We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Melanesian Port Vila

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Melanesian Port Vila
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Melanesian Port Vila
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Considering the price we paid we were very impressed with everything! The rooms were a decent size with a tv, fridge, safe deposit box, phone. Cleaned to an excellent standard as requested. Breakfast was great. We weren't expecting much but there was pancakes, toast, muffins, pastries, crossaints (which were so good!) cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice, tea and coffee. We certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelAnnaW
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear TravelAnnaW, Thank you for staying with The Melanesian hotel. We value your fantastic feedback. Hope to see you on your return trip back to Vanuatu.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Not much to look at from the outside, the Melanesian opens nicely into a lovely pool-centered courtyard overlooked by most of the rooms. The staff is friendlyThe rooms are quite lovely, with sculpted towels and flowers greeting the weary traveller. I had a comfortable bed, on the firm side, and a nice terrace overlooking the pool. The included breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kilrwat
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear kilrwat, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian hotel. Your comments are much welcomed. We acknowledge the need to provide more variety within our breakfast buffet choices and the need also to provide wireless service within our rooms. We look forward to your company with us in future.

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The Sunday night cultural show & buffet is well worth the visit. The cultural show is informative, engaging and interactive. The buffet dinner has a good selection of salads, meats and vegetables which are replaced often. There was a small range of deserts but limited numbers - I missed out so can't really review them. This was a great night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pippiwillow
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Pippiwillow, We are very grateful to you for choosing to stay with us at the Melanesian. Your comments are indeed appreciated. We will indeed look to expanding our choice of desserts to better cater for our customer culinary needs. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Port Vila, Vanuatu.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Stayed here for almost a week and enjoyed each day. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. it was interesting to learn how hotels operate in the pacific as it was my first trip there. There is a basic breakfast (which the hotel really needs to add variety or change it around) and if you want to order other items,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kolyn_666
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear kolyn_666, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Melanesian hotel. We very much appreciate the great feedback. We take particular note of the improvements suggested with regards to breakfast varieties and related charging arrangements. We look forward to seeing you the next time you return to Port Vila.

Adelaide
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

A lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Staff are multi lingual, and nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are clean and in the Hybiscus rooms there are cooking utensils , a microwave and a two burner cook top. The Orchid room is the next room up, and is spacious and very light and has a balcony to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 595prudencep
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear 595prodencep, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian hotel. Your comments and feedback is well received and will be forwarded to department concern for staff appraisals in ensuring the comfort of our guests. The four room types that we have can assist guest in making booking preference. From self-contained units to a 2-bedroom apartment. We are sure to see...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Went with my mum. Loved the place and the staff. Only issue was we paid on credit card on checkout. Few days later I was charged an amount of about $300 extra. I contacted the hotel. It took weeks an some stuffing around to get it refunded. Still no explanation as to why I was charged. The Westpac bank there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Awesometripmaster
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Awesometripmaster, Thank you for your stay at the Melanesian Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely apologies for the prolong process in refunding you due to overcharge on credit card. The error at hand was inserting the incorrect amount, however during the process of check out, neither noticed the error of...

South Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Business trip and stayed in an Orchid room on the top floor. Overall, service is friendly, but hit and miss. Location is convenient to town with a supermarket nearby. The room itself was pleasantly decorated with cane furniture and a mosquito net (for the look more than use, I think) and small balcony with a view over the pool. Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flight99
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Flight99, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian Hotel during your business trip. Your comments and feedback is well received. We do apologies for the noise created downstairs at the bar, however our department concern is now notified of this and to ensure staff minimize the noise. Now that Vanuatu is experience earthquakes some of the times, we take...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Not what I expected, the room was a reasonable size, breakfast was average, if I had stayed at the hotel for a holiday I would have been disappointed but I was there for business so it was ok, cocktails are a struggle and a bit of a wait, staff are very friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelejonestravel
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Michelejonestravel, Thank you for staying with us during your business trip. Your feedback and comments is well received. We apologies for the slowness in getting cocktails in time, however we will sure to forward this to our department concern for action. We welcome you to visit us again on your next visit.

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

As we travel with two children we were surprised that no booking engine could book a room for four at the Melanesian, as it looked very suited for families (and it was). The trick is to book an orchid room with one child and write the hotel. I'm not sure why they have not fixed this with the booking sites....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank futtrup
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear futtrup, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian hotel during your visit. Your comments is well received. We are glad to hear that you did enjoyed your stay with us. With spacious rooms we can have extra bed upon request especially when travelling with children. Located close to the heart of CBD, it is more convenient for our guest...

huntington beach
Reviewed 26 June 2016

The room was clean and reasonably spacious,the bathroom dated ,the food quite good,service ran on island time,BUT,never try to order a cocktail to relax by the pool with,the bartenders have absolutely no idea...we gave up after 5 yes 5 completely unsuccessful attempts at getting one,they even stuffed up the cocktail of the day.There is no wifi in the rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clydemaz
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Clydemaz, Thank you for staying with us and your comment and feedback well received. Your comments are now forwarded to the departments concern. We take note also on the internet assess points only at the Lobby area and pre-paid in rooms. We welcome you again on your next visit to us and hope that the issues raised will be...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.8 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
116 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
491 reviews
0.8 km away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#38 of 47 in Port Vila
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
165 reviews
9.4 km away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
341 reviews
1.4 km away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is must see! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $112 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Melanesian Port Vila staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One and two bedroom apartments are located at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles melk1975, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter, but pricier.”
 of 5 bubbles kilrwat, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“taking a room on the 2nd and 3rd levels are great. all rooms face the pool”
 of 5 bubbles kolyn_666, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles michelejonestravel, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The apartments are at the back and back onto a main road. They are a little more noisy than regular rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Kerren2015, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay