We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel

Save
Share
105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200 Thailand
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Vio.com
US$21
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$28
ZenHotels.comUS$48
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (177)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (15)

About

#69 of 1,326 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Parasol Inn Hotel is decorated with the concept of Boutique Lanna style. Thai Lanna culture is a colorful combination of various elements brought together from both historic and multi-ethnic contexts. With Chiang Mai being a place of trade along the historic Silk Road, it has been a crossroad for centuries of various cultures that make up the blend that is found here today. Our hotel is located in old town of Chiang Mai which is home to Thai historic temples, especially the world-popular Chedi Luang Temple is just a walking distance away from our hotel. In addition if you are curious for local handicrafts, Sunday Night Market where Parasol Inn Hotel just situates will definitely be an ideal shopping paradise for you. Or if you want to go further to explore more local features, a Tuk-Tuk service can be easily found in front of our hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Infirmary
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Thai
406Reviews1Q+A73Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 167
  • 154
  • 60
  • 14
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Glenn B wrote a review Aug. 2022
5 contributions
This place has the perfect location dead center of the old city. The rooms are very clean with super comfortable beds, pillows and blankets. A/C works efficiently and cools the room quickly. We booked the family room and the double room, which was perfect for my family of 8. The bathrooms were very large with hot water, shampoo, soap and shower gel. There is a mini fridge, safe, umbrellas, with complimentary coffee and water each day in the rooms. Television has many local and movie channels. The free wifi works very fast and steady. The staff are exceptionally friendly and work hard to accommodate your requests and provide very useful information. Anu, the housekeeper, is amazing. He is attentive and has a good sense of humor. If you have a late arrival, send the hotel a message beforehand because they lock the front door. If you arrive and nobody is there, call Anu at +66832998047. If you speak slowly, he will understand you. Kittikorn, the general manager, was also extremely friendly and helpful. The big red taxis drive right up to the hotel. No need to call for one. There's usually one every minute. The restaurant has a good menu. We didn't eat there because we just wanted to eat street food until we couldn't walk anymore. The Sunday market opens up directly in front of the hotel and is an amazing experience. Plenty of delicious street food, clothing and souvenirs at cheap prices in every direction. We're definitely staying here again, when we come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Parasolinn, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Responded Oct. 4, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Parasolinn Hotel Chiangmai.Your review is important to us.And all employees very much to improve the quality even further.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Galit D wrote a review Aug. 2022
10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Our experience here was lovely. It was actually the cheapest and smallest of all of our other locations, but alt jught we were a bit crammed in a room (can't expect more for the price we paid), our stay here was absolutely lovely. The location was just extraordinary, right in the middle of everything. We felt comfortable to have the kids wander a bit on their own, there were great cafes, massages, shops and bikes to rent all around and close. During the Sunday night market we were right in the middle of it. The air-conditioning was strong and kept us cool during the hot days and our kids were happy to hand around the restaurant downstairs which served "neutral" foods in addition to Thai cuisine (pizza etc.). There was no elevator which was also no problem because the staff carried our luggage up and down the stairs. The only inconvenience is that we only had one key and had to coordinate passage of it. I would certainly recommend this place!!! For it's location, the professionality and courtesy of the staff and cleanliness of the accommodations
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: No elevator, great old city location
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Parasolinn, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Responded Oct. 4, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Parasolinn Hotel Chiangmai.Your review is important to us.And all employees very much to improve the quality even future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bella wrote a review Aug. 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
We arrived at the hotel at 8:30pm along with 4 other guests to find the hotel doors were locked and all lights turned off. We rang the number on the door and was asked to wait 10 mins as everyone had gone home. About 15 mins later we was let in by the cleaner who also had to check us in as a “favour” to his boss? We was then given room keys to a room with 2 singles when we had booked a double room, we explained this to the cleaner who told us to ring his boss to sort this out. The boss was very blunt and told us we was given 2 singles as they had ran out of doubles but we was not warned of this when we made our booking. The following evening we tried the hotel restaurant for our dinner where we both had the chicken fried rice. The chicken was inedible and uncooked and very overpriced. The following morning we decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and extend one more night as our flight wasn’t until the following morning and saved the hassle of moving our bags, we extended at the front desk for one more night with breakfast included to apologise for the mess up with rooms. Then when we went down for our breakfast the receptionist told us the manager wouldn’t allow us to have the breakfast as we hadn’t paid even though we was told this was included. Very rude staff and very disappointing stay as a whole.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Parasolinn, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Responded Oct. 5, 2022
It's really unfortunate that you were disappointed by the size and general lay out of rooms at our property.Sorry that you weren't satisfied,We're a small family-run Bed & Breakfast and can"t always match the standard of a hotel.We sincerely hope you found accommodation on the rest of your trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Owen H wrote a review Aug. 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
when you pay for breakfast, they tell you your not allowed it, when you book a double room you get a single room. they will not change it for you or give back the money you paid for the double. the rooms are very noisy of a night due to the walls being really thin, cleaners are also very noisy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: don’t stay here as you won’t get a good nights sleep or breakfast even if u pay for it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Parasolinn, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Responded Oct. 5, 2022
Thank you for giving us good advise we welcome it and will continue to fix its that this doesn't happen again.And we have investigated the source of the problem that cased by our employees and servilely apologize on this occasion and will continue to improve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Advisor_Mio wrote a review Apr. 2022
Bangkok, Thailand432 contributions188 helpful votes
Vast majority of guests are farangs. Meals are Thai and international, of average quality - not too bad, but definitely not impressive. Service is rather poor, staff not too attentive. Medium price level. All in all not bad, but we will probably not come again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Parasolinn, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Responded Oct. 5, 2022
Thank you for writing a review for us to know.Reviews that are very important to us.To be uses to correct and improve in service to other customers in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ridge traveler wrote a review Jan. 2020
Lightning Ridge, Australia3 contributions7 helpful votes
This place is excellent. Good price, big rooms, central in old city. Thank you to Nicky, Ploy and Mek for taking such great care of us. Nicky really went above and beyond to ensure our stay was the best.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Praew-varisa19, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Responded Jan. 31, 2020
Dear sofiaswelt, Thank you very much for stay with us, we are delighted you like our room and service. So glad to be able to satisfy your and we look forward to welcoming you back to Parasol Inn in old town.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy wrote a review Jan. 2020
Lanzhou, China65 contributions21 helpful votes
Good breakfast. We had a regular western breakfast, with eggs, ham etc and a fried rice with shrimps. Nothing to be excited about. A bit pricey. If you happen to be in the area and hungry, go for it. Servers were polite.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Praew-varisa19, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Responded Jan. 28, 2020
Thank you so much for your review and so sorry that hear about your concern, but I think so not about Parasol Inn Hotel, right?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jed's House wrote a review Jan. 2020
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom5 contributions
We stopped for a drink at the parasol inn and by chance stumbled across it again the next day so we thought we would have some food and drinks, good value great service, great location in old city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TerraceCusine, Manager at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Responded Jan. 14, 2020
Dear Jedshouse, Thank you so much for your reviews and very happy that you like our food and Services, hop to see you next time. Many Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wesley M wrote a review Dec. 2019
2 contributions
The Parasol hotel is very nice and near town centre. Would recomend this place for everyone. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Staff greeted us at the door and were very friendly. Also extreamly accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Praew-varisa19, ผู้จัดการ at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Responded Dec. 24, 2019
Thank you very much for stay with us, we are delighted you like our room and service. So glad to be able to satisfy your and we look forward to welcoming you back to Parasol Inn in old town.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris R P wrote a review Dec. 2019
9 contributions
My wife and I have been travelling Thailand over the past four weeks. We have stayed at many different types of accommodation. The Parasol hotel is ideally located in the centre of the old city. We originally booked for two nights, but liked it so much that we stayed an extra three nighta. All of the staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The hotel was in the process of being refurbished, and we were told that we were their first customer. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The windows are double glazed, which meant the room was quiet even though being right in the middle of the town centre. On Sundays, the street outside our hotel closes to traffic for the evening market. It was all happening right outside our window. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and all the staff bent over backwards for us, even making us a lunch bag we took on one of our day excursions. One of the staff “See” arranged a friend to drive us around the sights. The hotel was in the process of opening a new Italian restaurant, alongside their original restaurant so their will be a good choice of both Thai and Italian cuisine when it’s finished. I would recommend this hotel, it is very well priced, friendly and accommodating and right in the middle of the old town.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Praew-varisa19, ผู้จัดการ at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Responded Dec. 24, 2019
Dear chrisrp2019, Thank you very much for stay with us, we are delighted you like our room and service. So glad to be able to satisfy your and we look forward to welcoming you back to Parasol Inn in old town ^^
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$18 - US$31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
parasol hotel chiang mai
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang Mai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Thailand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Thailand Mountain Trail (0.4 km), Thai Custom Tailors (0.4 km), and Zoe in Yellow Chiangmai Thailand (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nun's Restaurant, La Fourchette, and Cafe De Thaan Aoan.
Does Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Chiang Mai.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Parasol Inn Chiang Mai Old City Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Phra That Doi Kham (Temple of the Golden Mountain) (7.9 km), Chiang Mai Gate (2.0 km), and Fort of Ka-Tham (0.9 km).