We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rivendell Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Rivendell Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 292: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were here only very briefly, but thought it was a nice place with friendly staff. We preferred the single with its own bathroom (very spacious) but the shared bathroom is fine as well. Thanks for the pleasant stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian A
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family stayed here on the 28th December in 2 outside rooms. The rooms were both dirty, the sheets and pillows had marks on them, there are no fly screens and you cannot open the doors as the rooms face an outside walk way for other patrons, the outside lights were on all night making it impossible to sleep. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a well run guest house with excellent service, a great breakfast and a really handy open kitchen. Wifi only works in some of the communal areas annoyingly. Stayed here twice, the outside private rooms are nice but I found those with shared bathrooms inside the main house rather musty. Good option for the city if you're not looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

there is nothing negative to say, I can recommend this place without any restriction. Breakfast is excellent, beautiful veranda, helpful people, everything ist very well maintained. Footwalk to city center takes 12 minutes and is safe during daytime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Axl969
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice guest house in a central location in windhoek. the friendly staff helps you with all your concerns to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Also the opportunity to get a big and tasty breakfast for only 90 NAD (around 6€) - I would definitely come here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bakerjoe89
Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is construction going on next to this hotel and the noise never stops. From 7am to 7pm and it will continue for over a year. You can't hear what the person sitting next to you is saying. The rooms are dirty, dusty. The beds are horrible. The staff is not that friendly and there was confusion about what was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldview2016
David C, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We assume that you are the family who did not seem happy from the moment you arrived with us, and the same family whom we refunded in full via your agent in South Africa? Assuming that we are correct, let...

Wettingen, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed twice at Rivendell: the first and the last night. In our first night we were given the "flat" which is a quite big room with aircon. For the second night we stayed in room 1 right by the pool. No aircon, just one fan. It was above 35 degrees that day in Windhoek and our room was super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimoneZuerich
David C, Owner at Rivendell Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review! Just to let you know that we should hopefully be fitting air-con in our en-suite rooms this year. We're just looking into the practicalities of this fitting in with our existing electrical system. All the best and thanks again, Charlotte

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had stayed at Rivendell about six times during the last four years on our travels in Namibia and even enroute beyond this beautiful country .The last time being in Aug 16 . During all our stays we stayed in various of their rooms , and never anything was wrong and we cannot say anything negative about this guesthouse ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AHSchilling
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This guesthouse is about twenty minutes walk from the city. Its rooms were very pleasant some overlooking the swimming pool at the back of the property. Reception is open early to late, The staff are very friendly helpful and informative. You can pay for a breakfast which I had a couple of the days and it was very nice. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daragh C
Tomsk, Russia
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I stayed twice in this guesthouse and was very satisfied with service. It's not on busy street, so location is very quiet. Breakfast are nice, rooms are clean. Comfortable place to spend a night before leaving for desert adventure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EvgenySiberia

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.7 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,173 reviews
5.5 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
195 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
2.0 km away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#2 of 94 in Windhoek
178 reviews
2.1 km away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rivendell is a small, old style house located in a quiet neighbourhood. We offer our guests a real home from home with friendly managers on site from 7am until 10pm, a night security guard, and knowledgeable travel company staff on hand to help you to plan your holiday in Namibia, or neighbouring countries. We offer our guests fully equipped self-catering facilities or the option of bed & breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: 40 Beethoven Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Price Range: $49 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Hotel Windhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rivendell Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rivendell Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles worldview2016, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room with pool view the nicest.”
 of 5 bubbles DaraghC479, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Budget prices for luxury rooms, so you can afford to go nice with en suite in room ;)”
 of 5 bubbles dominiquer605, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Double rooms with en suites facilities on the patio facing the pool are the best!”
 of 5 bubbles dainajasmine, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Good location, just a block away from the city centre and business district”
 of 5 bubbles msafirin, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay