We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camp Gecko Tented Camp

Save
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good18%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible4%
5 weeks ago
“Best Camping ever!”
19 Sep 2017
“Superb Location”
AMENITIES
Internet
Restaurant
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Camp Gecko Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
12
5
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
12
5
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 20 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Amazing view in the middle of the desert. Great food and stories. It not to far from the city and you already feel on lunar landscapes. Our guide Felix introduced us to the friendly and brave owner. I would recommand.

5  Thank Matthieu W
Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

All was fine with accommodation but the morning we woke up to no water. I saw owner and walked over to his car. He fixed water quickly. I noted a hunting rifle with him and there were a few more people on car with cameras....More

5  Thank Leonpotgieter
Reviewed November 1, 2014

We stayed here for two nights a couple of weeks ago, and were totally taken in by the remoteness and silence of the place. Heidi has set up some beautifully situated tented accommodation, and the view from the dining room/pub lapa is superb. We birded...More

4  Thank PeterSharland
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Camp Gecko is fantastic, possibly the most relaxing break I've had in a long time; Heidi and Rene are fantastic hosts, they are such lovely welcoming people. We had the most amazing views from the tents and I must say it's breath-taking. Wholesome home cooked...More

5  Thank Cherie K
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This camp was very cute, however the tents were quite open and full of bugs. Mosquito nets were available, however it was a bit uncomfortable during the night. Also not a lot of activities to do during the day, so I wouldn't recommend spending too...More

1  Thank Samone E
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Windhoek
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Things to do
Restaurant
Number of rooms
6
Location
Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lisajane368
February 18, 2018|
Answer
Response from Karen3435 | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry but I am not sure as we did not travel directly from Windhoek to camp Geko. However the nearest town is solitaire which I believe is around 4hours from Windhoek. The roads were very bad though so I would allow... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Campers need to check that the restaurant is available to them."
Read review
"Definitely ask for a chalet rather than a tent. It isn't much more expensive and so much nicer!"
Read review
"ask for the campsite on the hill (Eagle Camp) has great view"
Read review
"Don't be expecting 5 star luxury hotel rooms, these are fantastic well equipped tents that offer you..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing