We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa

Save
Share
White Sands Road, Port Vila, Efate Vanuatu
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Destinia.com
Prestigia.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (257)
Dining (42)
Room & Suite (17)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Updated 20-08-13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa
Updated 20-08-13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 51 hotels in Port Vila
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Peaceful, private, romantic and secluded.Voted Vanuatu's best luxury resort in 2018, Tamanu on the Beach is located on its own private white sand beach, where you can feel a million miles away from reality just 20 mins from downtown Port Vila. Tamanu On The Beach allows you to take a breath and unwind, coupled with the sand between your toes and the waves at your doorstep. Tamanu is perfect for romance and weddings or just to do nothing and relax in our one of our 15 modern, Caribbean style villas that offer every luxury you need
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Spa
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
French
160Reviews13Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 129
  • 22
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Geoff G wrote a review Aug. 2020
Edmonton, Australia17 contributions21 helpful votes
This is what a resort should all be about. Prime location, Friendly staff and guests made to feel at home. There is a relaxing laid back approach where time is island time and for people that travel you know what I mean. The ride from the airport to the resort is part of the experience a bumpy dusty road passing shacks and fields abandoned houses and abounded cars makes you think, OMG where are we going. Then BAM, suddenly out of nowhere the landscape gives way to manicured lawns, swaying palms water features and welcome cocktail drinks all set with postcard-perfect views. The entire team from the GM down to the local handyman have one agenda, and that is is make your stay AMAZING. So many resorts these days, especially in AUS, seem to base the level of service you receive based on the total of your spend. There is nothing too hard for the team from last-minute requests including bonfire dinner on the beach or couples massages the team go above and beyond. Looking forward to booking a flight back here ASAP.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you can get a beachfront villa.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Terri R wrote a review Feb. 2020
Sydney, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful 5 day visit to the resort, staying in a beachfront villa with a plunge pool. The room was gorgeous, with some lovely personal touches so it feels boutique. We did not do very much so we had total relaxation, and this location is perfect for that. Staff were so lovely and the food great. I really had to pinch myself a few times as it truly felt like easy, relaxed and simple paradise
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ChezBill wrote a review Feb. 2020
Akureyri, Iceland174 contributions90 helpful votes
16 spacious villas. All of an excellent standard, some have small pools. Beds are true king size and extremely comfortable. The staff are friendly and welcoming. You feel like you are at home. The food is exceptional. Good variety of choices and delicious. All served with a smile. The hotel managers are accommodating and personable. The resort is exceptional. The ocean view is just wonderful. You can do a lot or a little depending on what you want. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
NicStoney wrote a review Jan. 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Dont get me wrong, the resort itself is beautiful and the view is just picturesque, however the lack of consistency and service was incredibly frustrating. The Restaurant - what you read on the menu, is not what is served. The lobster that they rave on about in all of their advertising, didn't make an appearance until the very last day of our 9 day holiday after multiple requests, and it was unfortunately served to us undercooked/raw. We had to catch a taxi to another resort just to try coconut crab. The chef will only cook steak and burgers medium rare, despite being asked not to on several occasions. Often times they would have no drinking coconuts available for days simply because no one had climbed the trees. Room charges - you are not asked to sign or view a receipt at the end of each meal/drinks, so you have no idea what you are being charged. Upon check out, they present you with a bill with simply each day's date and the amount charged (no other details). We requested a copy of every transaction charged to our room (much to the their annoyance) and discovered that we had been overcharged by $220 AUD, which they then credited thankfully. But we would not have known this otherwise. The room - lovely and spacious, beautiful design. We had a two bedroom 2 bathroom villa, and unfortunately the shower in the second bedroom had very limited water pressure and was only occasionally hot, but was OK to have a quick rinse. The usual managers were away during our stay so perhaps things are done differently when they are present. I also wonder if the Israeli chef was their usual chef as the meals were so inconsistent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona J, General Manager at Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa
Responded Feb. 3, 2020
Dear NicStoney, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not match your expectations. Our team work very hard to deliver the very best and usually we achieve this, I am sorry in this instance that we were not able to. We take on board your comments and use them as an opportunity to learn and improve for the future. In terms of the restaurant we take on board what you have mentioned and will share your feedback with the chef. With regards to coconut crab as this is an critically endangered species we do not serve this at the resort. All of our lobster is local and as such we are dependent on the seas and fisherman. We don't serve frozen lobster as we want the best possible quality, and so unfortunately supply can be sporadic. Our hotel systems provide your bill as a summary per meal, and our team are always very happy to print each individual charges. I am surprised you hear that you feel our team were 'annoyed' to do as this has never been an issue and is something we do fairly routinely. Our focus is always to deliver a great stay and provide an opportunity for the wonderful Ni-Vanuatu hospitality to shine. We hope that one day we see you back again and can show you the true Tamanu experience. Warm regards Fiona
Read more
Katrina D wrote a review Jan. 2020
18 contributions5 helpful votes
My 4 girl friends and I went to Tamanu on the Beach for a week away to just relax and spend some quality time together. We had the absolute best time!! The villas are so stunning, we had villa 16 which has a lovely pool out the front and 2 bedrooms. It was super spacious and modern, and the care put into the facilities of the resort is just amazing. The food at the restaurant is fantastic!! My friends and I especially recommend the seafood curry and the beef tagliata- so good! The people who work there are so so lovely, they went absolutely above and beyond for us and were so friendly. The fire show on the Tuesday night is a must! We also loved the Tamanu Tour on the Wednesday that took us around the island. It was honestly so so relaxing and what we all needed. A special thankyou to Alvin, Ellen and Nicholas for really looking after us, and to Vanessa for helping us with payment at the end! We had such an amazing week. Would definitely recommend staying here if you’re going to Vanuatu!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona J, General Manager at Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa
Responded Feb. 3, 2020
Dear Katrina, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate your comments and have shared your feedback with the team. The staff really get a kick out of seeing their name in print, so thank you! The tour is a great experience we agree, a wonderful way to get a taste of the island. We wish you the best and hope to see you all again. Warm regards, Fiona
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$274 - US$402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
VanuatuEfatePort Vila
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Reef Vanuatu Zoological (2.7 km), Rarru Cascades (7.3 km), and Eden on the River (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tamanu on the Beach, Eratap Beach Resort Restaurant, and Ripples.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ekasup Village (10.2 km).
Does Tamanu on the Beach Resort and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.