We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Moonlight

Agoda.comUS$42*
View Deal
#48 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$52*
US$42*
Great Deal
US$43*
US$52*
US$42*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Moonlight
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 132: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Moonlight
 Click to rate
Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were fortunate to get an upgrade to a small suite, as we were travelling as a family of three. An extra bed was added promptly. Staff was very helpful and professional. Breakfast was great. We enjoyed the pleasant and quiet garden area - a great retreat after the busy streets in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreiumdiewelt
moonlight001, Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear dreium, Namaste! Thank you very much for your lovely review on our Hotel. We are glad you had a lovely stay with us. We are honored to be found helpful and professional by you. Thank you again for discovering things around. We will look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Moonlight. Have a good time! With Best Regards' Dev...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location brilliant, hotel staff friendly (assisted with late checkout ) breakfast and restaurant staff great.Room clean. Easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Great wifi. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
moonlight001, Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Deb P, Namaste! Its a great honor to have an excellent review in our Hotel with the essence of your experiences and great stay. We thank you for you kind effort for making us excellent. We would love to see you again and wish you good day! With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi

India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love this place.... Just at a walk of 2mins from main Thamel market. I like everything about this hotel... They have a lovely peaceful garden area, coffee counter, bar, lovely restaurant that serves delicious food(serving is a bit slow though if restaurant is busy) n prices are moderate. U get what u pay for I would say, and in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sana j
moonlight001, Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Sana, Namaste! Thank you so much for your great review on our Hotel. We are honored by your words and discovery around. We are really honored by your patience during our busy hours for your order to be delivered. We are happy with your satisfaction being addressed with the price being paid. We will look forward to welcoming you...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is located in the center city closed to everything. The service has been perfect from the begining to the end of our stay. The employees are very nice and helpful. Rooms are quite big and very confortable with everything. The breakfast is good! We definitely recommend this olace!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenz S
moonlight001, Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Kenz, Namaste! We are greatly honored with you excellent experience with us at Hotel Moonlight, thank you for finding us perfect through out your stay. All of us are encouraged with your kind words and recommendation. We will love to see you again. I wish you great days ahead! With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi Hotel Moonlight

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for 3 nights in April this year. It really is a very nice hotel, the foyer, lobby, garden and restaurant are very well presented. Lovely friendly staff (particularly Uttam who went out of his way to make us feel very welcome). The hotel even gave us a free welcome dinner and set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
moonlight001, Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Greg, Namaste! Thank you very much for your great review experience in our Hotel. We are glad for your concern you brought to us about the issue of bathroom. Let me inform you, we are in hurry to implant the shower curtain in all of our rooms but due to the peak season and time consuming procedure we cannot...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best place to stay and no limitation on what they will do for you. Any help needed and more were given freely with a smile. Trekking and getting familiar with Nepalese culture was a very pleasant experience because of their continuous support. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a fresh variety of more than expected. On my last day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anneke B
moonlight001, Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Hey Anneke, Namaste! I definitely know you are doing well. Every thing is great with us here, things are going well but we are being loved by rain often. Thank you very much for your great review on our Hotel. We are really honored to be described on your way you felt here. Me and every of us are so...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband had just checked in after a long haul flight, we loved the garden and decided to have some thing there. We ordered a Cappuccino and a Americano with a personnel named Bshnu, after a while he came and clean our table. We waited for several minutes, half an hour passed but nobody appeared, we decided to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabine89H
moonlight001, Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Sabine, Namaste! At first thank you very much for bringing us your concern about the greatest fault in our service and extremely sorry for your worst experience with us. We are very shameful to our service that had been given 5 out of 5 by our guests but there are still things left to maintain and improve in our...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have no complain about this hotel but only the drawback is they do not have lift but it's under construction. The service of the hotel is 10 out of 10. The staffs are very professional and friendly. I took their SPA it was the greatest experience I have ever had. The only complain I have about my Kathmandu visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you beautiful review Deepak. We are glad with your words. Thanks for having a pleasant stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel Moonlight. I wish you great time ahead! With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After staying three nights at this most friendly and peaceful hotel I had a great experience on its SPA, well done Moonlight and I can see that it's reflecting on its full occupancy! Had a chance to have a coffee with Uttam, who runs this place, what a kind person he is and the social supports the hotel does is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalyani P
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Thank you Kalyani, for you great review on our Hotel. We are happy to know you had a great experience with us here. Like you told, we are running with full occupancy and speed without any compromise in our service and hospitality. You and every of our guests are responsible for this outcome we are achieving. Good to know you...

Lincolnshire
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

All the staff were friendly & very helpful at all times. The room was good, the only downside was that when we had a shower, the poor design caused the wet room floor to flood, which was then very slippery. The location is great for the Thamel. I ate in the garden a couple of times & the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ethelmay
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Ethelmay, Namaste! Thank you very much for your great review experience in our Hotel. We are glad for your concern you brought to us about the issue of bathroom. Let me inform you, we are in hurry to implant the shower curtain in all of our rooms but due to the peak season and time consuming procedure we cannot...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 km away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#45 of 198 in Kathmandu
112 reviews
0.4 km away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 198 in Kathmandu
404 reviews
1.0 km away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#60 of 198 in Kathmandu
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,144 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 198 in Kathmandu
359 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#98 of 198 in Kathmandu
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We at Hotel Moonlight would like to add another dimension to your memories of this wondrous Himalayan Kingdom. We not only provide you with comfortable accommodation, but also friendly service and right information for your safe and comfortable journey. The charms and delights of the fabled city of Kathmandu wait for you at Hotel Moonlight. Though situated in the heart of the bustling downtown area, Hotel Moonlight is an oasis of tranquility. There's a lobby on every floor to ensure personalized service. The hotel also has an adjoining annex with 17 Boutique rooms, with the same amenities and all luxuriously furnished. We have total 48 rooms in our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Moonlight

Address: Paknajol, Thamel, Kathmandu 6667, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $65 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moonlight 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Moonlight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Moonlight staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Moonlight staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are allocated a room with a balcony check to make sure the room is a reasonable size.”
Parooba, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had superb views of Kathmandu from the top floor, as well as access to the rooftop.”
399FionaB399, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lift not in use in March 2017 so if difficulty with stairs request lower floor room.”
jasonhart1970, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“it seems all very beautiful for me.”
, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony. Pref overlooking the garden”
claireswindale, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$42* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$43
TripAdvisorUS$42
CancelonUS$52
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates