We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 16 June 2015

My friend and I stayed at Colombo Haven at the end of April, and it was a wonderful place!! The owners are lovely and welcoming people, and the Sri Lankan breakfast here was the best we had during our month-long trip!! Our room was really clean, comfortable and spacious, with a little terrace as well! The owners arranged a taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saundra G
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Saundra, Many thanks for staying with us at Colombo Haven and also for your kind review about us and our service. We greatly appreciate that. It was our great pleasure to have hosted you and been of service to you. We can't wait to see you (and/or your family and friends) again soon. Blessings, Jonathan

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 June 2015

I stayed at Colombo Haven May 20- May 29 and I can not say enough great things about it and about its hosts John and Shyamali! John and Shyamali were so welcoming when I first arrived having never been to Colombo or even to SL for that matter. They instantly made me feel at home and so comfortable. Their enthusiasm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura101460
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Laura, What a great review from someone who stayed with us for more than a week and experienced our start to end (Airport pick up, tours,stay, airport drop off) services. It sounds like you experienced the genuine warmth and hospitality shown by my manager John and team. It was our greatest of pleasures to have been able to host...

Pondicherry, India
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Loved every minute of my stay at Colombo Haven. I spent nearly all of my stay in Sri Lanka here, making only day trips to as far as I could go so that I could come back to my extremely comfortable room at the top of the stairs - the Margossa - and my very helpful and gracious hosts, John...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fanz08
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Franz08, First of all, thank you so very much for staying with us for all your days in Sri Lanka. Also, for a very detailed and heartfelt review about your experience with us. We greatly appreciate both. Hospitality is truly our heritage and I am so glad that my manager John and his wife showed that to you in...

Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Colombo haven from the beginning of January until the middle of March, while working as volunteers in Colombo. Since we have stayed at the haven for almost three months we have got a good picture of how the place is. We would like to start of with the good things: - nice big room with a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sofie O
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sofie, Though very disappointed to hear some of your complaints, we still appreciate guests providing us reviews. If there is any truth to any of your complaints, we will look into it. Below is my feedback on some of your complaints for the benefit of Trip Advisor guests. I would be sending you a personal email as well. I...

Japan
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We stayed at Colombo haven only 1 night, we are afraid didn't have enough time to spend but we had a great time there. John was very helpful about places and where to go for all we wanted to do and gave us ideas for our short time in CMB. The room was clean, very comfortable bed. we didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mim223
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and also for your kind review. Glad to hear that you had a good stay and look forward to coming back and staying with us again. It was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again as well. See you again soon.... Blessings, Jonathan (owner)

Reviewed 9 February 2015

I must begin by thanking John and his family, all of whom work at Colombo Haven! You were all fantastic and made our stay so special and easy. Me and my girlfriend have travelled extensively and have never experienced such hospitality and generosity as we did from all of you!!! We stayed at Colombo Haven twice, at the beginning and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Greg, Thank you so very much for such a fantastic raving and detailed review of our place and our services. My manager John and wife and the others who work here are very happy to have been able to serve you to this extend and get such an appreciation from you. It was definitely our pleasure hosting you and...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Extremely friendly and welcoming staff. Very comfortable bed and spacious room. We didn't have a hot water but you don't really need it in hot Colombo. The best breakfast that we had in Sri Lanka! Thank you for your hospitality!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominika30
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Dominika, Thanks for staying with us and also for your kind review. Sorry to hear that you didn't have hot water. We believe we did have enough during your stay, but since we use solar hot water tanks backed up with electric heaters, and the tank is on the roof, sometimes it takes a bit of time to come...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2014

We arrived at the Colombo haven slightly ragged after a 6 hour journey round the island, but the welcome from the manager, John, instantly made us feel relaxed and at home. The room was clean and quite big, although the view wasn't great - just a building site next door. There's some nice unusual touches, like a radio in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sdavid755
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us as well as your detailed review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (especially our breakfast:)! )and that my manager John and team were very helpful during your stay. We are also very happy that you would be coming back and staying with us. We greatly look...

San Diego
Reviewed 30 September 2014

stayed for two nights at the Colombo Haven when we first got to Colombo. The place is well located and seems clean. We stayed in the upstairs room which has a fun "disco shower". john's wife prepared the best breakfast in Sri Lanka. John is very knowledgeable about where to go and what to do in Sri Lanka and is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoMaxine
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review . Though very disappointed to hear about the misunderstandings with your transport pricing, we appreciate your time and effort to provide us a balanced review. First of all, as the owner of the B&B, I am happy about your experience with your stay at the Haven, but no comfort that your overall experience wasn't...

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewed 18 September 2014

The couple that looks after the establishment are the sweetest and upgraded the room when the rooftop floor was available. There was construction work going on all the time right behind the hotel and it was very noisy right from the morning. John, however, made sure they stopped by 10 or 11 at night. But that should be over by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanim A
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest bhondagaji, Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review about your stay with us. As you rightly pointed out, the construction you were talking about when you stayed with us last year is all done and is definitely much quieter now. We appreciate you staying with us and also recommending and willing to come back to...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 km away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#4 of 127 in Colombo
75 reviews
0.6 km away
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
Hostel Inn Colombo 7
#7 of 127 in Colombo
35 reviews
0.1 km away
Backpack Lanka
Backpack Lanka
#22 of 127 in Colombo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#34 of 130 in Colombo
27 reviews
0.2 km away
Ocean Studios Apartments Colombo
0.3 km away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#23 of 130 in Colombo
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With Daily rate of only $50-$60/night/double, and right next to the Sheraton Colombo (opening soon), why not stay in the best area in Colombo at an affordable B&B with 7 star hospitality? You can't miss Colombo Haven B&B either on the internet search, TripAdvisor or in person. We are one of the longest established B&Bs in Colombo. With a chef on site to make you fresh, customised breakfasts, lunch and dinner, we are as well known for our rooms and hospitality as our food. People even saying "it's the best food in the entire island" that they have had!(TripAdvisor reviews). Colombo Haven is a tastefully furnished four bedroom B&B located in the heart of the Colombo suburb of Colpity (Kollupitiya). Which is literally a stone's throw away from Liberty Plaza and is walking distance to places such as British council, American consulate, the presidential palace, Cinnamon Grand hotel, Galle Face Green, Liberty theatres, restaurants, carnival ice cream, Gangarama Temple, Vihara mahadevi park, etc. Facilities:• Air conditioned • modern bathrooms with Hot water• Five star hotel quality beds and linen• Freshly prepared breakfast,lunch, dinner, drinks • Free Internet/WiFi • 7 star hospitality!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Address: 263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you get the top floor room”
 of 5 bubbles KiwiTravellerXXXX, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Palmyra den has the ensuite bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles getaway25, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Margossa (on top floor) - less noise and didnt smell of stale smoke. Has an outside balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 624karenr, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Olegkunin, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with attached bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles DrAnirvan, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5