We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Silver Home

Show Prices
#40 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Silver Home
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Silver Home
See the most recent reviews
Showing 575: English reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2014

I arrived here in August and was going to stay in Nepal for three months. I think i stayed in this hotel for more then a month in altogether. Sometime when i come back from pokhara or somr other city they were full but they find a place for me in another hotel. I really like this place and will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindsayleelee
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your time to written review of Hotel Silver Home, It was a pleasure to have you in Silver home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for our guests; the satisfaction of our guest is our motto. We hope to welcome you...

Reviewed 6 November 2014

This is really awesome hotel with a great friendly staff. Hotel is at great location and also have beautiful garden. Then got plenty of hot water and good wifi. They also have free internet computer in lobby which is great for all the guest I think. This hotel is recommended to everybody.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xiaoyuka
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Xiaoyuka On behalf of our Hotel Management Team, we would like to express our sincere gratitude, and showers of thankfulness for your review. honest reviews, like this, help us move on, and continue working hard, in order to meet , or reach beyond the expectations of our valuable guests. Thanking you, Hotel Silver Home, Management Team

new iberia
Reviewed 5 November 2014 via mobile

I have to be honest, I love the staff. Very helpful and when there was a problem they would promptly tend to it. Breakfast was filling and very good! Not a top hotel but the price and the staff make up for anything you have to complain about. Trustworthy

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marcylandry27
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Marcy It is with great pleasure knowing that you are full of praises for the Hotel Silver Home, in particular with the good service standard. We are humbled by your good feedback and will continually endeavor for higher hospitality standards. We hope to be your preferred hotel and look forward to having you back for another enjoyable stay. Kind...

Warszawa
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Very kind, friendly and helpful staff. They provide you with free airport pick up if you stay a bit longer. The location of the hotel is great, just in the middle of Thamel. Not noisy, clean rooms, hot water and good wi- fi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malgorzata O
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Malgorzata A round for applause for the valuable time you spent to write an honest and meaningful review. The positive comments you made about this hotel really filled us with a sense of motivation, and desire to grow our services more and more. We are highly delighted to meet your expectations as a hotel. Along with being a hotel,...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of August/beginning of September. We were in room 303, which if you get offered you should refuse. The room was dark, dingy and constantly smelled a bit musty no matter how much we tried to air the room. There was also a big hole in the bathroom wall which was rather...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank loving_my_holidyas
Reviewed 2 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights when we arrived to Kathmandu. We booked one triple room. Rooms are correct and clean but so simple. Bathrooms are poor, not clean, not so hot water, and no much water on shower. Breaksfast was always the same, without chance to change it. Staff was helpful and nice and the best is the good location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amelie-le-Desert
thinair85, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review and sharing your opinion of silver home with us though you haven't stayed with us. Lets talk about the room first. Our triple room is one of the best room we have and still we are selling it in a basic price. The thing you have...

Dharamsala, India
Reviewed 25 October 2014

I've come to rely on Hotel Silver Home on my trips to Kathmandu because they make everything very easy, year after year. I've written reviews about them before and I don't have much to add, but I'll say this: If you're a budget traveler heading to Kathmandu, this is an excellent choice. A fine example of Nepali hospitality!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Konchok
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Konchok We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay. We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest. Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 25 October 2014

An all the chaos of Thamel city offers different types but hotel silver make me good impressive on my first arrival check in at the hotel with friendly people and warm feeling. They are located on little back alley from Main Street which most important away from noisy street Thamel. I think they are excellent hosts in town according their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilly T
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay. Our team at Silver Home are delighted that we have made a difference to your stay with our warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest. Our guest's satisfaction...

Reviewed 25 October 2014

This is the surprsingly awesome hotel which is best place to stay with garden view and sunny I really exceeded my expectation silver home is a right choice for travelers with friendly and helpfull staff,parking and garden,clean rooms,confortable beds, free wifi ,cable,24 hour hot water,24 hour service ,loundry service for guest,good sucurity ,staffs are knowledgeble about surrounding,places to eat have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amily120
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest It is with great pleasure knowing that you are full of praises for the Hotel Silver Home, in particular with the good service standard. We are humbled by your good feedback and will continually endeavor for higher hospitality standards. We hope to be your preferred hotel and look forward to having you back for another enjoyable stay....

Reviewed 24 October 2014

Been here on first of October and again I have been recently got back after long trip from base camp trekking stayed few nights. Cheap price and enough clean room with wi fi and hot shower. They are centrally located back alley of of Thamel street which most important for peace and quite for budget backpackers. They hotel staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimloopdrag
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your time given to write about our hotel silver home and we appreciate your thought. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest at silver home. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectation and that make us more comfortable as well. Now we can hope whenever you come...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 193 in Kathmandu
560 reviews
0.4 km away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.2 km away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#64 of 193 in Kathmandu
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
382 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#56 of 193 in Kathmandu
165 reviews
0.0 km away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $13 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Silver Home staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon
over a year ago
1 month ago
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Silver Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe rooms have a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles fuhrmannlucas, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Garden view rooms less noisy at night (only dog barking then vs. night club)”
 of 5 bubbles allswell20012016, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose a rom above the lobby for best wifi connectivity”
 of 5 bubbles 228mikau, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Try to book a room on the side facing the street.”
 of 5 bubbles susan11632016, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take the dorms but for christs sake have them clean it once in a while”
 of 5 bubbles sebastianmagnuss2016, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5