We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Cardboard Box Hostel

    15 Johann Albrecht St | West, Windhoek, Namibia
    Apr 9 Apr 10
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Enter dates for lowest prices
    We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
    Traveller (36)
    Pool & Beach (6)
    Dining (1)

    • Excellent19%
    • Very good24%
    • Average22%
    • Poor20%
    • Terrible12%
    Travellers talk about
    Breakfast included
    Free Internet
    All hotel details
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    All reviews free wifi great place to hang extended stay dorm bed cool vibe private room hostels receptionists
    Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

    We stayed at the Cardboard Box backpackers for one night and were quite disappointed for the price payed. Positive aspects were the good location in Windhoek and the really friendly staff. Our small, simple dorm in the basement was ok, the sheets were clean and...More

    Reviewed 30 January 2017

    This hostel was a low-ish price for the dorms (170 NAD/ZAR) but you don't get much for the price. The dorm room we had was dark and sad, and the single outlet in the room did not work. The bathroom we used had no hooks...More

    Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

    I would not recommend this hostel. The room wasn't really cleaned before we came. The kitchen wasn't clean as well. The pool was very dirty, green with algies. Breakfast included two pieces of toast. The location isn't to great either. And it's noisy at night...More

    Response from Chad_WWindhoek, Manager at Cardboard Box Hostel

    Hi There Lisa. Really sorry to hear this. We unfortunately had a 10 day period when the rains arrived that turned the pool green. We battled for days to get it right but only when the professionals came back on the 9th Jan could we...More

    Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

    We've been on the road for 5 months, mostly camping , frequently at backpackers - sometimes staying in tons at backpackers and hostels. So, after 5 months, we thought it time to rate the best and the worst places we've stayed. The Cardboard Box in...More

    Response from Chad_WWindhoek, Manager at Cardboard Box Hostel

    Hi There. Thanks for your review. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you will be well aware as you were here that some serious rains arrived in late December. The lightning and rain turned many pools in Whk green overnight. We...More

    Reviewed 7 December 2016

    We arrived in Windhoek having driven up from SA and spending two night at Fish River canyon - so all the people overwhelmed us a bit. The hostel was easy to find with a satnav and we left the car outside for a bit whilst...More

    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Internet
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    Traveller (36)
    Pool & Beach (6)
    Dining (1)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Nearby Restaurants
    332 reviews
    2.96 km away
    Joe's Beer House
    2,348 reviews
    2.16 km away
    Namibia Institute of Culinary Education
    397 reviews
    2.75 km away
    The Social
    78 reviews
    1.90 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Namibia Craft Centre
    141 reviews
    3.42 km away
    360 reviews
    3.16 km away
    Katutura Township
    150 reviews
    2.50 km away
    National Museum of Namibia
    252 reviews
    3.31 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Cardboard Box Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "Wifi works best in the reception."
    Alison T, 1 month agoRead review
    "Private room would be "Ritz", Dorm rooms with utilities would be Mount Nelson""
    Russell L, 8 months agoRead review
    "Mount Nelson is the best dorm to stay in"
    Pieter N, 9 months agoRead review
    "i would guess a different hostel"
    marcryf, over a year agoRead review
    "Rooms that take you past the kitchen, down the 15 stairs in the lower level next to washer and dryer that are..."
    Mtnchic2009, over a year agoRead review
    "All rooms are vaguely the same, do ask the staff if you require any specifics though."
    EvangelineFaith, over a year agoRead review
    "As far away from the pool area as possible"
    Trailsoflight, over a year agoRead review
    "Very convenient to stay and well guarded. Campsite is nice and quiet."
    Nol V, over a year agoRead review
    "If you want an early night, try to get a room further from the bar."
    carys m, over a year agoRead review
    "If you're staying in a dorm I would ask for the one with the bathroom inside. All of the other rooms have..."
    Alexis K, over a year agoRead review
    Similar nearby hotels
    Windhoek Gardens Guest House
    Tilla's Guesthouse
    UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
    Rivendell Guest House