We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Speke Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Speke Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 290: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Came here on business based on TA reviews and recommendation of a colleague. I will admit that I don't have another hotel in Kampala to compare my stay to, but I've been elsewhere in East Africa and the Speke is unfortunately just an average hotel. The hotel property is in a very convenient part of town, but it's also on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark H
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The only good thing about Speke hotel in Kampala is the location. The rest is just bad- awful breakfast and old rooms with tiny beds. Had been booked with my work colleagues at the hotel and spent 2 nights. We tried to pay the first night but the credit card could not run. We later paid but the following day,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patrick M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second review of this hotel. When i returned back to this hotel in November. I found speke hotel more comfortable and better. The best part of this hotel is, its management and staff. Their real showcase of hospitality makes you come back to them. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Internet was superb. Italian and continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sapna D
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Sapna, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback and for recommending Speke Hotel! We are so pleased to note that you have been having an enjoyable event whenever you return back to us. Speke Hotel offers an unforgettable experience to all our guests. Your kind words of appreciation about our hotel...

Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not sure why this hotel is rated so highly. In the description it calls it one if Kampalas oldest hotels -it shows! The rooms are sparse, well worn and old fashioned. I've been travelling in Africa for 25 years and this was an acceptable standard 10-15 years ago but we can do better now. My room was almost clean....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank solar_uk
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Solar, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. It is disheartening to know that we did not meet your expectations in regard of facilities and services. We wish to assure you that what you experienced is not typical of the usual high standards that we always endeavor to deliver. Sir our...

Reviewed 5 December 2016

It is an old ancient building with beautiful rooms made in the ancient way. When we were booking the hotel on the surface we liked it but did not book it and went for another hotel, unfortunately we did not get reservation over there once we reached Kampala and i called the staff over there and he said you welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niti J
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Niti, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your review and we are glad that the hospitality showcased by the staff delighted you and added on to your lodging experience. Such reviews further motivate us to benchmark Speke Hotel. We'd like to thank you again for...

Reviewed 1 December 2016

It's not a hotel I will likely remember in a few months. There is nothing wrong with it, just nothing special either. It's a good hotel for a night before you head out of Kampala or if you're on a business trip (although the hotel doesn't feel like a business type accomodation). The hotel manager arranged a private driver for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bartosz K
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Bartos, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. It is disheartening to know that we did not meet your expectations in regard of facilities and services. We do arrange rental cars for our guests, when the request is received minimum 24 hours in advance during weekends. We wish to assure you...

Noida, India
Reviewed 27 November 2016

it's one of the oldest property still maintaining the look & warmth of it's times. The rooms & property in all is well appointed & spacious. The two best things to talk about is the incredible food & staff. Each staff member was so warm to welcome & take care of all our needs. The restaurants (there are three) each...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinki_16
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Pinki, Warm Greetings from Speke Hotel! Many thanks for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us in this forum. We are delighted to read your shining review of our hotel. We are a preferred choice for business and leisure travellers around the world and your acknowledgement of the same pleases us. I am happy to read...

St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Reviewed 27 November 2016

The rooms are clean, well appointed and relatively spacious. The service is both friendly and effective. The restaurants (there are three) each have their own speciality (Indian, Italian and "continental"). The pizzas and pasta in the Italian restaurant are excellent, although the pasta portion if a main course (Spaghetti Aglio Olio Peperonciino – fully flavoured, just not enough!) is too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank igbg
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for being our guests and giving us the opportunity to be of service to you. We are delighted to read your positive review of our hotel. We are a preferred choice for business and leisure travelers and your acknowledgement of the same pleases us. It is heartening to know that you had a good time...

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel has Incredible staff, comfortable huge beautiful rooms, great assortment of restaurants, serving Delicious food. It's A pleasure spending my days here while during long periods while working in Kampala. Thanks guys

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Alex, Thank you for staying with us at Speke Hotel and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are honored that the hospitality showcased by the staff delighted you and added on to your lodging experience. My young team works tirelessly to ensure our guest stays’ are magical and memorable and it’s a sincere pleasure to know that we met...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Whilst this is a solid hotel and was probably quite nice 30 to 40 years ago, it has seen its best days. The rooms are small and musty. Bathrooms are horrible, and the staff very indifferent. Breakfast was acceptable and the m als in the restaurant OK.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rob_DM
Bhupendrakumar, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rob, Many thanks for staying with us at Speke Hotel Kampala and reviewing us on this forum. It is disheartening to know that we did not meet your expectations in regard of facilities and service. We wish to assure you that what you experienced is not typical of the usual high standards that we always endeavor to deliver....

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
4.3 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 93 in Kampala
178 reviews
0.6 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 93 in Kampala
592 reviews
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 93 in Kampala
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#12 of 93 in Kampala
232 reviews
0.2 km away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#15 of 93 in Kampala
575 reviews
14.4 km away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#14 of 93 in Kampala
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
Khyber Pass
Khyber Pass
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Rock Garden Cafe
Rock Garden Cafe
Cuisines: French, Mongolian, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: $175 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Speke Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Speke Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See my review above for comments about room selection”
 of 5 bubbles Mark_Horn_CA, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I don't believe that the are any good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Rob_DM, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get room nearest to reception area on first floor to avoid noise coming from Bar”
 of 5 bubbles Akhileshjoshi, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from the road for less noise”
 of 5 bubbles IBscubaboy, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not facing the main road”
 of 5 bubbles Blampied, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay