We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brackenhill Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mbabane
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Brackenhill Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Brackenhill Lodge
 Click to rate
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night with my wife and two young children (7 and nearly 5) on our drive from Ngala Game Reserve to Phinda Game Reserve. The options in Swaziland are limited and this is not a terrible choice and has the potential to be a great choice. Property is close to central Mbabane and is set in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SwissScrivs
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Just came back from a weekend at Brackenhill, located in an upscale neighbourhood on the hilly outskirts of Mbabane. Overall impression was very good. Our family room was spacious and had a kitchenette which we didn't use though. Decor was a tasteful mix of modern style and more local traditional details. Beds very short though, and I'm only slightly above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohnomishe
Hillcrest, South Africa
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Just had another super stay at Brackenhill Lodge. They are doing major renovations but despite this their service is still excellent. And of course it's still the beautiful, peaceful place to stay. There is a golf course close by. 5*

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Gugulethu S, Manager at Brackenhill Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jane, It was lovely meeting you and thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Brackenhill once again and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Brackenhill Team

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016

I stayed here with my two teenagers for two nights in April. We booked two rooms and they were so big we actually only used one of them. The bedrooms are comfortable and the bathrooms were a good size with a small bath and a shower. There was a TV, tea and coffee facilities and a small selection of mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathymono
Gugulethu S, Manager at Brackenhill Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kathy, Thank you for the review. We enjoyed having you and your daughters here and hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Brackenhill Team

Sommieres, France
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

We were 2 couples travelling in South Africa and Swaziland. The guesthouse is perfectly situated with fantastic views. Our rooms were spacious with little terraces in front of them. We had a nice homemade dinner upon arrival and a very nice breakfast the following morning. Only slight minus were the works to enlarge, but the manager very kindly gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lillisan115
Gugulethu S, Manager at Brackenhill Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We really appreciate it. Again we apologise for the little mess you found. We hope to see you again in the near future and by then hopefully our renovations will be complete. Keep well. Kind regards Brackenhill Team.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Serene setting, relaxing, great pool area. Need more tennis balls for tennis court! Gugu (manager) very helpful with things to do and information. Beds could be more comfy. Breakfast great and tasty, but get there early to get the home made scones as they go quickly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank levylaz5
Amanda A, Manager at Brackenhill Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We really appreciate all the feedback. We have started with our renovations, so next time you come all will be improved, including the quantity of the homemade scones. Looking forward to seeing you again. Kind regards.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Had high hopes based on other reviews. Not sure we stayed at the same place. The setting was beautiful. And that's about it. 1) staff: They are indifferent and frankly, not good at their job. The cook can't prepare coffee if his life depended on it, and doesn't care if you complain about it. The assistant will ask if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CocoCoucou
Amanda A, Manager at Brackenhill Lodge, responded to this review

We are currently refurbishing every single room in the B&B. Because of the drought we are very short of water so we cannot empty the swimming pool till the rains come but we realize that it needs fixing. It was sanded down and painted but the iron in the water has discoloured the walls. The water is clean but it...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We stayed at the lodge for three days at the end of september, and it was a fantastic place to stay in Swaziland. The owners and staff are very friendly, the rooms are very good and the lovely quiet garden and swimming pool are a nice place to sit and relax. Would recommend it to everyone

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shout2015
Amanda A, Manager at Brackenhill Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards Brackenhill Team

Exeter
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Close to Mbabane but it feels as though you are in the country. Comfortable , always hot water, food excellent. Owners helped us with our plans for the rest of our Swaziland trip could not have done it without them, staff helpful with a smile. Great walks and scenery.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TopshamExeter
Amanda A, Manager at Brackenhill Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards from all at Brackenhill

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 June 2015

After staying at the lodge the first time 2 years ago, i just had to go back...and my oh my, it was even better then the first time! The service you get from arriving to leaving which starts with Amanda, the very helpful and amazing admin lady, to the catering and housekeeping staff! just wonderful....the owners of the lodge even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricky B
Amanda A, Manager at Brackenhill Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Ricky, Thank you for your complimentary remarks, once again you were the perfect guest! We look forward to welcoming you back to Brackenhill Lodge sometime in the near future. Travel Safely. Kind Regards Amanda, Leon and Frances.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbabane
15.7 km away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
673 reviews
4.2 km away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
304 reviews
21.0 km away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
266 reviews
2.4 km away
Silverstone Falls Lodge
Silverstone Falls Lodge
#2 of 14 in Mbabane
58 reviews
2.9 km away
Ematjeni Guesthouse
Ematjeni Guesthouse
#1 of 14 in Mbabane
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Brackenhill Lodge

Address: Mountain Drive | off Fonteyn Road, Mbabane, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Mbabane
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brackenhill Lodge Swaziland/Mbabane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brackenhill Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Brackenhill Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Their family room only sleeps three”
SwissScrivs, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Larger rooms up by the dam have a great view and suit a family group.”
kathymono, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms close to the swimming pool is excellent when available!”
RickyB657, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
“If you care about Wi-Fi in your room, ask for one of the rooms near the dining room. Wi-Fi was free.”
BARBARAChicago, 17 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Rooms 2 and 3 pick up the wi-fi, but are closer to the dining room so may be a bit noisier depending on how many other guests there are. Some rooms have only twin beds, make sure to ask for a double bed if you are more than 5.7ft”
MafaldaP_13, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5