We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Happily Ever After Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Happily Ever After Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 200: English reviews
Start your review of The Happily Ever After Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here in a double room. For the price paid, the facilities offered were very good. The room was basic but good enough if you only use it to crash at night. The bed, linen and blankets were clean. The wifi was very slow at times but mostly usable. Hot water was available in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anirban B
TheHappilyEverAfter, Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Anirban B, It is our pleasure that we had the great opportunity to provide you our services. We feel very glad and excited that we had added one more valuable customer in our satisfied customer list. We are any time ready to provide our full effort to make our customer happy. You are heartily welcome next time in our...

Reviewed 22 December 2016

The rooms and bathrooms are really basic but I think it is a good deal for this price. My main drawbacks are the poor WiFi and that the kitchen is mostly for the staff and included breakfast and is very dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
TheHappilyEverAfter, Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Diane G, Thanks for your review. we will do better in future . Appreciated your Thought.

Reviewed 9 December 2016

I really can say that i spent only 2 days and there is not a common place for the people, i was there in winter and was extremely cold, summer for sure is better, but is close to everything, but if i go back to kathmandu i will prefer to go somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pelopinchazo
TheHappilyEverAfter, General Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Pelopinchazo, Greeting from Happily Ever After Hostel, I 'm sure you did not stay at our hostel because it doesn't fit your review and our property Amenities or you did not see our Lobby and Roof top terrace where we served our daily breakfast. Only They know us who has visited us then they will see we have communal...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

I loved staying at the Happily Ever After. For the price the value cannot be beat. There are more expensive hostels in the area, but what makes the Happily Ever After worth the stay is the great staff. The owner, Ghan, is actively dedicated to ensure each guest is satisfied with his or her stay. Ghan helped me book a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank junior_lin87
TheHappilyEverAfter, General Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review

Namaste from Nepal! We are glad to know that we were able to meet your expectations regarding our services including accommodation. We hope to see you or your friends again in Kathmandu, and assure you of nothing less than what you experienced during your last stay at happily ever after. see you soon. Hostel Management Team.

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Staff is really unfriendly, that's the main issue. It's dirty place, no water or light in the Dormitory. For breakfast is one egg and toast. If You don't eat egg You get two pieces of plain toast. Overall feeling was after two days i wanted to leave. Not recommendation. You will find cheaper and more cozy places all around

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perseweracja
TheHappilyEverAfter, Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review

Dear perseweracja, Thank you very much for your review on this platform. we are not only running business we are team of Knowledge And helping stranger Travellers in Nepal such as stay on our property and traveling alone around Nepal. How can you write and rating us as a poor point ? I have been seriously writing we are cheap...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

This is one of the cheapest places to stay in Thamel and the rates even include breakfast on the petite roof terrace - tea or coffee, a slice of toast and an omlette! The rooms are fairly clean as are the shared bathrooms, which had a sit down loo and hot water most of the time. We had a dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
TheHappilyEverAfter, General Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greeting from Happily Ever After Hostel, Kathmandu,Nepal! Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share your experience about Happily Ever After hostel. We are glad to know that we were able to meet your expectations regarding our services including accommodation. We hope to see you or your friends again in Kathmandu, and assure you of...

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

At first i was shocked when i move from my hotel before to this hostel, because there were a lot of backpackers there and it seems quite crowded. But, i was told that they were just a bunch of trekking group that finished their ABC trek and just waiting for their time to go to the airport. Overall, I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
TheHappilyEverAfter, General Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review

Dear David S, Thank you so much for your experienced review wid us. it was very busy time in Nepal while you were at Happily Ever After Hostel, you should know one things Oct & Nov is high season in Nepal most be very busy everywhere else in Kathmandu not only us. I don't understand what you wanted to mention...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This hostel is great for solo traveler and groups on a budget. It's clean, hot showers and maybe a breakfast in it if your up early enough with a smile! The staff are lovely and easy going. Beds are comfortable and warm and can be a good place to meet people too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
TheHappilyEverAfter, Front Office Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you very much for your great feedback of our property our happiness knows no bound when we saw your review as well as our staff preference. we are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us and we really like to thank you for stayed at Happily Ever After Hostel...

North Wales
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We left this place with it feeling like a second home. Honestly nearly shed a tear when i left. Upon arrival at the hostel we thought 'what on earth is this place.. dodgey as'. The hostel is down and alley and opposite a large carpark on the edge of thamel. We arrived super jet lagged and were given breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthWalesAlice
TheHappilyEverAfter, Director of Sales at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind words and encouragements.We are very grateful for your review.It is a great feeling for us to know that our guests have been satisfied and happy with us. This is our passion, something we do from our heart .We will do our best to make our services and facilities even better then...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I'm very surprised with the good review this hostel have. We stayed there only for a night in a double room. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but decided to leave and to stay at the place right next to it, much nicer and cheaper (!!!). Although we paid 600RS on hostel world, the manager wouldn't credited this amount,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryseLefebvre1
TheHappilyEverAfter, General Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your Comment and such a fake Complain!! I would like to inform to Our dearest future Clients this couple had Great time wid us this is sure, I was there personally That day even i did cash them, It was about they wanted to go their friends home and they have changed the...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.3 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 190 in Kathmandu
581 reviews
0.9 km away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
3.0 km away
The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
0.5 km away
Elbrus Home
Elbrus Home
#4 of 113 in Kathmandu
339 reviews
0.9 km away
Hostel Fireflies
Hostel Fireflies
#8 of 113 in Kathmandu
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Happily Ever After Hostel, the name that itself defines "Your Home in Nepal for Pleasurable Stay" is committed to serve best frankly service with reasonable price for Backpackers, families, business travelers, groups and individuals to an enjoyable peaceful stay in Thamel, Kathmandu. The Happily Ever After Hostel, located in the heart of Thamel, situated twenty minutes drive from the airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Happily Ever After Hostel

Address: Thamel Road | Thamel, Kathmandu 7265, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $13 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Happily Ever After Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Happily Ever After Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Happily Ever After Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Happily Ever After Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a cheaper price, ask not to have included breakfast and pay less”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Keep searching dont just dall how looks from the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles Pelopinchazo, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are similar”
 of 5 bubbles NorthWalesAlice, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can recommend kitchen floor”
 of 5 bubbles iwanx, 11 May 2015 | Read review
“Everyone who need good place to sleep for little money should choose this hostel”
 of 5 bubbles L6860TUchrisk, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5