We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

789 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 700: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The price for the female dorms was quite cheap ($7/night) compared to other hostels that I checked. There are breakfast included. I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights. The next morning, I followed their free tour to Old Quarter. The tour guide speak decent and understandable English. I even booked with them tour to Halong Bay the second day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naqibaheleena
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

All of the staff were amazing. We walked in straight from the airport and arrived to free beer on the rooftop. It is dfinitely tailored to younger adults but the hostel was amazing. The castaways tour was an amazing experience. Our group had the best mix of people. A really big thank you needs to go out to Erin, Allie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you're a solo traveller who's looking to stay somewhere cheap right in the thick of Hanoi and like to give yourself away to the random whims of travelling, then I highly recommend this hostel. If you're not that way inclined, then read on. We stayed in this hostel for 5 nights in total, all of which were in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 1 week ago

we booked a night's stay at the private ensuite standard room, and were quite disappointed with the room- it was dingy and there was absolutely no ventilation. The bedspread did not look fresh as well. We requested a change but the hostel was booked out and we could not

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aditismusings
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I will make sure all our private rooms are reviewed as per your feedback. I hope you had a great time visiting Vietnam and had lots of fun and adventure. Thanks James

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We got a private room which is located in a building across the street. Our room was on the fifth floor. It is a walk up with no elevator. There's cool art on the walls of the building. There's a happy hour with free beer on the roof of the main building. This hostel has a party vibe to it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BudgetJetsetter_com
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thanks for leaving us a great review, we really appreciate it. We are glad you liked our awesome artwork, done for us by travellers from all over the world, to keep you entertained on the stairs. Its also great to hear that you enjoyed our happy hours and nightly free beer on our rooftop bar, we for sure like...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Located right near the old town. Very loud- don't expect to get a good nights sleep. Staff not v friendly. I organised a airport pick up with them which was pricey but as I was landing at midnight it seemed the best thing to do. V rude greeting at the airport- no acknowledgement/confirmation or explanation of if they were the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derbyland
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate the feedback as we always want to improve and deliver the best possible experience for our guests. Its really great to hear that you enjoyed our free daily working tour with one of our knowledgable local guides. I would like to apologies for your experience...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in this hostel and travelled from Hanoi to Hoian through their buffalo run tour. My group was lucky enough to have My (pronounced Me) as a tour guide. He is hands down the best tour guide. He goes over and above to make sure you get the best experience and you can tell that he really cares about...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank xangelfacex
Alex_VBH, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great 5 star review. We are super pleased to hear that you enjoyed getting off the beaten track with our Buffalo Run trip. Its also fantastic that you felt that My, like all our awesome guides, is on top of his game. I will make sure he gets your brilliant...

Brunswick, Ohio
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We only stayed for one night, but this was a nice hostel. Good wifi, big lockers under the bunks, and a comfy common area with couches, bar, and TV. They were happy to let us leave our luggage overnight while we visited Halong Bay. The Canadian guy on staff was really friendly. Location is also great on the same block...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria M
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your very nice review of our hostel and really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will let our resident Canadian guy know your good feedback. Our charming building unfortunately cannot manage an elevator but if you do return please do check out our other location a few minutes across town which does. All the best...

Reviewed 29 November 2016

I stayed in pretty much all of the Vietnam backpackers hostels, this one was my favorite so far. I had good experiences here, with a friendly staff always willing to help me even if i was inebriated. I would advice this hostel to anyone staying a short or long time in Hanoi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sebastien G
Alex_VBH, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Sebastian Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. We are very happy our staff were able to help you whenever you needed it. Glad you got to check out some of our other locations in; Hanoi, Hue, Hoi An and Halong Bay. Thank you for staying with us, it was our pleasure helping...

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I spent a few nights at VBH. The service is great, dorms are clean and the hostel is very comfortable, make you feel at home! I went to Mai Chau via VBH and this trip was amazing, well organized and nice! Thanks for everything

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise F
Alex_VBH, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Louise Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Really pleased to hear that you felt at home with us. Glad you had an awesome time on our Mai Chau trip (its one of our favourites too) and just like all our trips we strive for them to be amazing and well organised. Thank you for staying...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 km away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.7 km away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 310 in Hanoi
1,091 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanoi City Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.0 km away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#8 of 310 in Hanoi
238 reviews
0.7 km away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: $13 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a lot of people”
 of 5 bubbles 341sebastieng, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't sleep under the AC”
 of 5 bubbles oisat, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms on in the second building are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles connore492, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“no elevator - get your glute workout on!, amazing staff, book your tours through this hostel”
 of 5 bubbles 684melb, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Well worth the walk”
 of 5 bubbles 910tanikak, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay