We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
189/1 Ratmakka Road, Chiang Mai 50200 Thailand
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
eDreams
SuperTravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (3)

About

#209 of 1,414 Specialty lodging in Chiang Mai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are Located in the Old Town district of Chiang Mai, 300 m from the Wat Phra Singh temple, 400m from Suan Dok Gate and 700 m from the famous Chedi Luang Temple. We have fully air-conditioned rooms and dorms with free WiFi. Guests can enjoy the on-site restaurant which serves a specialty northern Thai chicken dish. We have an on site coffee area, and a 24 hour front desk Bike hire is available, and the Chiang Mai International Airport and shopping plaza is just 3 km away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
89Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 42
  • 10
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mackee wrote a review Jan. 2020
3 contributions
We booked a double room. It was large with a small balcony and ensuite shower room. The room had a small fridge and the housekeeping staff will leave bottled water in your room each day after they clean. It is a very quiet place and they have a travel agent in the hotel (although they are independent to the hotel). The only thing that I didn't like is the bed. It was very hard, which I have found to be common in Thailand and the mattress was leather. There was just a thin sheet covering the mattress so it was a bit sticky and uncomfortable at night even with the air conditioning on.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BethyB wrote a review Mar. 2019
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom38 contributions51 helpful votes
Decent hotel in great location in the old city, good value for money. Room was clean & modern. Only downsides were the curtains were really thin so we woke up early & the breakfast was not amazing (strangely they use plastic cutlery/cups which is v wasteful).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MariaZG1 wrote a review Jan. 2019
Madrid, Spain59 contributions13 helpful votes
The breakfast is really good, probably the best thing about this hotel! Also the location is great! It is a good hostel that has private rooms, which was nice. You need to leave a deposit when you check in. Make sure you have cash for that. People at the front desk could be nicer. The room was ok, the views from the window are quite ugly. No elevator.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
chasinghygge16 wrote a review Jan. 2019
Raleigh, North Carolina65 contributions49 helpful votes
I arrived too early to check in. They are firm in their 2pm check in time. The woman at the front desk was very nice. The room was good. No complaints. The larger picture window provided a great view of Chiang Mai. Nice size room and bathroom. Powerful AC. No elevator so be aware. Breakfast was lacking a bit. Only ate there once. A bit far from more activity and shops, but they are walkable. Overall I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenjira C, Public Relations Manager at Sabai Hotel and Hostel
Responded Jan. 13, 2019
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your stay with us here at Sabai Hotel and Hostel. We do have to adhere to the stated checkin/checkout times to ensure our guest service always runs without delays. However, we are happy to store any bags you have if you wish to look around the interesting area surrounding our hotel or just relax in the lounging area in reception. Thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfasts, as always this is noted and evaluated for improving our service. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you visit us again soon at Sabai Hotel and Hostel. Kind Regards, Sabai Hotel and Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dionne v wrote a review Nov. 2018
19 contributions3 helpful votes
When we came in the room, the toilet was definitely not clean. As you can see in the first picture, but it became worse. At one point the ants were all over the toilet so we weren’t able to use the toilet anymore. Besides that you have to sign a form by check in saying you have to pay a fee when you make stains on something, which hotel does that? Breakfast is really poor, not many choice and not fresh. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel!! Definitely not a 3 star hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christoffer wrote a review Oct. 2018
Christiansfeld, Denmark10 contributions11 helpful votes
Great place. Close to everything and placed in the old city. Helpful people, and great breakfast. The food was filled up every 10 or 20 minute, so you wouldn't miss anything. Rooms are great. I recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenjira C, Public Relations Manager at Sabai Hotel and Hostel
Responded Nov. 11, 2018
Dear Christoffer, Thank you for sharing a review following on from your stay here in Chiang Mai with Sabai Hotel and Hostel. We are delighted to receive your 5 star review and read about how much you enjoyed staying with us. Thanks again for your recommendation. Kind Regards, Sabai Hotel and Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danielle A wrote a review Jul. 2018
13 contributions7 helpful votes
My kindle was taken from my hotel room whilst I was staying here! I have emailed the hotel To ask them to look into it (as I was leaving for the airport when I noticed it was gone and upon telling the staff they didn’t seem to care, in fact they laughed at me)! The hotel has not emailed back however! Very upsetting! AVOID !!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenjira C, Public Relations Manager at Sabai Hotel and Hostel
Responded Jul. 18, 2018
Dear Danielle, We are sorry to read about your missing kindle. However, please note that following our investigation, this was not stolen by a member of our staff as detailed below: We have investigated as requested, and also provided the video evidence from the hotel CCTV while you were with us. Therefore we must conclude that the kindle has been either misplaced or stolen elsewhere, since there is no evidence to show it was taken by our staff. To reiterate, our staff would never steal any belongings from our guests. Again, we are sorry that this has resulted in you becoming dissatisfied with your stay, however following our full investigation and providing CCTV evidence, we cannot take responsibility for the loss of the kindle. Kind Regards, Sabai Hotel & Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tpeJosh wrote a review Jun. 2018
Taipei, Taiwan62 contributions28 helpful votes
Mostly felt like a ghost hotel... No staff around helping much, most of them laying around or eating or watching tv/phone... Language barrier was also surprising. Breakfast is extremely simple and again no service at all in the restaurant. If you're lucky food will get replenished when you are there. Tour operator at desk is friendly but offers overpriced tours, watch out. Tv channels don't work well. Only two or three in English. No safebox and no kettle or coffee facilities in the room. They will charge deposit in cash for room key (?) so prepare enough in advance. Strictly 14:00 check in policy. Otherwise they will charge you 500B fee even if your room is ready. I arrived 12:30 and asked to wait in a rainy day. Some other customer was also rejected and asked to wait for over five hours. In general, it is an OK option for the price. Room was big enough, nice confy bed and it had a balcony. It's a pity that management doesn't try to get upscale a bit and have a better service for these quite new facilities, similar to the tons of nice boutique hotels around.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenjira C, Public Relations Manager at Sabai Hotel and Hostel
Responded Jun. 27, 2018
Dear Josh, Thank you for choosing to book with Sabai Hotel & Hostel. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay but are sorry to read you were unsatisfied with some parts of your stay. Whilst we endeavour to offer guests an early check-in, this is not always possible. Unfortunately at your time of arrival, we did not have an available room to provide, however guests are welcome to store their luggage in this scenario. Kind Regards, Sabai Hotel & Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pati wrote a review May 2018
Cologne, Germany16 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed for 5 nights. The room was spacious and clean. Had a little balcony and a private bathroom (stayed in a private room). The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice, there were things you had everyday like coffee, tea and toast and then you had other things that changed day by day, which was nice. The location is also pretty good. The bed was comfortable. I got 2 water smaal bottles every day, which was great.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenjira C, Public Relations Manager at Sabai Hotel and Hostel
Responded Jun. 4, 2018
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities, room, breakfast & location. Kind Regards, Sabai Hotel and Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael Caling wrote a review May 2018
Mascot, Australia48 contributions8 helpful votes
The room was great! Great views from our windows. They are very friendly. The food was so good! This is definitely a great valued hotel! Definitely one of the best hotels - cheap - in Chiang Mai. It is even near the temples and restaurants! Near the airport as well. You'll enjoy walking day and night!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The room facing the street and mountain view is great!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenjira C, Public Relations Manager at Sabai Hotel and Hostel
Responded May 7, 2018
Dear Mike, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the nearby location adjacent to the temples, restaurants and other areas of interest such as the Sunday Walking Market. We are especially pleased to read that you felt your stay was good value for money. Kind Regards, Sabai Hotel & Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang Mai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sabai Hotel and Hostel - Reviews & Photos (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sabai Hotel and Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Sabai Hotel and Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Elephant sanctuary care Park (0.3 km), Buak Hard Public Park (0.4 km), and Karen Elephant Family (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sabai Hotel and Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Sabai Hotel and Hostel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sabai Hotel and Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Baan Buri Café, Its Good Kitchen, and My Secret Cafe In Town.
Does Sabai Hotel and Hostel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sabai Hotel and Hostel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sabai Hotel and Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Sabai Hotel and Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Phra That Doi Kham (Temple of the Golden Mountain) (7.1 km), Chiang Mai Gate (1.2 km), and Fort of Ka-Tham (1.4 km).