We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino

CancelonUS$117*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$137*
US$117*
Great Deal
US$135*
US$135*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 266: English reviews
Start your review of AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
 Click to rate
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Thanks to the Hilton in Windhoek refusing to address their non existent wifi, or even acknowledging the problem, I moved to this hotel with 3 colleagues. Excellent staff, can do attitude, very comfortable bed, wifi that works!!!, and a good and honest restaurant. I plan 15 visits a year in the next 12 months and will be staying here in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg49
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

my stay was over a long period, 2/3 months. the staff have always been friendly and helpful. avani is centrally located which allows guest easy access to explore Windhoek. Anna and Ndenove have always been friendly faces at reception! I look forward to seeing them and have a quick chat. they are an outstanding part of the amazing Avani staff!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank okseleke
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I received great hospitality and quality service at Avani Windhoek. The staff is friendly and always ready to assist. The guest rooms are large and with modern finishes. Beautiful views are an order of each day ! Bravo!!

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahlogonolom
Management response:

Dear mahlogonolom, Thank you for your review, it is with pleasure that we read that you have had an exceptional experience at our hotel. We always strive to do our utmost best to ensure that our guests receive the best product and service. We do hope that you will choose to stay with again on your next visit. Sincerely, Management

San Carlos, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived and found the hotel didn't have our reservation which was booked through Expedia.com. We had also pre-paid the hotel as if we hadn't we would have stayed at another property. The hotel required proof we paid, proof of our booking, and took over 45 minutes to check us in. In the meantime we went to the Sunday lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melcalbear2000
Rudie P, General Manager at AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the review. We appreciate guest feedback and greatly value your opinion on your experience. Please accept my most humble apology for the delay in check-in. We were unfortunately unable to trace the booking online an a manual confirmation was required to resolve the problem. I am exited to advise that we are planning some changes to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room and amenities were very comfortable although it was showing its age. Great central location. The staff were very good particularly those on the front desk - had a bit of a "roobery" incident when I parked my car on arrival and the staff went above and beyond to assist.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pacman1959
Rudie P, General Manager at AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the review of Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino. We greatly value your feedback and we are delighted to have been able to assist you with the unfortunate incident. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Rudie Putter General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had dinner with friends at the Avani 's Dunes restaurant the food was cold and below par from the starter since they only offer a Buffet the selection was limited with soup cold on a cold evening to make matters worse it wasnt only the Soup but all the food was cold not sure if their beinmarries are working but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LusalePro
Rudie P, General Manager at AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the review posted. I looked into the complaint raised and we detected a malfunction in the heating lamps and induction unit at the hot food section of the buffet. We have placed an order for replacements and made alternative arrangements for the interim until the unit can be restored to full functionality. I do apologize for...

Abuja, Nigeria
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel with an excellent team that could make one forget to return home. The response of the team to inquiries and issues is tremendous. Its noteworthy from inquiries that the hotel was built in1972 or there about. Keep up the legacy

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank razaqgarba
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at our hotel. It is with great pleasure that we read your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed the hotel and its history, we sure hope that you will return again on your next visit to Namibia's Capital City. Sincerely, Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately the hotel felt unorganised and overwhelmed. I understand that it is a busy time of year for them, but we couldn't eat dinner in the restaurant because they were full, so the only option was to get room service. It took me almost an hour to place an order for room service. Then the person who was responsible for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
Rudie P, General Manager at AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the review of your stay at Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino. I do apologize for the fact that we were unable to accommodate you in the restaurant. We do offer the option during check-in to make dinner reservations for guests and that is highly recommended during busy times in order for us to anticipate your presence...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this Hotel. Situated in the heart of Windhoek, it is located in the middle of a shopping centre which is useful with a Supermarket Chemist and other shops on your door step. With regards to the Hotel itself, it is one of those situations where nothing is bad, but nothing is outstanding either. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
Rudie P, General Manager at AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my apology for the shower head malfunction the less than expected service levels in the restaurant. Your feedback has been discussed with service staff to ensure improvement in this regard. I am excited to share with you that the hotel is indeed planning some upgrades in the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I traveled to Namibia for my daughter wedding and stayed with the Avani Windhoek Hotels. The welcome was extremely over the moon as we arrived,Hilya served us some juice, some brownish chocolates(very delicious) and as we checked in and settled well. The restaurant and a variety of food and very tasty. I feel at home being in Namibia fro the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mussa L
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are glad that we have met our guest standards. Thank you for choosing AVANI Windhoek Hotel and Casino, your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we will use it to continue improving on our product and service levels. Sincerely Management

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.2 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,283 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
201 reviews
4.7 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
351 reviews
5.6 km away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Windhoek Furstenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the hub of the city center. The newly re-branded AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino offers you a place to pursue both business and pleasure. All rooms are decorated to blend into their earthy surroundings and there's only one aspiration: to give you an unparalleled hospitality experience. So wherever you're coming from and wherever you're going, let the AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino in Windhoek be your first port of call. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino

Address: 129 Independent Ave, Windhoek 9000, Namibia (Formerly Kalahari Sands Hotel & Casino)
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Price Range: $162 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Sands Hotel Windhoek
Kalahari Sands Hotel And Casino
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#2 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great Food, Excellent welcome”
mussal2017, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“8th floor, south wing offer a splendid view of the city”
nelsonz899, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms on top floor have a great view”
marcellg2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Enjoyed the Namibian sunrise and sunsets - get a room with an East or West view.”
, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher up in the hotel: better view - east (or North) facing rooms have the best views of city architecture.”
GustavGous, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$117* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$135
Hotels.comUS$135
Booking.comUS$137
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates