We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sunshine

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Sunshine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Sunshine
 Click to rate
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked a budget room for one night directly on the hotel's website.However, we were disappointed to see the room we were provided once we reached the hotel. The room was in a shady corner and resembled a store room; poorly lit. Everything inside the room was dilapidated. On approaching the front desk staff and complaining about the room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asif_K_A
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir I don't know why you have put a comment like this. I can remember you well. You booked a room from our web site not a a/c room you have booked normal cheapest budget room. We have not advertised n/ac budget rooms in our web site. Clearly it says that. By the way we have given you a...

Melboune
Reviewed 4 December 2016

You pay for WiFi. The bathroom had an unusual bidet. Our room offer a king-size bed & a double for 2 people. We could have managed with just the double and had more space. Improvement would be light shades on the globes, darker / heavier curtains on the windows & offer tea making facilities. The restaurant next door (Greenlands) offers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Asitha L, Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you for staying at Sunshine. We highly appreciate your comments.You have stayed in a budget room,We also have superior and deluxe rooms with more comforts. Please log in to our website www.hotelsunshine.lk. We are hoping to see you again in future,we will provide you with a better service. Sorry for the inconvenience caused. Merry Christmas & a...

Reviewed 18 October 2016

Spent 2 nights upon our arrival into Colombo..room was clean, comfortable bed, staff were friendly and helpful.. close to the ocean, short ride away from the green and the bus station... good for a couple of nights exploring Colombo. Close to shops and hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
Asitha L, Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for staying at Hotel Sunshine.We are really appreciate your comments about our hotel and the staff.We are looking forward to see you again. Best regards

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Spent 1 night @ Sunshine Hotel. Decently priced. Rooms are clean and have sufficient amenities. Staff are friendly and helpful. Ordered tea from the hotel and it was one of the best I have had in Colombo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sriram J
Asitha L, Director of Sales at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for comment about our hotel and the staff.We are looking forward see you again ones you come to Srilankan. Best regards

melbourne
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Very well located. Close to shops and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms and very clean. Can do with some upgrading of the amenities. Excellent value for the cost of room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana De S
Asitha L, Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam We are really appreciate for your comments about our hotel and the staff. We are looking forward to seeing you all ones you come to Srilanka again. Best regards

Male
Reviewed 24 January 2016

This is a cool hotel in town. this hotel is close to the beach. And with good quality room service comes friendly hotel staffs and a great hospitality.Cleanliness is good. One of the best things that i found is, this place is near to shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abaan2016
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thanks for the recommendation about our hotel and the staff.We are there to well come you back again ones you come to Srilanka. All the best Best regards

Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

Hotel is fine: clean, warm shower, basic. Could be better, since the location is a little far from the tourist sights. Although good to travel with a tuktuk, which are plenty available in front of the hotel. Breakfast/lunch/dinner available, no alcohol though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mieke V
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you for the recommendation about our hotel, staff and the location. We are pleased to well come you back again ones you visit to Srilanka. Best regards

Male
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is nice located having good view the railway passing by the Gale road passing by too good location. Have been here more ten 3 times. The room cleanliness needs to improve No wi-fi no tv It's near magisty city

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Momota47
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you if the recommendation about our hotel. Recently we have fixed wifi facility for the guest for very reasonable amount.We are there to well come you back again ones you come to Srilanka. Best regards

Slovenia
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I stayed in this hotel two times as I visited Colombo for a reasonable price 3,000 Rs per night. Basic room without air condition, clean and comfortable. Location is good, walking distance for Majestic City shopping centre, sea is close, u can find good restaurant around

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mojca_mg1
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the recommendation about our hotel.We are pleased to well come you back again and again ones you come to Srilanka. Best regards

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

I staied unfortunately 3 nights in that hotel...the worst experience in my life! The hotel was really dirty with beatles everywhere. During the night people of the staff used to going upside down screaming and making loud noise. The bathroom was so dirty and the shower doesn t work. The breakfast was pour and made with insipide food. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabio D
Asitha L, Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Madam We can remember you well. you came to our hotel from another hotel in colombo they have chased you out.We gave you the room because your daughter was not good condition at that time.You also had a hard time with her.The only problem was we asked for room charges but you didn't pay the money.We told you we...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.9 km away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#37 of 50 in Colombo
75 reviews
2.4 km away
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
#44 of 50 in Colombo
84 reviews
1.3 km away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#29 of 50 in Colombo
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
My Holiday Ticket (PVT) Ltd
My Holiday Ticket (PVT) Ltd
#23 of 130 in Colombo
11 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel The Saffron
Hotel The Saffron
#45 of 134 in Colombo
49 reviews
0.9 km away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#5 of 130 in Colombo
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A/c and n/ac comfortable rooms with free wifi / elevator/24hrs room service/laundry /24hrs security / Taxi service/ Master / Visa card accepted / close to all major shopping malls and hospitals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Address: 5A Shrubbery Gardens Road, Colombo 00400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: $51 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sunshine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet street & most drivers know it.”
SusanM952, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try to get a room away from the elevator.”
337brucep, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are the same.”
dianades2015, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First check your mattress before agreeing with a room. If you see bugs, or traces of bed bugs (poop in the form of black dots, little spots of blood, etc), for your own safety ask for another room!”
BlissfulMara, 4 Jul 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
DARSHAN_PENDSE, 29 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates