We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-10-01 2017-10-02
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    YMCA Tourist Hostel

    39, Bristol Street, Colombo, Sri Lanka
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    2017-10-01 2017-10-02
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in ColomboSee available hotels in Colombo
    Traveller (15)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Dining (1)
    Cinnamon Grand Colombo
    3,635 reviews
    #4 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    Galle Face Hotel Colombo
    2,943 reviews
    #5 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
    2,296 reviews
    #3 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    OZO Colombo
    1,400 reviews
    #13 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    Overview
    • Excellent5%
    • Very good12%
    • Average26%
    • Poor12%
    • Terrible45%
    5 days ago
    “If there is no other option...”
    7 Aug 2017
    “Worst Hotel Ever! ”
    Free Internet
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Cinnamon Grand Colombo
    3,635 reviews
    #4 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    Galle Face Hotel Colombo
    2,943 reviews
    #5 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
    2,296 reviews
    #3 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    OZO Colombo
    1,400 reviews
    #13 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (56)
    There are newer reviews for YMCA Tourist Hostel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    21 - 25 of 36 reviews

    Reviewed 15 August 2013

    Colombo YMCA is terrible. We asked the manager for dorm rooms because we thought the prices were triple the amount that was given in the Lonely planet. When he said all the dorms were booked we got a really bad double room, without bathroom or...More

    4  Thank Boudewijnhugo
    Response from Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist HostelResponded 25 October 2013

    It does seem that an organised group of people with ulterior motives, are bent on tarnishing the image and reputation of the YMCA by making frivolous accusations and feeding inaccurate information on Trip Advisor. As a matter of policy, the YMCA caters to everybody, both...More

    Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

    Dirty floor and bed with matresse black and green, crawling coackroaches, smelly, absolutely horrible. Bathroom probably was never cleaned. Ah and they also asked if we were christian (????) Worst place we have ever been to, ever. Ever.

    3  Thank Lobtrip
    Reviewed 4 May 2013

    Massive bed bugs, high prices contrary to the lonely planets guide (2,500 - 4,000 rp), dismal service, upfront payment required, 100 rp membership fee additional, window's un-lockable, female showers viewable from men's change room. We likened it to what we thought a 50's prison cell...More

    3  Thank ENWO
    Reviewed 15 April 2013

    The YMCA in central Colombo is a terrible place. It is perhaps the only budget accommodation in central Colombo (location is good) but for you can find much better places for little more money within a short tuk tuk ride. The bulding is in terrible...More

    1  Thank diegoemme
    Reviewed 19 March 2013

    What the Lonely Planet was doing recommending this place I'll never know. I arrived there tired at midnight with the expectation of basic, cheap accommodation. What I found was a hostel that I can only assume was in the Lonely Planet for the first time...More

    2  Thank Joe P
    Cinnamon Grand Colombo
    3,635 reviews
    #4 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    Galle Face Hotel Colombo
    2,943 reviews
    #5 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
    2,296 reviews
    #3 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    OZO Colombo
    1,400 reviews
    #13 of 54 hotels in Colombo
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    Details
    • Number of rooms
    • 19
    • Location
    • Sri Lanka >
    • Western Province >
    • Colombo
    • Also Known As
    • Ymca Tourist Hotel Colombo
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (15)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (13)
    Bathroom (7)
    Nearby
    Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
    2,296 reviews
    .83 km away
     
    Cinnamon Grand Colombo
    3,635 reviews
    1.93 km away
     
    Galle Face Hotel Colombo
    2,943 reviews
    1.69 km away
     
    OZO Colombo
    1,400 reviews
    5.99 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Ikoi Tei
    265 reviews
    .30 km away
    Graze Kitchen
    153 reviews
    .33 km away
    Ministry of Crab
    2,718 reviews
    .30 km away
    Semondu
    451 reviews
    .31 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Sanota Walkers
    123 reviews
    .89 km away
    Dutch Hospital Shopping Precinct
    708 reviews
    .30 km away
    Galle Face Green
    1,288 reviews
    1.44 km away
    Temple of Sri Kailawasanathan Swami Devasthanam Kovil
    222 reviews
    1.38 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from YMCA Tourist Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "The building is very close to a main road and as the doors only have slats on them the noise comes in from..."
    Read review
    "All rooms are good."
    Read review
    "Try to get a room on the 1st floor because they dont have lifts. If you have sleeping bags, you might prefer..."
    Read review
    "just avoid YMCA colombo at any costs"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing