We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
There is little here that met or exceeded expectations. Things were disappointing all round. There was no orientation, welcome or guidance to the property. Don't make the mistake of getting an early transfer to the island before check in as they will not give you...More
After about 30mins boat trip to the island, we were treated with an island cocktail and taken to our bungalow. We were disappointed with the views and asked to be moved which we were the following 2 nights. The bungalows are beautifully appointed although quite...More
We stayed in an overwater bungalow for 2 nights, it was our honeymoon and decided to spend our last 2 nights on Ilot Maitre for a bit of luxury. The boat ride over was fine, it was a nice day so we could sit on...More
1 Thank Bernics
Response from GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island ResortResponded 29 April 2016
Thank you for having shared with us your comments. To improve our services we shall inform our teams.
The resort is still very pleasant, clean and the staff is great very helpful and friendly.
We had a bungalow over the sea:very comfy, clean, big,TVs,complete with a kettle ( teas and coffees)and a fridge. A nice terrasse with stairs going down the sea and...More
Booked here because it looked so lovely in the photos, and we wanted to stay in a bungalow over the lagoon and this seemed the only option i could find in Noumea area. The bungalow as fantastic. Really spacious with good sized living area, separate...More
Response from GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island ResortResponded 2 April 2016
Thank you for having shared with us your comment.
To improve our services we shall inform our teams.
Hi Arnie, we did Escapade with Alfred and Genie of Noumea Shore tours.(we arrived by ship) it was amazing and the food, was excellent which was included in the price.. we paid $140 p/p but contact them and see what they can... More
Hi Arnie, we did Escapade with Alfred and Genie of Noumea Shore tours.(we arrived by ship) it was amazing and the food, was excellent which was included in the price.. we paid $140 p/p but contact them and see what they can offer :)
Hi Lori, we just came back. The overwater bungalow is beautiful. Our breakfast was included. Lunch "snacks" is about $Aus 16 each. Lunch buffet cost us $Aus 110 each so don't have lunch buffet, do the snacks which is a stew... More
Hi Lori, we just came back. The overwater bungalow is beautiful. Our breakfast was included. Lunch "snacks" is about $Aus 16 each. Lunch buffet cost us $Aus 110 each so don't have lunch buffet, do the snacks which is a stew with chips!! Dinner was $Aus 110 each but they gave us 50% off dinners. No food avail at the bar just cocktails & beer but only open on weekends. We were very disappointed in the buffet. The seafood was not fresh or of good quality. As the days went on the buffet turned into leftovers. Sausages and tuna from the day before was turned into a salad with mayo. Unfortunately there is nothing else to eat so you are a bit stuck. I'd go straight to the grill which is in the buffet and cooked for you on the spot, but even the meat is poor quality but at least you know it's not leftovers. Grab some food from the mainland before going over. The desserts are really good and cheese selection was great. No crackers though so chop up some baguettes. They had a large selection of wine. A very small list of cocktails and the staff were not trained in making cocktails or a good coffee. The rooms only have a small bar fridge & kettle so you can't prepare much. We joked about catching our own fish & cooking it on a fire on the beach! If you have a snake phobia don't go! I saw 25 snakes in 4 days. They crawl up the stairs from the water & sun themselves on your deck. Keep your door closed! They are not aggressive but they are venomous although they'd have to bite you in between your toes etc as their heads are small. You'll see heaps of turtles which are gorgeous. Practice your French as the staff have little English skills. We had fun and the over water bungalow was perfect. Loved the shower and marble bathroom. Bedroom was Devine and view amazing. What let us down was the food and customer service. Basically you are paying for the uniqueness of the room and location. Good luck... I hope you have a better holiday than us, maybe they'll lift their game in the food department, because you are paying a lot for an RSL /bowling club type meal. Ps Fiji is awesome plus they have overwater bungalows near Mana Island. Just a thought. xx
Are you sure you want to delete this answer?
"Book the over-water bungalows - enjoy the total serenity"