We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rivendell Guest House

Traveller (133)
Room & Suite (87)
Video
Certificate of Excellence
Overview
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000 Namibia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Family Rooms
2.5 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit hotel website
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
166
124
34
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
166
124
34
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house shared bathroom kitchen facilities one night a hot water bottle honesty bar pleasant atmosphere first night nice pool swimming pool common areas living room other guests tour company place to stay home away from home yogurt
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay was a spur of the moment decision requiring one nights accommodation as it was getting dark. We saw the sign and stopped. At the time they were closed but were nice enough to open and offer us accommodation at a good rate. We...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Fatima I
Response from David C, Owner at Rivendell Guest HouseResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you had such a good time staying with us. We hope to welcome you and your family again sometime in the future.

Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

The perfect place to stay overnight in Windhoek- the place was clean and the facilities plenty. Great communal spaces which make it feel more like a home than a guest house. Great local and environmental initiatives too. Friendly staff and good recommendations. A peaceful and...More

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Lucie V
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We needed a place to stay in Windhoek for 1 night after a 2 stop long haul flight. For roughly £70 for two of us, we got a super large double room with en suite bathroom and a precision cooked excellent breakfast. The best thing...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank doctormilne
Reviewed November 30, 2018 via mobile

Rivendell is a special guesthouse. You walk in and they give you all the rules and most information they can. Then you learn the wifi is turned off between 10pm and 7am. The facilities are really good, we stayed in room 1 and were not...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank carolinaparaujo
Response from David C, Owner at Rivendell Guest HouseResponded December 10, 2018

Good day Carolina Thank you for your review and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As to the note about the Wifi I'd like to elaborate. Unfortunately we have a fair use policy in Namibia even on unlimited internet...More

Reviewed October 19, 2018

I was booked into the Rivendell Guesthouse by my tour company for one night, and boy was I surprised by the quality of the guesthouse! Not only were the staff competent and friendly who showed me around, the kitchen was well-stocked with complimentary drinks and...More

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank funkycherrycola
Response from David C, Manager at Rivendell Guest HouseResponded October 24, 2018

Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you had such a good time staying with us. We hope to welcome you and your friends again sometime in the future. Kind Regards Ciska & the team

View more reviews
About
Description
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable More travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
12
Price range
US$42 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek
Location
Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
12
Price range
US$42 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek
Location
Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Photos
Traveller (133)
Room & Suite (87)
Pool & Beach (29)
Dining (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 nearby hotels
Protea Hotel Windhoek Furstenhof
86 reviews
.64 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
630 reviews
1.36 km away
Hilton Windhoek
1,642 reviews
1.54 km away
Hotel Pension Uhland
216 reviews
1.67 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 160 nearby restaurants
Nice Restaurant & Bar
461 reviews
.78 km away
Garnish Restaurant
145 reviews
1.48 km away
La Marmite Royale
135 reviews
1.25 km away
Cramer Ice Cream & Frozen Yoghurt
38 reviews
1.34 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 113 nearby attractions
Namibia Craft Centre
277 reviews
1.52 km away
Christuskirche
604 reviews
1.58 km away
Trans-Namib Railroad Museum
89 reviews
.97 km away
Parliament Gardens
74 reviews
1.60 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Avni S
April 18, 2015|
Answer
Response from Onno Z | Reviewed this property |
I don't know, but would ask 'Rivendell'; they know or can daily find out
0
Votes
Adventure558102
January 14, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from David C | Property representative |
Hi, Rivendell is around 2.5km from the NHTC, about a 5 minute drive. I would say it's a bit too far to walk, especially as the route crosses a few major roads.
1
Vote
Ros B
November 4, 2014|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David C | Property representative |
Hi Ros, Rivendell is 44km from the International A/P, and as noted below, about a 45 minute drive. We work with a local airport transfer company who will charge you N$250 for a single person, or N$150 pp sharing. Ciska our... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Visit the guest house website for excellent pictures of the different rooms"
hff88888
Jun. 3, 2018
Read review
"Best rooms are rooms 1-4 by the pool"
Timspaff
May 9, 2018
Read review
"Our room was near reception so dont know if the wifi reached to the other rooms"
Lisajfraser
May 24, 2017
Read review
"Do not take the self catering unit if you are a family - it gets way too cramped"
LOFT12
May 22, 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing