We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,009: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We were staying 3 nights in 2 different rooms (we took a 3 day trip to the north after the first night), breakfast was enormous, with variety of choices but the rooms especially the bathrooms weren't clean enough, the tiles and shower head were filthy so i had to ask to clean it by myself, in the end the manager... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meirav S
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Meirav Thank youi for your post on Trip Advisor and your stays with us. We read your comments with interest and are please to know that you enjoyed the great breakfasts. We do apologize for the fact that the bathroom was not clean enough and we spoken to the housekeepers to pay more attention to it. You may have... More 

Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Thankfully we got a good deal when we stayed here and paid less than £30 a night and we very much enjoyed it however if we had paid more we would have been disappointed. Firstly the location is ideal, close to lots of bars and restaurants as well as the night market and one of the Thai boxing rings. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KatyS121
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katy Thank you for your visit of our hotel and your post on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and your experience here with us. Your objectively written have been appreciated and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on another occasion. In the meantime we remain with.... More 

Essendon, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

What is not to like about the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? The rooms are comfortable, the location is great and the staff are very helpful. I stayed for 5 nights and could not fault the hotel. Some reviews say the rooms are outdated and the lifts are slow. Yes the rooms are showing their age but there is nothing wrong... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ngaire B
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ngaire Thank you very much for your stay with us and your post on Trip Advisor. Your well written comments have been received with a lot of enthusiasm and much appreciated. We are very pleased the you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you cannot fault our place. Please let us know when you intend to return... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We came to chiang mai as part of our honeymoon, we came after a long day from pai. We arrived at 20:00 After check in we found out that we've got a smokers room. The room was dirty, full of smoke and was stinky of cigarettes. The receptionist told us that the order wasn't for a non-smokers room so there's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alon B
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alon Thank you for your stay with us and your post on Trip Advisor. We were sorry to read your comments, however would like to clarify your post. In your reservation there was no mention for a smoking room nor did it mention of your honeymoon. Our honeymooners always receive a special prepared room with a special set-up. On... More 

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I didn't like this hotel at all. It's very large and back in the day probably lived up to its star rating, but it hasn't kept up with the times. My room felt very old and outdated. It had a misty/mildewy smell, dirty looking carpet, tons of cakey dust built up behind the furniture, and the weirdest nightstand I've ever... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jno28
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jno Thank you for your stay with us and your comments on Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for the facts that you did not like our hotel at all. It is certainly not the hotel of last year, however the description of it is below any respect. We do fully understand that people like to exaggerate and... More 

kirkham
Level Contributor
192 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I've rated the hotel as a 5 as value for money you can't go wrong. We stayed for 3 nights as we were visiting Chang Mai to visit ENP (should have stayed longer but means we will be back) It's a large hotel which looks sort of 80s style, our room was large, bed was firm, good ac, flat screen... More 

Helpful?
Thank susiewoof
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susie Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your post on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure reading your detailed comments and our associates as well as myself are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in Chiang Mai and our services were to your likings. Please let us know when you plan another visit and... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel the Front Office Manager Patnaree Kaewthanyapach was so lovely and made our trip so special the staff was so friendly the breakfast was the best we had for a very long time the breakfast was changed everyday.we can't wait to go to ChangMia and stay at this hotel.Graham and I would like say"Thank You Patnaree... More 

Helpful?
Thank graham t
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jessie and Graham Thank you for your stay and your post on Trip Advisor. What a pleasure to read your comments and share them with our associates. Certainly, Khun Patnaree is very knowledgeable and professional. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

The rooms are very clean and the pool is nice. The shower had nice pressure. Bed is okay by American standards but seems very on par with Asian beds (firm). Great location. Staff was okay, some nice some barely cordial. Did I love it? No. Would I return for the price and location? Yes.

Helpful?
Thank Maegan T
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maegan Thank you for your stay and your post on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your fair comments and are pleased that you overall were satisfied with our services. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back again on another occasion. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and peter – general manager More 

Changlun, Kedah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is a bit dated, however the location is superb just a few minutes of walking distance to night market. The staffs, though have difficulties in conversing in English but they tried to assist me. Thanks to the kitchen staffs who helped me to store my ice gels in the freezer and take them out in the morning for... More 

Helpful?
Thank LadyEffa
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lady Effa Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your stay with us. We were pleased to read your comments and are happy that you have appreciated our associates to help your ice gels. The English language can certainly be improved and our associates are having English classes. Our location is certainly top and the surrounding gardens... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Pros: Rooms are big, nice tv, rooms are quiet. Toilet flushes strong. Centrally located bars, banks, laundry mat, massages, and cafes. Mini bar. Price is right. Overall staff is great. Cons: bathroom needs better cleaning due to no ventilation, AC is not too strong

Helpful?
Thank Greygoose747
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greygoose Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your visit to our hotel. Your well written comments have been discussed with our team and noted. A future renovation will certainly address the two points mentioned und the cons. We do look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping... More 

1,091 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (730)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (129)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
4:29
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (381)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (46)
Viewed
Ground Floor Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (92)
Viewed
Royal Suite (49)
Viewed
Second Floor Pool (8)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#47 of 368 in Chiang Mai
1,127 reviews
0.2 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#50 of 368 in Chiang Mai
1,162 reviews
0.2 km away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#96 of 368 in Chiang Mai
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 368 in Chiang Mai
1,670 reviews
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#51 of 368 in Chiang Mai
1,452 reviews
0.5 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 368 in Chiang Mai
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: $58 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
KL
over a year ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High up rooms with city views,lifts are very slow”
 of 5 bubbles LanaG589, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nothing special to add regarding the room location”
  • Looks neglected
  • Looks neglected and this is what we see in the sink
  • Looks neglected
  • Looks neglected
  • Looks neglected and this is what we see in the sink
 of 5 bubbles 133yanivp, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“try and get an upgrade !”
 of 5 bubbles Dennis146, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor is a smoking floor so would avoid this if you arent wanting it”
 of 5 bubbles j0d0dd, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“lower floors as lifts can be quite slow and busy-walking up 9 flights of stairs is not easy.”
 of 5 bubbles thesunisforfun, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay