Phuket FLY Guesthouse

Phuket FLY Guesthouse

106/3 Moo 1 Tambon Saku Amphur Thalang, Phuket Thailand
Have you been to Phuket FLY Guesthouse?
Post photosWrite Review

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.0
#327 of 342 guest houses in Phuket
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Location

106/3 Moo 1 Tambon Saku Amphur Thalang, Phuket Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Phuket Intl Airport
Krabi Airport
74.4 km
See all flights
10Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Louise H wrote a review Oct 2011
Birmingham, United Kingdom26 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this hotel through Bookings.com as we had an early morning flight and it seemed the cheapest & best of what is close to the airport, although 1000baht I feel is expensive for what we got.
The guesthouse is in the middle of no where, on a busy road and there are a few local shops, 7even 11's but nothing catered for tourists, which is fine if you are only there for one night.
At first I didnt know if we were at the right place as there was no formal checking in procedure, I happened to see my name scribbled on a piece of paper so assumed we were in the right place.
The room was spacess and clean, the bathroom was a little dirty with hair around the shower plug hole, but again we were only here for one night.
As per the info on Bookings.com I asked the lady who took our payment if she would arrange for us to be taken to the airport at 4am, she confirmed yes as they sleep on site.
We decided to go for a walk and when we returned I again confirmed if the early morning transfer to the airport was ok, again I was told yes.
We had an early and I woke about 1am as there was a noise outside, turned the light on and at the bottom of the bed next to the window there were hundreds of ants. It seemed the floor tiles had not been laid correctly, after spraying them and trying our best to get rid of the ants we gave.
At 4am we got up and went downstairs as prior arranged only to find the guesthouse in darkness and all the staff sleeping on the reception floor. I tried to wake the lady who we spoke to, but to no avail.
So we waited outside and luckily a taxi passed and took us to the airport, god knows what we would have done if he hadnt of passed - no a good idea to promise to deliver a service and then not deliver!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon_Phuket, Manager at Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Responded Oct 7, 2011
Can I take this opportunity to reply to the specific points raised by this guest? The guesthouse location is clearly shown on the map that Booking.com provides in our listing. Our guesthouse is located about 1km from the international airport, and on the access road to the airport which offers a wide choice of minimarts, restaurants, ATM and taxi services. We provide a free shuttle service to the tourist area of Nai Yang beach, but this guest did not ask about our shuttle service. We specifically promote our guesthouse as suitable for airport travellers, and we do not promote it for access to a wide range of tourist/holiday facilities The presence of hair around the shower plug hole is not acceptable, and I will try to ensure that our cleaning maid checks for this in future. No mention was made by the customer of the presence of ants. These can be difficult to get rid of, since they are attracted by the slightest scent of sweet food or sugar. The floor tile problem is being addressed. As arranged, our staff offered to drive the guest to the airport in the early morning. Our driver sleeps in the reception area and we were very surprised that the guests had crept out like mice, instead of waking the driver. It would have been perfectly acceptable to wake him - he was in the reception area for that very reason. I do hope that these issues did not spoil the guest's stay with us
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim S wrote a review Feb 2012
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked and paid online months in advance. Then a few days before I left home, emailed to check booking and it had been lost. Took two days for them to find the booking, by which time I had booked elsewhere. Owners were rude and disrespectful in email contact. Wasn’t offered a refund, even though they admitted fault in losing the booking.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: don't stay here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon_Phuket, Manager at Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Responded Feb 19, 2012
This review is incorrect in some important details. The booking was made and fully paid online. We initially had some problems in locating the booking and payment, (and for this delay I apologize). However, we were able to fully confirm the booking and payment to the guest. We sent our driver with a free pick-up service to meet these guests at the airport, but they failed to show and did not notify us prior to their booked night of stay. I retain copies of all my email correspondence with this guest, and at no time was I rude or disrespectful. I cannot understand why the guest did not cancel their booking if they did not wish to stay - rather than failing to show on their night of stay, and thus ensuring that their booked room could not be made available to another potential guest.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hana_flower wrote a review Dec 2011
London, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was very large and very clean, and it was a short walk to the beach which we hadn't planned on visiting but where we really enjoyed our last afternoon on Phuket. We were made to feel welcome when we arrived, and because we arrived earlier than scheduled the staff looked after our bags and took them up to our room while we were out. However, we booked the guesthouse because it was advertised as "open 24/7" and had "free airport drop off". We took a 6.30am flight to Bangkok so needed to leave early, but at the time we had booked our departure the reception shutters were locked and we had to shout to wake up the staff - we were starting to wonder how we were going to get out of the locked building to walk to the airport... The hallway was full of boxes - it felt like we were staying in a guesthouse that wasn't ready for guests yet. It was really close to the airport though, so should be an ideal location for flights at inconvenient times (just as long as you can get out of the front door).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leigh247 wrote a review Jul 2011
Hamburg1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a flight early thursday morning and looked for a convenient and not too expensive place to stay. I arrived around 7pm and had to get transport at 5:30am to the airport. In the area are some lovely authentic food stalls, nothing special, but just right for the short time. It was so easy and relaxing. Definately recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PhuketFLY, Manager at Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Responded Jul 29, 2011
As we are a new guesthouse, I very much welcome this positive review. Customers should note that the operation of Phuket FLY Guesthouse is closely assisted by myself (Simon), the very experienced British manager from the nearby Phuket Airport Hotel, and FLY is intended to offer guests a slightly cheaper alternative to a resort room, whilst still offering all the benefits of easy access to the nearby airport for early departures and late arrivals. I appreciate suggestions and constructive criticism for ways to improve our service and facilities Simon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nathmacca wrote a review Mar 2012
17 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I also booked with the guesthouse via thier online system, the system got the dates wrong, by booking it as march instead of feburary, I tried to contact the owner several times but continually get a dead end, I've tried unsuccessfully several times to get a refund for my booking and have not received one, I have lodged complaints with PayPal and still the owner fails to reply, I strongly suggest anyone thinking of booking with this hotel to look elseware as the are dishonest! I've copies of all corispondance with the hotel, or lack there off on thier behalf!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon_Phuket, Manager at Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Responded Mar 28, 2012
The facts are that our booking system did not get the wrong dates - the customer booked for a specific date and we honoured their booking, holding their room throughout the night of intended stay. The customer failed to show (without advising us of this beforehand), and then attempted to receive a refund on their room booking via Paypal. However, Paypal fully investigated the customer's complaint and rejected it out of hand. The booking and payment was valid and the customer made a 'no-show'. Whilst I'm sorry that this customer feels it necessary to complaint, the important advise when booking at any hotel is to advise the hotel if you are unable to honour your booking, so that the room can be made available to another customer. Note that the normal terms for a no-show are payment of the first night of stay, which is exactly the fee we imposed in this case.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fancytravelreviews wrote a review Aug 2012
Calgary, Canada831 contributions328 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were transferred here from Phuket Airport Overnight Hotel, as they were overbooked. Upon arrival it was really awkward, a Thai lady came to us asking for our booking, we booked online and had nothing other than an email conformation. She only wanted to know how much we paid (1000 Baht / night – which we found really expensive), so she could collect the cash. After we paid she vanished. No official check in.

We logged on to their free Wi-Fi to read some reviews and check out their website. We here thrilled to hear that, as per the website they offer a free motorcycle to get to Nai Yang. Here is a quote from their website: “You can use our motorcycle for visiting Nai Yang beach or the nearby shops”. We went out and the very nice Thai family that didn’t speak English had no clue about the free motorcycle. They called someone and they offered to rent us a bike for 450 Baht for the afternoon!! The most we have ever paid in Thailand was 200 Baht for 24 hours. We hoped that someone that spoke English would be present or available to explain the situation and incorrect info on their website. This didn’t happen. We settled for a ride to Nai Yang from the nice Thai gentleman.

This hotel seems like it’s in the middle of nowhere, down a bunch of winding roads, so you will need a ride to get to any restaurants and to the airport. There was no access to shops, only a local men’s barber that ran his business out of his home. The ride to the airport we timed at just over 5 minutes. The Phuket Airport Overnight Hotel is much closer and is walking distance to the Airport. They offered us a free ride to the airport. We had an early flight and had to leave at 4:45 am. The nice Thai gentleman had an alarm set and happily gave us a ride. Great service on this end.

Our room was spacious and somewhat clean. There was a hot water boiler, cups, some instant coffee, 2 bottles of water, mini fridge, TV (no English channels), cold shower, clean towels. There were lots of mosquitos in the room, so many, more than outside. Thankfully there is a net over the bed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Kim S wrote a tip Feb 2012
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"don't stay here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Phuket area.
LOCATION
ThailandPhuket
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Phuket FLY Guesthouse - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Phuket FLY Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Naiyang Beach (1.2 km), James Bespoke Suit (1.2 km), and Sirinat National Park (1.0 km).
What are some restaurants close to Phuket FLY Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bakery JJJ, Peony Cafe & Restaurant, and The Beach Restaurant Nai Yang Beach.
Are there any historical sites close to Phuket FLY Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Phra Thong (7.7 km).
All Phuket HotelsPhuket Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PhuketHotels near Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars