We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Sunshine

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Sunshine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 37: English reviews
Melboune
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

You pay for WiFi. The bathroom had an unusual bidet. Our room offer a king-size bed & a double for 2 people. We could have managed with just the double and had more space. Improvement would be light shades on the globes, darker / heavier curtains on the windows & offer tea making facilities. The restaurant next door (Greenlands) offers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Spent 2 nights upon our arrival into Colombo..room was clean, comfortable bed, staff were friendly and helpful.. close to the ocean, short ride away from the green and the bus station... good for a couple of nights exploring Colombo. Close to shops and hotels.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
Asitha L, Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for staying at Hotel Sunshine.We are really appreciate your comments about our hotel and the staff.We are looking forward to see you again. Best regards More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Spent 1 night @ Sunshine Hotel. Decently priced. Rooms are clean and have sufficient amenities. Staff are friendly and helpful. Ordered tea from the hotel and it was one of the best I have had in Colombo.

Helpful?
Thank Sriram J
Asitha L, Director of Sales at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for comment about our hotel and the staff.We are looking forward see you again ones you come to Srilankan. Best regards More 

melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Very well located. Close to shops and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms and very clean. Can do with some upgrading of the amenities. Excellent value for the cost of room.

Helpful?
Thank Diana De S
Asitha L, Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam We are really appreciate for your comments about our hotel and the staff. We are looking forward to seeing you all ones you come to Srilanka again. Best regards More 

Male
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2016

This is a cool hotel in town. this hotel is close to the beach. And with good quality room service comes friendly hotel staffs and a great hospitality.Cleanliness is good. One of the best things that i found is, this place is near to shops.

Helpful?
Thank abaan2016
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thanks for the recommendation about our hotel and the staff.We are there to well come you back again ones you come to Srilanka. All the best Best regards More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

Hotel is fine: clean, warm shower, basic. Could be better, since the location is a little far from the tourist sights. Although good to travel with a tuktuk, which are plenty available in front of the hotel. Breakfast/lunch/dinner available, no alcohol though.

Helpful?
Thank Mieke V
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you for the recommendation about our hotel, staff and the location. We are pleased to well come you back again ones you visit to Srilanka. Best regards More 

Male
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is nice located having good view the railway passing by the Gale road passing by too good location. Have been here more ten 3 times. The room cleanliness needs to improve No wi-fi no tv It's near magisty city

Helpful?
Thank Momota47
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you if the recommendation about our hotel. Recently we have fixed wifi facility for the guest for very reasonable amount.We are there to well come you back again ones you come to Srilanka. Best regards More 

Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I stayed in this hotel two times as I visited Colombo for a reasonable price 3,000 Rs per night. Basic room without air condition, clean and comfortable. Location is good, walking distance for Majestic City shopping centre, sea is close, u can find good restaurant around

Helpful?
Thank mojca_mg1
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the recommendation about our hotel.We are pleased to well come you back again and again ones you come to Srilanka. Best regards More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

I staied unfortunately 3 nights in that hotel...the worst experience in my life! The hotel was really dirty with beatles everywhere. During the night people of the staff used to going upside down screaming and making loud noise. The bathroom was so dirty and the shower doesn t work. The breakfast was pour and made with insipide food. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fabio D
Asitha L, Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Madam We can remember you well. you came to our hotel from another hotel in colombo they have chased you out.We gave you the room because your daughter was not good condition at that time.You also had a hard time with her.The only problem was we asked for room charges but you didn't pay the money.We told you we... More 

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Dortmund
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2015

The rooms are Not really nice and clean. It is cleaned by Young men around 20 - 30. they give their best, but the carpets are really Dirty and the bathrroom Too. I did Not feel comfortable but the People were nice and Friendly and tried their best. Still quality matters. The Walls are thin and we could Hear in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abinka A
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feed back about our hotel. Best regards More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.5 km away
Monsoon Suites
Monsoon Suites
#31 of 122 in Colombo
56 reviews
4.7 km away
Shalimar Hotel
Shalimar Hotel
#34 of 122 in Colombo
192 reviews
5.2 km away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#9 of 122 in Colombo
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Ocean Studios Apartments Colombo
1.1 km away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 122 in Colombo
379 reviews
0.8 km away
Highbury Colombo
Highbury Colombo
#14 of 122 in Colombo
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A/c and n/ac comfortable rooms with free wifi / elevator/24hrs room service/laundry /24hrs security / Taxi service/ Master / Visa card accepted / close to all major shopping malls and hospitals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Address: 5A Shrubbery Gardens Road, Colombo 00400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: $44 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunshine 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sunshine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet street & most drivers know it.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanM952, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try to get a room away from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 337brucep, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles dianades2015, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First check your mattress before agreeing with a room. If you see bugs, or traces of bed bugs (poop in the form of black dots, little spots of blood, etc), for your own safety ask for another room!”
 of 5 bubbles BlissfulMara, 4 Jul 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles DARSHAN_PENDSE, 29 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay