We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La-Mer Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
La-Mer Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 48: English reviews
Ibiza Town, Spain
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

There can't be many better locations in the old town. Walking distance to some good restaurants and just off the main road. The good thing about La-Mer is that it has access to all the facilities of "Eurana Boutique Hotel" next door (pool and wifi for example) but without the associate costs. The pool regularly only had a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NathanViva
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Nathan, Thank you for staying here at Lamer Hostel, and we appreciate you taking time to share the details about your experience with TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that there was some areas of your stay which were less than desirable, but again we are pleased to receive your feedback on the issues which will in turn be...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only stayed here for 2 nights and that was long enough. We left booking accommodation until the last minute and because of the Loi Kathrong festival there wasn't much to choose from so here is where we stayed. The staff here are very friendly and it had a cafe/restaurant as well which was good value. I think they shut...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJBailey3
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for choosing Lamer Hostel as your choice of hotel while staying in Chiang Mai. We were concerned that there were some negative aspects which you experienced during your trip, and would like to address the concerns below: We are sorry that the WiFi was below the standard which you expected. We have since tested it, and it...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this when they had a good sale on a got the deluxe rooms for cheap price The rooms have decent air con, TV, fridge, clean bathroom, cleaning everyday and friendly staff Reception staff were a little grumpy but overall a good stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwtravelfree
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for choosing to stay with La-Mer Hostel. We are very grateful to hear that you enjoyed your time here and found the rooms and amenities to be well maintained, and the price to be of good value. It is unfortunate to read that our staff were seen to be slightly grumpy, and we will forward this feedback...

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We're just checking out from our stay whilst backpacking, great little hostel clean, clean towels every day and soap. Laundry service,friendly staff and very close to centre with bars restaurants all around. They have there hotel next door which u can use the pool which is nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie134
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jodie, Thank you for choosing La-mer Hostel for your choice of accommodation during your visit to Chiang Mai. One of our highest priorities is to ensure we operate a clean facility, and our daily housekeeping service always provides a thorough cleaning of the rooms whilst replenishing soap/shower gel etc. Our location is very popular for guests looking to visit...

Lake Tahoe (California), California
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Great location within walking distance of fantastic restaurants, markets, temples, post office, massage spas, juice bars and cafes. Located on a quiet street La Mer welcomes you with a clean and organized front desk. The rooms are basic but comfortable, with great fan and a/c, drinking water provided and room is cleaned daily. Nice, clean linens and clean bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelbugs2017
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our city center location. We believe our close proximity to the Thapae area and the cultural attractions, markets and cafes nearby makes our location ideal for visitors to Chiang Mai. It's great to read that you found our rooms...

Hermsdorf, Germany
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I booked a standard room in La-mer Hostel for 7 days because of a special deal offered in 2 different online booking portals. The deal was "Mobile exclusive: Save 56%" for 3696bt instead of 8400bt. So I expected to get a 1200bt per night room for the bargain price of 528bt per night. Well the current price for this kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oggse
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for booking your stay with us at Lamer Hostel, firstly may we say that we are pleased to read our useful location and friendly team were enjoyable aspects of your stay. We are sorry that there were some areas that you were unhappy with and we would like to address these issues for you: Our rates fluctuate...

siem reap
Reviewed 10 August 2016

the restaurant is a nice & quiet place to sit & read a book & drink a beer at very reasonnable prices, centrally located within the moat, 1min from somphet market. the food is ok, not too much choice. staff friendly, but poor english. tasty fresh sweets available to take away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rahul s
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Rahul, We appreciate you taking time to post a review of your stay at Lamer Hostel. Many guests often comment as you have done that our restaurant provides a great way to sit and relax with a drink while enjoying the beautiful Chiang Mai atmosphere. We are pleased that you found our dishes enjoyable. We do provide a fair...

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Spacious clean room with comfortable bed and a decent bathroom. The price is a bit more than what we're used to paying but we did see a positive difference.. Staff were very friendly upon arrival and we loved the room. We did notice that one of our slidey windows was broken so we went down to reception and the young...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robertohurto
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Roberto, Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us at Lamer Hostel. We are pleased to read that your choice of upgrading your usual choice of accommodation by choosing us was well worth the value. It was unfortunate that there was an issue with the sliding function attached to the window, however we are delighted...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Very cheap accommodation for the service- my boyfriend and I spent the night here for 650 baht together, staging in a deluxe room which is slightly bigger than the standard (I recommend). You can use the neighbouring pool for 100 baht if you wish. There is a huge window, a good amount of space and ac alongside a powerful fan....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megsengland
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review of La-Mer Hostel. We agree that cost of our rooms is extremely good for the high standard in which they are presented and the facilities included. When designing the rooms and their amenities, we did so with our customers satisfaction in mind, therefore extras such as a high quality fan as well as AC...

Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Well, this is a three star hostel all right, nothing more, but nothing less either. I spent two nights there with my girlfriend, and we came to a friendly staff, and through minor communication issues, we learned about the pool we could use for a small fee. Rooms were clean, and pretty ordinary, but the location of the hostel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Scott, Thanks for your compliments about our guest house, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was perfect for your visit to Chiang Mai. We often receive many compliments about the friendliness of our staff, we do feel it is of the utmost importance when hosting guests, to ensure they feel welcome...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
0.1 km away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#165 of 369 in Chiang Mai
356 reviews
0.0 km away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#37 of 671 in Chiang Mai
149 reviews
0.1 km away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#106 of 671 in Chiang Mai
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Nature's Way House
Nature's Way House
#51 of 687 in Chiang Mai
63 reviews
0.2 km away
Just Chill Inn
Just Chill Inn
#116 of 890 in Chiang Mai Province
29 reviews
0.0 km away
Chok Dee Guesthouse
Chok Dee Guesthouse
#185 of 671 in Chiang Mai
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La-mer Hostel is an newly opened boutique hostel and a budgethotel located in the heart of chiang mai City. The hostel is idealfor tourists and guests who are looking for convienient access toChiang mai's central attractions; Sunday Walking Street, ThreeKing Monument,Tha Pae Historic Gate,Somphet [The local fresh market],restaurants and bars. We are 15 minutes away from Chiang MaiInternational Airport , Bus Terminal , and Train Station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La-Mer Hostel

Address: 12/2 Moonmuang Rd., Soi 6 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: $17 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La-Mer Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La-Mer Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La-Mer Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from La-Mer Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The twin beds can be pushed together to make one large bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Travelbugs2017, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“my experience just considers the restaurant, but hotel & rooms look ok, all new”
 of 5 bubbles rahuls53, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor, as far away from all other rooms. The walls are paper thin.”
 of 5 bubbles ScottM756, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Do not take rooms which facing to street”
 of 5 bubbles andyp164, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel were quieter and view of the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Sanokanchi, 1 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay