy that even after three weeks of Namibia that we still could offer some icing on your cake. That is really a great honor to hear. Thanks also to Christina for the recommondation of Paradise back packers to spend a...

Grafenhausen, Germany
Reviewed 6 September 2015

As the website had made us curious, we had decided to come and see Duesternbrook and its big cats ourselves. Thus at the end of July we stayed on our last night before leaving Namibia by plane. Both the approach (three lovely fords !) and the setting are marvellous - and so were the wild animals around. We saw several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mceschholz
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Mr Scholz, Thank for taking time to review Duesternbrook. Sorry to that there has been no hot water, which I cannot understand as all our hot water comes from solar energy and there is an electric element to hear up during the night so that hot water is also in the morning. Than you said you still have been...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Spent almost a week hiking in the mountains around Durstenbrook, and found the place a most welcome change from the rigours of roughing it. Johan the owner was welcoming, and very knowledgable about the history of the area. He is dedicated to conservation, and uplifting the community. The rooms are comfortable, the food is excellent, and the bar prices reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john_mehliss
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to write this report. It is not often that a South African writes a report that's why I really enjoyed your positive lines. If someone stays a few days here, like you, than the review is in my eyes even more valuable as it is not like a one day positive or...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 29 December 2014

I stayed in the new hippos chalet. What i liked: -The fact that it is isolated from all other premises and so close to the lake with hippos and other animals that come to drink. - The self-guided walks. - The cheetah and leopard feeding. - We can see that they make a good effort to do a sophisticated food....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bruno I
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Bruno, Thank you for taking your time to write such a comprehensive and balanced report. I have gone through your report point by point and I will improve on the points mentioned what you did not like. I do not quite understand the decoration part...on the other hand for such a good price you cannot expect much more valuable...

Windhoek
Reviewed 13 September 2014

We camped here and really enjoyed the scenery, the amazing woodpecker, the pool and the horses nearby, oh and the gorgeous puppy! The ablution block was clean and well looked after. The campsite itself is a little in need of attention with the fencing broken down in places, allowing animals to gain access easily. However, our kids loved the site...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank C H
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear CH from Windhoek, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I am happy you and the kids enjoyed their stay and we are happy to welcome you soon again. Thank also for the hints of improvement in terms of friendliness of the staff.Actually they are friendly that is the feed back I get from most other...

lancashire
Reviewed 6 September 2014

"You won't be disappointed" is the logo on the literature for this place. How wrong it is. We camped there on our way back to Windhoek after a very tough 5 week trip. The campsite is small, extremely dusty ( we're used to really roughing it), covered in litter and extremely noisy. The ablutions were passable but getting even warm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kalmond123
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. Your criticism is far from the reality how I run, manage and maintain this farm. If you were that unhappy why do you complain only 9 month later, instead of approaching me right on the spot? Why do you even comment on activities you did not even take part? I appreciate constructive comments BUT not...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 13 August 2014

For the past 7 or so years, my family and I liked to escape the city on Sundays and always booked our lunch at Dusternbrook Guestfarm. The Sunday lunch at Dusternbrook has always been nice homely food but the last 2 years it had declined so dramatically that the only nice thing about the lunch is the fact that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlynsB
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear AlvynB, I am very very sorry to read what you have to say about your experience and our food. Something must have gone very wrong and please accept my apologies. I really hope you have immediately complained to my manager Bernd or Babara which I have employed since January 2014. I simply cannot believe that food from the day...

Walvis Bay
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We visited for 2 nights, booked into the hippo chalet. We found it very basic but quaint and charming. The meals were fantastic and delicious! We did the activities, except for the horse riding. They only had one horse available. Horses came to drink at the hippo lake, but they were very thin. But it is obviously because of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melony S
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Melony, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here. I am happy that you had a positive stay at the hippo chalet coming all the way from Walvisbaai. I agree the hot water is a bit tricky but if you put in two "Blitz" than it will burn longer and the water will be warm for...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A definitely "not to miss" place situated comfortably on route between Windhoek and Okahandja, right on your way to northern Namibia e.g. Etosha National Park or Swakopmund on the coast. Fantastically set in the bush and lovely hilly region, on the banks of the dried up, seasonal river. Dusternbrook offers lovely accommodation, meals (restaurant) and MOST of all game drives...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaSmaNa
Johann V, Owner at Dusternbrook Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear visitor, Thank you for taking the time and write a comment on Düsternbrook it is well appreciated. You enjoyed exactly what we want to offer and hope everybody visiting the farm could see it that way. kind regards and tank you one more time. Johann Vaatz

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
22.7 km away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 76 in Windhoek
74 reviews
20.4 km away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 76 in Windhoek
352 reviews
42.0 km away
Leopard Lodge
Leopard Lodge
#31 of 76 in Windhoek
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
Okapuka Ranch
Okapuka Ranch
#24 of 76 in Windhoek
90 reviews
63.8 km away
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
#22 of 76 in Windhoek
63 reviews
37.5 km away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dusternbrook Safari Guest Farm is a small colonial architecture style guest farm in a beautiful setting with a stunning view. It is 50 km north-west from the capital Windhoek or 90 km from the international airport on the way to Etoscha or the coast. The farm has 7 lodge rooms also family rooms all with bath ensuite. The farm is awarded from the hotel association (silver and bronze)and as eco lodge.( 4 out of 5 flowers). It has abundant game 16 different species( giraffe, kudu, oryx, springbock, impala etc. including hippo )and rich bird life in its private reserve. There is a large pool and a bar.Dinner and breakfast is in family-style where you meet in casual way other guests. Activities are cheetah & leopard drive, game drives, early morning mountain drive horse riding and several hiking trails. The new Khomas Hochland Hiking Trail (KHHT)90 km or 6 days ( 53 km and 4 nights) over several farms starts at Dusternbrook. There are two small camp sites and remote private chalets at a lake where you can see hippos.Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dusternbrook Guest Farm

Address: | P.O. Box 870, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Price Range: $58 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusternbrook Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dusternbrook Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dusternbrook Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in the Kolonialhaus! Rather choose another room.”
Dani_F007, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It is a hiking trail - do the slack pack version”
Hennied_13, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“The free wifi is available at the reception area.”
john_mehliss, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“take the room with the antique pump before the door; this room has a lot of space :)”
  • Duesternbrook is the first and oldest guest farm in Namibia since 1961. The farm house has a spe
Stan_de_Haas, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“If you book a hippo chalet, make sure you get the wooden one. The stone chalet looks nicer from the outside but has a poor view of the lake”
gregr753, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$58* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$60
TripAdvisorUS$58
Hotwire.comUS$60
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates