We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vila Chaumieres

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Vila Chaumieres
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 162: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Upon arriving we were met by lovely staff & a very accommating Manager, Ursula. Ursula went above & beyond to meet out needs plus more. Always very helpful with a sense of humour to boot. Ursula was very helpful & informative & interested in helping us with day trips etc. The staff for all needs executed their duties without fault.... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights at V/C in the lagoon view room above the resturant. Beautiful well maintained gardens throughout & private pool for guests who like a swim. Owners are pleasant & can help book local tours and transport if you request. Our room was clean with basic amenities, unfortunately loud in the mornings early from underneath us. Did have problems... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nm B
vilchaum, General Manager at Vila Chaumieres, responded to this review

Hi Natasha, We are concerned that your room was below expectation.However,we were not aware of either the toilet or shower issues until after you had vacated the room.We could have quickly rectified the issues and in fact they were easily fixed while the room was being serviced,if you had advised us while in residence.We respect our guests total privacy and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

It is three years since we have dined here...how can one fall so far? With only 3 tables (7people) in attendance it took one hour and ten minutes for food to arrive (after complaining). The standard of food has dropped from excellent to just above average. The standard of service from top class to less than 3 star. The venue... More 

Helpful?
Thank John150950
vilchaum, Manager at Vila Chaumieres, responded to this review

John,we are sorry if your experience was not up to your expectation. You mentioned that you stayed as a couple in August.We are unable to confirm your date of stay and we have checked carefully all of our bookings for this period.I wonder if you could assist us further by providing more information as we wish to respond to you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Ursula and Richard were such great hosts for our very short time in Port Vila. They were extremely friendly and very helpful given that our original stay was shortened with all of the Virgin Australia issues and cancelling flights. All of the staff were so friendly and made us feel very welcome and nothing was an issue. The bungalows are... More 

Helpful?
Thank garb2
vilchaum, Manager at Vila Chaumieres, responded to this review

Thank you for the review.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We went for dinner after recommendations from staff at our nearby hotel. We ordered the chicken liver pate, seafood plate for 1 and the coconut crab. The food was amazing. So much crab we couldn't finish it. We had the place to ourselves in a nice quiet setting.

Helpful?
Thank Tiffyb82
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We as a family with teenage kids went for lunch. We saw the sign on the side of the road and decided to go in. It was high tide so best time to visit as there were heaps of fish to see right beside your table. The food was great and we had the place all to ourselves.

Helpful?
Thank Louise H
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2016

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at Vila Chaumieres for seven wonderful nights. As soon as you arrive you are welcomed by the beautiful garden, that leads you through to a stunning restaurant set on the lagoon. A restaurant where the food is as lovely as the staff that look after you. We ate nearly every meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoe E
vilchaum, Owner at Vila Chaumieres, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments.We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again in the future. More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

We recently had the pleasure of two dinners at Vila Chaumieres - both fantastic. This resort is one of the cleanest and reliable in Port Vila. We dined over the lagoon with fish jumping - the staff are so accommodating as are the hands on owners - Ursula and Richard

Helpful?
Thank MoiAuckland
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 14 nights in late May/early June 2016. Firstly do not expect bells and whistles. There is no golf course or tennis courts. There is no TV and the internet is slow and erratic. You pay a small amount, AUD $6, per day for air conditioning. None of this was a concern for us,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. The owners and staff were lovely and always friendly and helpful. Our garden bungalow was lovely to stay in and it felt like our little home for the two weeks we were there. We found the food to be a little expensive but the meals we did eat there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steph C

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
11.7 km away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
341 reviews
0.1 km away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
3.0 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
266 reviews
3.0 km away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#38 of 47 in Port Vila
6 reviews
1.8 km away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Address: 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $100 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vila Chaumieres staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Vila Chaumieres staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All appear good but the rooms have stairs which could be a problem. Take insect repellent.”
 of 5 bubbles 264samanthaw, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Garden view rooms have more room and more private”
 of 5 bubbles christinesV5932AR, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“The rooms above the restaurant have a beautiful view although seem slightly older and less isolated than the garden bure's”
 of 5 bubbles Trave1_rm, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We had an excellent room (room 3) all rooms detached and seemed equally as good.”
 of 5 bubbles HailunDee, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We were in one of the two balcony rooms looking out over the lagoon and dining area. its very clean and quiet. highly recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles pomDave1000, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay