We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Jerusalem Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Jerusalem Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
Israelandia, GO
Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent 2 days there and was impressed by the service. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The Jerusalem Hostel is located in the Center of Jerusalem. Very close to the Old City, maybe a 10 walk to see Antiquity at it's best. ANother 10 walk the other way is an outdoor market with an amazing assortment of foods,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmyglasovich
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Jerusalem hotel has a good location, value for budget. Staff very friendly. I will recommend travelers who are looking for a place to stay while in Holy land. Jerusalem Little Hostel is a place. It is an attractive location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngadipierrot
jerusalemhostel, Front Office Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Pierrot, Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the future :) All the best, Maya

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dirty rooms, cockroaches and probably bedbugs though I can't be certain. Something came up and we tried to check out early (after booking beds in advance) and the girl at reception freaked out at us. Listen, we already paid for the beds in advance, the hostel was not losing any money over it- what's the deal?? What happened to customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aliza R
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Michael and Aliza, After further inspecting the case, we've understood a few things. All of your complaints about the room were taken care of the same day, the room was sprayed with insecticide, the sheets were changed and the room was thoroughly inspected and nothing harmful was found. We tried as best we could to make your stay with...

Reviewed 13 December 2016

I would have to say the staff are premiere. They have a number of options to help you from SIM cards to transportation. They can save you money by helping you find what you need at a reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
jerusalemhostel, Front Office Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you so much for your kind words! We always do our best to help our guests with whatever they need and we are happy to hear that we were so helpful! We loved having you stay here and look forward to seeing you in the future. All the best, Maya Jerusalem Hostel staff

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

I spent 5 days in this hostel, and it was really well, the service is good, the people is really kind, the price include a simple breakfast but delicious, you have terrace on the roof, and the best thing about this hostel I think is the location, you can walk from there to almost every tourist place. They are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emafer19
jerusalemhostel, Front Office Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Hi emafer19, Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you stay at our hostel; we are especially happy you enjoyed the shabbat meal! We look forward to seeing you in the future! Maya Hostel staff

Israel
Reviewed 11 December 2016

very central location, most of Jerusalem new & old city's top interest spots at walking distance, warm ambiance, cheap & convenient place... reliable staff informing in various languages, great breakfast, outstanding Shabbat evening dinner experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 250amir
jerusalemhostel, Front Office Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Amir, Thank you for the kind words! I'm very happy that you got to be in the Shabbat meal and that you enjoyed it so much All the best, Itamar The Jerusalem Hostel Staff

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We stayed in this hostel fortunately for one night . In the confirmation email they wrote that the check in was possible from 2 pm, but actually we had to wait 8pm for to have our room, because Saturday is shabbat! So why didn't they wrote it in the email confirmation? It's incorrect! I payed for to have my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripare
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Tripare, I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused as a result of the arrival to the city on Saturday, Correct, the reception registers guests from 20:00 at Saturday evening But, in the booking confirmation that is sent in advance we mention the possibility to enter the room on Saturday afternoon, As well as late night (when reception is closed) We...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 1 November 2016

the reception staff were great. The inception of the night market on Thursdays is fantastic. The place really buzzes. nothing was too difficult for the staff to handle. would I stay there again? definitely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baggiolinda
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Linda it was grate to host you with us! we are waiting for you to come back, thank you for you kind word, happy to hear you enjoined the Thursday Night Market . all the best- Adie and the Jerusalem hostel staff

Reviewed 18 October 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at the Jerusalem hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms and hallways were clean and neat, they do a great job of keeping the place tidy. It also has a very good location, right across the street from the Jaffa market, as well as a short walk to Jaffa gate and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian W
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Brian, it was great to host you and thank you for the wonderful review. hope to see you again in the future. Dan and the staff

Bologna, Italy
Reviewed 15 September 2016

What I appreciated the most is probably the perfect location. You can reach all the main attractions by walking and also enjoying a cosy atmospehere in a really well kept hostel. Moreovere the price is really good for being in a such good position.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Federica S
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Federicia thank you for your review happy to hear you enjoyed the city and well used our location. hope to see you again the future Adie and the Jerusalem hostel staff

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#21 of 96 in Jerusalem
548 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#2 of 96 in Jerusalem
229 reviews
Shamai Suites
#23 of 96 in Jerusalem
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hostel is the first hostel in west Jerusalem. we turned a historic beautiful building into a nice, warm, and cool hostel. waiting to see you here :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Jerusalem Hostel

Address: 44 Jaffa | Zion Square, Jerusalem 9422207, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Price Range: $26 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jerusalem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Jerusalem Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Jerusalem Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are Dorm Rooms, but also Private rooms. It's a matter of preference. I was in a dorm room and they're all quite good.”
 of 5 bubbles cmyglasovich, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“best views”
 of 5 bubbles ngadipierrot, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask their opinion on area accomidations and you won't be let down!”
 of 5 bubbles V1534UAjamesm, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“best male dorm is room 2”
 of 5 bubbles 250amir, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Want to get to sleep? ask for a rear room, but expect early morning noise from adjacent businesses (garbage collection)”
 of 5 bubbles labalbo, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay