We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal City Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This is a terrible and incredibly overpriced hotel and on top of that they ask for an obscene 1500 baht deposit. There is no WIFI in your rooms. There was a water kettle but it didn't work. There are stains everywhere that appear to be of some sort of bodily fluid. Everything appears to be decorated in the style of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcgervais
Dechapong S, Executive Director at The Royal City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mcgervais, Greeting from The Royal City Hotel, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal City Hotel, Bangkok. We appreciate your taking the time to review following your recent visit. Please allow me to clarify regarding the 1,500 THB deposit, it's the hotel policy for the incidental charge which return to the guest upon departure. The Housekeeping department...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Very rustic interiors of the building AND the rooms....actually, close to being in NORTH KOREA 1960s! Staff service is terrible and not so welcoming or not accommodating at all. NO WIFI IN THE ROOMS!!!!!!!!!!!!! UNBELIEVABLE! They say in the lobby, there's the Wifi but for rooms they don't have! Bottle of water inside the rooms are placed in old-fashioned glass...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EMERALD914
Dechapong S, Executive Director at The Royal City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mcgervais, Greeting from The Royal City Hotel, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal City Hotel, Bangkok. We appreciate your taking the time to review following your recent visit. The Hotels was build in 1990's, and the renovate is on going projects (Room, Pool and Gym) but however due to the high occupancy and demand which caused...

Livorno, Italy
Reviewed 19 May 2016

(wrongly) chosen because of location convenient for my business, it is old, smelly, full of noisy chinese group tours. It must have been nice when it was built but it seems it has not received any maintenance, let alone upgrade, since then. One cannot say it is dirty, but evrything is oily, full of spots/stains and in bad need of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nubiliano
Dechapong S, Executive Director at The Royal City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nubiliano, Greeting from The Royal City Hotel, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal City Hotel, Bangkok. We appreciate your taking the time to review following your recent visit. I am writing to you to apologize for inconvenience during your last visit. Yes, you are correct regarding the Majority of Tourist has come from China as well...

Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

I just spent 7 nights in the royal city hotel, I found it a very pleasant and relaxing stay, the staff were always attentive and very pleasant, hotel was very well kept, not as modern maybe as other hotels but very good on the whole

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
Dechapong S, Executive Director at The Royal City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gordon, Greeting from The Royal City Hotel, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal City Hotel, Bangkok. We appreciate your taking the time to review following your recent visit, your comment will be share with the team. In the mean time, I am please to inform that the room renovate project currently on the way. We hope...

Reviewed 29 April 2016

Terrible !!!!!! Should not call this property that a hotel .... The quality & standard of some guest house are much better than this place. There are no tea and coffee making facilities or mini bar facilities,most of the staff are surly and unsmiling. Everything are extra charge when we asked even though empty coffee cups !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naphassakorn N
Dechapong S, Exeutive Director at The Royal City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Khun Naphassakorn, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal City Hotel. We appreciate your taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor of your recent visit. I am writing to you to apologize for the inconsistency of my team during your last visit. It is embarrassing to learn that our service was poorly managed and not up to...

Harrow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel to be close to The Southern Bus Terminal. It looks imposing and probably was 30 years ago. The hotel is generally dim and dowdy and most of the staff are surly and unsmiling. The breakfast was uninviting as the already cooked food was cold! The room was dismal however the sheets were clean but the carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mackthespoon
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This hotel caters to the Chinese tourist. Very noisy and loud. Busloads checking in and out and it is a madhouse. During mornings and evenings the elevators are packed. Stayed on 18th floor and the room had a great view but it could take 5 minutes easily, down in the morning. Rooms poorly kept. Light bulbs out in 3 lamps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark s
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Stayed here for 2 night in December 2015 the hotel was ok, but the amenities were all out dated and old. we had a good view but because the window was really dirty we couldn't see outside clearly. Staff was not that friendly apart from the welcome staff (2 porters at the front) they were really friendly and helpful made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harshani S
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Stayed one night because we needed to be close the EENT hospital. Hotel is okay except that there was no tea/coffee making facility (which was a disappointment at the price we paid). Breakfast is not bad. Have some selection of Western and Asian. Location near to Central Pinklao and Tesco. Takes about 15 min to walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judyksp
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is good but most of staff are not nice especially in the restaurant (except bells and cleaners) . They treat customers unequal, show their racism towards Chinese or other clumsy tourists so I can't bare to see it. Front line staff should learn how to nice such as a very easy simple smile from their cleaners and bells.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kenaz K

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
Charlie House Pinklao
#226 of 839 in Bangkok
197 reviews
The Royal River Hotel
#581 of 839 in Bangkok
346 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#406 of 839 in Bangkok
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarah Guest House
#218 of 369 in Chiang Mai
62 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#192 of 839 in Bangkok
241 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#302 of 839 in Bangkok
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Royal City Hotel

Address: 800 Boromratchonni Road | Bangkok Noi, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Price Range: $27 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Royal City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal City Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Royal City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chosen another”
 of 5 bubbles Nubiliano, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“High floor gets you a very nice view but long elevator rides.”
 of 5 bubbles marksX2041ZK, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“remember to take universal adapters, they only have 2 pin plug bases”
 of 5 bubbles HarshaniS, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“can not recommend any has always stayed on 10th floor that works.”
 of 5 bubbles SorenPedrsen, 20 Mar 2014 | Read review
“If you book a room that's not to high up, you might be able to use the wifi you bought for usage in the lobby in you room. We had it on the 4th floor on our first visit, but not on the 7th floor on our second visit.”
 of 5 bubbles stedentripsvansas, 6 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay