We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Melanesian Port Vila

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Melanesian Port Vila
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Melanesian Port Vila
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Went with my mum. Loved the place and the staff. Only issue was we paid on credit card on checkout. Few days later I was charged an amount of about $300 extra. I contacted the hotel. It took weeks an some stuffing around to get it refunded. Still no explanation as to why I was charged. The Westpac bank there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Awesometripmaster
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Awesometripmaster, Thank you for your stay at the Melanesian Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely apologies for the prolong process in refunding you due to overcharge on credit card. The error at hand was inserting the incorrect amount, however during the process of check out, neither noticed the error of...

South Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Business trip and stayed in an Orchid room on the top floor. Overall, service is friendly, but hit and miss. Location is convenient to town with a supermarket nearby. The room itself was pleasantly decorated with cane furniture and a mosquito net (for the look more than use, I think) and small balcony with a view over the pool. Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flight99
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Flight99, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian Hotel during your business trip. Your comments and feedback is well received. We do apologies for the noise created downstairs at the bar, however our department concern is now notified of this and to ensure staff minimize the noise. Now that Vanuatu is experience earthquakes some of the times, we take...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Not what I expected, the room was a reasonable size, breakfast was average, if I had stayed at the hotel for a holiday I would have been disappointed but I was there for business so it was ok, cocktails are a struggle and a bit of a wait, staff are very friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelejonestravel
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Michelejonestravel, Thank you for staying with us during your business trip. Your feedback and comments is well received. We apologies for the slowness in getting cocktails in time, however we will sure to forward this to our department concern for action. We welcome you to visit us again on your next visit.

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

As we travel with two children we were surprised that no booking engine could book a room for four at the Melanesian, as it looked very suited for families (and it was). The trick is to book an orchid room with one child and write the hotel. I'm not sure why they have not fixed this with the booking sites....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank futtrup
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear futtrup, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian hotel during your visit. Your comments is well received. We are glad to hear that you did enjoyed your stay with us. With spacious rooms we can have extra bed upon request especially when travelling with children. Located close to the heart of CBD, it is more convenient for our guest...

huntington beach
Reviewed 26 June 2016

The room was clean and reasonably spacious,the bathroom dated ,the food quite good,service ran on island time,BUT,never try to order a cocktail to relax by the pool with,the bartenders have absolutely no idea...we gave up after 5 yes 5 completely unsuccessful attempts at getting one,they even stuffed up the cocktail of the day.There is no wifi in the rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clydemaz
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Clydemaz, Thank you for staying with us and your comment and feedback well received. Your comments are now forwarded to the departments concern. We take note also on the internet assess points only at the Lobby area and pre-paid in rooms. We welcome you again on your next visit to us and hope that the issues raised will be...

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 4 June 2016

It's old and run down but as its not too expensive it's ok. Nobody knocks themselves out to help you or provide good service. Breakfast is fine but you have to pay extra eggs. Pool is also old and not quite as clean as some. Place has no charm. Would be fine for business but would not recommend it for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerren2015
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Karren2015. Thank you for staying with us at the Melanesian. We are glad to hear your positive feedback on our service. The Continental buffet breakfast is basic as experienced and extra at a small cost. The pool has not be refurbish lately after the TC Pam, however planing is underway to re-do the swimming pool. We hope that once...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Melanesian is an OK hotel for business purposes - not sure if I'd like to stay for longer on holiday? The rooms are excellent, clean - bathrooms are dated though. You also need to be careful which room you select as you could be next to a very noisy road at the back of the hotel. There are also serviced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Steven, Thank you for being a repeated guest and the positive feedback received. You comments and feedback on slow service is forwarded to department concern. We are located close to business center and easy assist to transport to go places especially to near by restaurants. We apologies for the loud music from the Oasis bar, however your comment is...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

If you are travelling on business - avoid. Expensive 'motel' like operation with fairly basic rooms, incredibly slow/frustrating service and very poor continental breakfast. Arranging transport was a major hassle. Room next to a noisy road. No lift for luggage. Wouldn't stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thank you for staying with us and your positive feedback received. Vanuatu restaurant around town would be priced expensive, however we try to offer specials of day and other menus to suit budgeted travelers as well. The continental buffet breakfast is inclusive in our accommodation rates and is very basic, however we also offer full or mega breakfast...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Our third time at this hotel. Mainly a business hotel we love this as most guests are out on business and we have the pool to ourselves. Great value for money in good position close to Pt Vila. Most rooms have been updated. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment which is spacious and nicely decorated. Family we travelled with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne P
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Obviously still getting back on track after tropical cyclone Pam. In need of a good paint job but the rooms are well maintained and the staff are quite friendly. Weekly traditional performances are an added bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FishyBusiness13

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 48 in Port Vila
497 reviews
0.8 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#27 of 48 in Port Vila
119 reviews
0.7 km away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#24 of 48 in Port Vila
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#21 of 48 in Port Vila
377 reviews
0.8 km away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#38 of 48 in Port Vila
6 reviews
0.8 km away
Traveller's Budget Motel
Traveller's Budget Motel
#10 of 48 in Port Vila
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is must see! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $100 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Melanesian Port Vila staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st or Second floors are best”
 of 5 bubbles kevinmG7062EP, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One and two bedroom apartments are located at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles melk1975, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter, but pricier.”
 of 5 bubbles kilrwat, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“taking a room on the 2nd and 3rd levels are great. all rooms face the pool”
 of 5 bubbles kolyn_666, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles michelejonestravel, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay