We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BanThai Village

PricelineUS$55*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
BanThai Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BanThai Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 371: English reviews
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when we first arrived in Chiang Mai, and were very pleased. The staff were friendly and helpful. The manager was a very helpful lady who helped us arrange transportation to the tiger sanctuary, and even had the driver take us to our next hotel after at no extra cost. The pool was kept clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good experience with us. The staff will be delighted to read your comments,I noted your comment about hard mattress and sorry about that. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we...

Lara, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2014

This is a real find central to all that you will need in Chaing Mai. The rooms are very nice and the surrounding grounds and pool are perfect for relaxing after a long day out and about. Staff and kind and courteous and being kid friendly is a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KellieSpark
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your taking a time to writing a good review in Tripadvisor. Its delightful for your comment such as our friendly staffs,our location etc. I have taken well note for these comment and we're looking forward to seeing you in Chiang Mai and stay in Banthai Village again as soon.

Reviewed 6 October 2014

We had a pleasant stay at Banthai Village where we spent few nights... We took a suite which was spacious and comfortable but we have seen some other rooms which are right by the pool on the first floor and I would not stay there... Breakfast was a disappointment with caned juices (what? In Thailand?) and very limited space. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiJo
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve youduring your recent stay and sharing your comment through TripAdvisor. Regarding to many Chinese tourists in Chiang Mai during your recent stay period , due to they had long holiday ( Chinese National Day). All hotels in Chiang Mai are fully booked and 70% of the guests are Chinese...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights in early September. The rooms were clean and comfortable, yet my husband and I both became sick because of the air conditioning which was just over the bed! The staff wasn't particularly nice compared to the other hotels we stayed in Thailand, but we cannot complain either. The breakfast buffet was average, the swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you during your recent visit and sharing your comment through TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as you expected for our staffs. Your comments are of our utmost concern. I 've taken well note for this comment and will improve it...

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Stayed one night here, it was a quirky place to stay. Rooms were interesting, however unfortunately we were placed in the noisy corner. Rude patrons made our stay a negative one. Rooms are not sound proof. Don't feel it's worth 3000 baht. Breakfast was average.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jyssi
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve youduring your 1 night recent stay and sharing your comment through TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as you expected. Your comments are of our utmost concern and we would like to explain to you as follow. -Problem with other guests...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 8 September 2014

We stayed 2 nights after moving from another 4 star hotel. Frankly speaking, it's for cost saving. -:) The hotel outside old town is more cheaper. Room is very clean but bathroom is a little bit small. We both enjoyed the morning staying at our balcony for a cozy atmosphere. The hotel is located not far from the east gate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancymuii
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good experience with us. The staff will be delighted to read your comments,I noted your Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 7 September 2014

This is my first negative review of a property for Trip Advisor. Refund via the mountain of Agoda paperwork meant that by the second night I had to restrain myself from searching for a stool and a rope. Amazingly, the reception displays ratings from Agoda/Trip Advisor/booking.com showing glowing numbers. I wondered if I was in the same property. Although the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bruce M
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you during your recent visit and sharing your comment through TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as you expected. Your comments are of our utmost concern due to our concept is Banthai ,its meaning "Thai house" something it made you not...

Linguist in KS
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Spent a really great 3 days in Chang Mai at the start of our travels around Thailand. As our first destination we were apprehensive about the city and accommodation. but we soon got into the swing of the city and really enjoyed the Banthai village. Great location on the outside of the old walled town. Close to night market and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MFL65
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. In particular our rooms, our centralize location , staff friendliness and our breakfast etc. Regarding to Chinese guests, when we receive the booking and guests are Chinese. We will arrange all...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Nice Hotel, stayed in a room away from the main building, great staff and the location was great, not far from Manathai and the night bazar The hotel was in a nice quiet area not far from the night bazaar and bars in loi kroh road which was about 10 min walk away. A lot of temples to see in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your taking a time to writing a good review in Tripadvisor. Its delightful for your comment such as our friendly staffs,our location etc. I have taken well note for these comment and we're looking forward to seeing you in Chiang Mai and stay in Banthai Village again as soon.

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Banthai in july. I must say, that we enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was nice, the rooms were pretty (stayed af Family of 4 in 2 rooms with connecting doors). When we left for Pai, we asked if we could stay Again when we came back, but the hotel was fully booked. Instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. In particular our rooms, our centralize location , staff friendliness and our newest sister hotel " Kampaeng Ngam Hotel". I will definitely share this with the team and Kampaeng Ngam team...

578 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (416)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (43)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Ban Thai Suite (49)
Viewed
Main Pool (9)
Viewed
Private Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Superior Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#43 of 379 in Chiang Mai
477 reviews
0.3 km away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.9 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 379 in Chiang Mai
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.6 km away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 379 in Chiang Mai
942 reviews
0.3 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 379 in Chiang Mai
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: $81 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BanThai Village staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from BanThai Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“West facing rooms are treated to a stunning sunset.”
suefW9186TF, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor are lesser noiser!”
reeveseah, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the back block (private area) of hotel with the small plunge pool”
  • Rain shower only does cold!
  • Little bear can be purchased for 250 Baht
  • Nice room design
Kini68, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second level rooms seem the best.”
KellieSpark, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“upstairs should be less noisy”
LouiseJ440, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$55* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$117
Booking.comUS$55
Hotwire.comUS$55
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates