We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Poppy's on the Lagoon

Agoda.comUS$120*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$167*
US$120*
Great Deal
US$125*
US$167*
US$120*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Poppy\\
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Panoramas (42)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Poppy's on the Lagoon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I took a studio at Poppy's and the view was decent, I liked having cooking facilities in the room, and Espel is a wonderful masseuse. That's the good part. On the flip side, the water this far into the lagoon is not clear, so did not go swimming. I also found the hot water did not work well (it would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnaontravel
Carla R, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Mandalaytogeneve, We appreciate you taking the time to review Poppys. It sounds as though you had a few issues pop up on your stay that may have impacted your enjoyment of our property. I hope that you took this up with management so we could get everything sorted whilst you were here. It sounds as though there might have...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Staff were great but just had the problem of not getting a late check out and we were not prepared to pay for it. There is no lounge to sit in for 2 hours and it was pouring with rain. We had to sit and wait outside the office on hard bench seat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deannajohnh
Carla R, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Deannajohnh, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Poppys. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Poppys with the exception of the late check out. Late checkouts are possible only when we have availability. If a late checkout was not requested at the time of booking, it is possible that we had other guests...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment No 1. Easy access to the pool and dining. Everything was clean, but no air-conditioning. the only problem with Poppy's is the hill you need to get up to go out. If you book a bus they come down to get you, otherwise you have a big hike up a big hill. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
Carla R, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Michelle T, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here :-) I think the hill is almost at a famous status....you are right though, it is steep. However, this is what provides our spectacular views (even from our studios!) and cooling breeze :-) Additionally, as you mentioned...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The resort is very pleasant and within walking distance to town. The staff are friendly enough but not in any hurry to help out (island time). We found the evening meals to be very disappointing as the chef seemed to crucify everything so we had to go off the premises for these. Continental breakfast was part of our package but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sadt864
Carla R, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear sadt864, Thank you for your feedback and review on Poppys, we appreciate hearing from all our guests, including those who have constructive feedback. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy the food whilst staying at Poppys. We get great feedback on our restaurant meals so I hope that it was just an unfortunately rare occasion that...

New Plymouth
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Excellent location, friendly staff & clean, comfortable accommodation. Food was excellent & staff very accommodating. Kids enjoyed the painting & cooking activities & the Poppy's island night was very enjoyable & reasonably priced. Great location a short walk/bus ride from the town Centre. Our massages & pedicures were very enjoyable & good prices. The best thing about Poopy's is the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stoniers
Carla R, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Stoniers, Thank you for writing a review for Poppys - we greatly appreciate it! It sounds as though you have had a wonderful time staying at Poppys! We are glad to hear that your children made the most of the facilities that we offer (painting etc) and enjoyed their time with our staff. Poppys in the perfect location for...

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Our family of 6 (2 adults & 4 kids) stayed at Poppy's in a 3 bedroom lagoon view villa (it was beautiful & very spacious) from the 1st of August till the 17th & absolutely loved every moment! The staff, the room, the facilities & the position all fantastic! It's close to town but not right in it so not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Carla R, Guest Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Sarah B, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We appreciate your positive feedback and I will pass on your comments to the staff :-) We have an amazing team of staff members! They really do go above and beyond to make sure our guests have a wonderful time. I am glad to hear that this was...

Serviceton
Reviewed 2 September 2016

The resort was a great place to have a family holiday. Our lagoon beach front Vila was almost perfect. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast never changed and could have done with a little more variety. Block out blinds in the bedrooms would have been great too. The opportunity to have a relaxing massage was great too. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wallisjr
CarlaPoppys, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Wallisjr, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys! We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests. It sounds as though you had a great family holiday - something that Poppys is proud to help our guests achieve! Thank you for the feedback on the breakfast. I will pass this on to our kitchen to ensure that they...

Auckland
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We booked one of the Lagoon View apartments for a week in August. We were 3 generations: 4 adults and 2 toddlers. We also booked another apartment for my son and his partner, who spent most of the days and evenings in our apartment The apartment was huge, the kitchen well equipped and we were very comfortable even when there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances S
CarlaPoppys, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Frances S, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We love hearing that your family holiday was a success! You are right about the size of the apartments :-) It is great that the entire family could spend time together without feeling cramped or on top of each other.....we think this is a unique opportunity when traveling...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The staff here really made it so friendly. We stayed 4 nights (the start of our trip) and on reflection Poppys was the best. It is all so relaxed. The only resort where we really talked to other guests. This helped with getting tips about Port Villa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 801brettk
CarlaPoppys, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear 801brettk, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. It is great to hear that you loved your time with us :-) Our staff really do take pride in getting to know our guests and making their holiday memorable. I will pass on your praise. I think being a small boutique resort can really make a difference in...

Campbelltown, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Here for just 3 days prior to our Tanna trip. Grounds were very well kept and nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and they have made a fairly nice beach area which you can lounge on under the shade of a large tree, and provides a nice launching area for the canoes. But I found the water very murky...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dennis S
CarlaPoppys, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Dennis S, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We appreciate the feedback that you have given. Although our grounds are small, you will find that even when we are at capacity it will rarely feel busy or crowded. Having 3 pools means that our guests will always have somewhere to relax and cool off :-) It...

618 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (240)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (335)
Viewed
Adult Pool (10)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Beachfront Spa Bungalow (47)
Viewed
Garden View Bungalow (34)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Lagoon View Studio (32)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Studio (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Beachfront Villa (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
648 reviews
0.6 km away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
2.8 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
183 reviews
0.5 km away
Mangoes Resort
Mangoes Resort
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
454 reviews
4.0 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Poppys on the Lagoon is an award winning boutique resort located on Erakor Lagoon. With private beachfront, a tropical oasis of gardens and only a 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive to Port Vila's town center, Poppys is the perfect getaway for friends, family and couples. Poppys on the Lagoon has a wide range of accommodation options, from unbeatable value lagoon view studios to freestanding luxury bungalows, 2 bedroom apartments and huge 3 bedroom villas. All accommodation options enjoy modern comforts and all have kitchen facilities, private balconies and are furnished with beautiful tropical style decor. As a family owned and operated business, Poppys will feel like your home away from home in Paradise! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Poppy's on the Lagoon

Address: Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $160 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppy's on the Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poppy's on the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy`s On The Lagoon Hotel Port Vila
Poppys On The Lagoon Hotel
Poppys Lagoon
Poppy's On The Lagoon Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Poppy's on the Lagoon staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Poppy's on the Lagoon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The upper rooms dont have airconditioning but a great view of the lagoon, the front rooms are small but nice.”
546AngelaP, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pay the extra for a lagoon side chalet with AC”
chrisatholywell, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“make sure you request air conditioning”
denis-Largs, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great food!”
alexhamiltonaus, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Comfortable room close to the water.”
705louisel, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$120* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$125
TripAdvisorUS$120
PricelineUS$167
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates