We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Moonlight

Show Prices
#49 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Moonlight
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 125: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Moonlight
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have no complain about this hotel but only the drawback is they do not have lift but it's under construction. The service of the hotel is 10 out of 10. The staffs are very professional and friendly. I took their SPA it was the greatest experience I have ever had. The only complain I have about my Kathmandu visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you beautiful review Deepak. We are glad with your words. Thanks for having a pleasant stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel Moonlight. I wish you great time ahead! With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

After staying three nights at this most friendly and peaceful hotel I had a great experience on its SPA, well done Moonlight and I can see that it's reflecting on its full occupancy! Had a chance to have a coffee with Uttam, who runs this place, what a kind person he is and the social supports the hotel does is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalyani P
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Thank you Kalyani, for you great review on our Hotel. We are happy to know you had a great experience with us here. Like you told, we are running with full occupancy and speed without any compromise in our service and hospitality. You and every of our guests are responsible for this outcome we are achieving. Good to know you...

Lincolnshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

All the staff were friendly & very helpful at all times. The room was good, the only downside was that when we had a shower, the poor design caused the wet room floor to flood, which was then very slippery. The location is great for the Thamel. I ate in the garden a couple of times & the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ethelmay
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Ethelmay, Namaste! Thank you very much for your great review experience in our Hotel. We are glad for your concern you brought to us about the issue of bathroom. Let me inform you, we are in hurry to implant the shower curtain in all of our rooms but due to the peak season and time consuming procedure we cannot...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Moonlight for about 3 weeks total over an extended stay in Nepal and can't say enough about how great it was to find this quiet port in the chaos of nearby Thamel. My room was spacious, tastefully appointed and had a nice little balcony. The garden area is peaceful and welcoming. The morning buffet is abundant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SandraDidi
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Sandra Didi, Namaste! Its really amazing to see your greatest feedback, compliments and experience at once about us. Didi, it was a great honor to have you stayed with us, you smile and your inspirations were really appreciating to every of us. You have well explained about us, I believe this reflect what we are all here. We will always...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second visit in Nepal, Hotel moonlight is always my best choice in Thamel. If there will be the third time, this hotel will be my choice again. The hotel is located in a very good location easy to go around for shopping and the room is clean, nice and cozy, breakfast is great too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paweenawong
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Paweenawong, Namaste! Thank you very much for you excellent review on our Hotel. We are very honored by your continuous love and support towards us. We are glad with your great experience! We are still upgrading dimensions of our Hospitality! I thank you again, and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Moonlight again! With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just returned from my first solo trip to Nepal and made Hotel Moonlight my base for the week. Mr Uttam the owner was extremely helpful and efficient as I arranged all my tours through him, the whole staff were so accommodating in any request. The location was great and as well as some tours I was able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jackifm
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Jacki, Namaste! It was great to know, you enjoyed the view of our garden and city from your balcony. There are still things remained to experience in Nepal, but you must have enjoyed your tour which you experienced. A great thanks to you for feeling us so friendly and dedicated. And yeah the SPA is running smoothly now and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the first visit at the hotel through all the days I was there, the people knew my first name and they were very friendly to me. Several times they got a taxi, explained in the local language to the taxi driver where I wanted to go, and make sure I got there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Hey Rick, How are you my friend? Its a great pleasure of having your excellent review about us in TripAdvisor. We were so delighted of having you stayed with us. We are sure you had a great experience at Kathmandu. Like you told we always take care of our guests regarding new things or places they are dealing with. So...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is an oasis amidst the chaos in Thamel. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was great. Garden was the best place to relax and with a coffee it was even more better! But what mattered the most was that the staffs were really friendly and helpful. Loved the stay at Hotel Moonlight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anup R
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Anup, Thank you for your great review on our Hotel. We are glad to know you discovered a lot about us. Thanks again for finding us friendly and helpful. Have a good days Anup. With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi

Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice and quiet, Well located. Our room had a lovely balcony, however due to this the room was much smaller to the other rooms that our friends had. Breakfast was good. We ate dinner here one night and the service was extremely slow. One person in our group ordered soup and was the last to be served. I think they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Parooba
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Parooba! Thank you very much for you great review and experience on our Hotel. Like you told the room provide to you was quiet small since it has a beautiful balcony and you need rooms along the way your friends. Extremely sorry for the slow service you experienced with us, actually Parooba, after the clarification from the F&B service...

Korumburra
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had our final night in Kathmandu at Hotel Moonlight and would highly recommend it. Our room was clean, very comfortable and well appointed. We were on the top floor and had a lovely view from both windows. The staff were highly professional and very helpful. There was a sense that great care was taken with security and customer service....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona B
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thank you very much for your lovely review on out Hotel. Its great to know you had a great experience with us. Staying at High floor, you might have seen the Monkey Temple at the night in its pale yellow color, this is one of the heavenly scene one can ever had. We are grateful to be found...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 km away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#47 of 193 in Kathmandu
96 reviews
0.4 km away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#3 of 193 in Kathmandu
388 reviews
1.0 km away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#57 of 193 in Kathmandu
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,135 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 193 in Kathmandu
342 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#95 of 193 in Kathmandu
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We at Hotel Moonlight would like to add another dimension to your memories of this wondrous Himalayan Kingdom. We not only provide you with comfortable accommodation, but also friendly service and right information for your safe and comfortable journey. The charms and delights of the fabled city of Kathmandu wait for you at Hotel Moonlight. Though situated in the heart of the bustling downtown area, Hotel Moonlight is an oasis of tranquility. There's a lobby on every floor to ensure personalized service. The hotel also has an adjoining annex with 17 Boutique rooms, with the same amenities and all luxuriously furnished. We have total 48 rooms in our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Moonlight

Address: Paknajol, Thamel, Kathmandu 6667, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $82 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moonlight 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Moonlight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Moonlight staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Moonlight staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are allocated a room with a balcony check to make sure the room is a reasonable size.”
Parooba, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had superb views of Kathmandu from the top floor, as well as access to the rooftop.”
399FionaB399, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lift not in use in March 2017 so if difficulty with stairs request lower floor room.”
jasonhart1970, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“it seems all very beautiful for me.”
, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony. Pref overlooking the garden”
claireswindale, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5