We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Karen Camp

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Karen Camp
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Start your review of Karen Camp
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night with my overland camping tour, the facilities were clean and great. We had food at the restaurant, had chicken burger and chips and it was tasty. The bar was cool as well and WiFi worked well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tej_Chau
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here four years ago and despite the website saying that renovations were underway I could not see any change. It's ok for a quick stop over but not a longer term stay. Food is adequate and the bar has a great atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zanta63
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The restaurant and bar had a good atmosphere and a chance to catch up with other travellers. However the camp ground was very disappointing. The ground was on a slope and the overland tour companies had parked their unused trucks in the camp grounds so it felt like you were camping in a carpark. Ablutions were basic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonleahy
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review

Dear Alisonleahy, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you liked our restaurant and bar and the diversity of travelers that pass through our popular camp and hotel. We are a bit surprised that you chose to set up your tent on the smaller part of our camp that does have a slope. There is nearly...

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

I booked most of this place for my family for our wedding 6 years ago as I wanted to keep everything budget friendly for extra adventures. Since then we have come here regularly and really enjoy the changes and family friendly attitude they have. We now pop by once a month or so to catch up with the owners and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monique B
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review

Dear Monique B, Thank for your excellent review of our camp and hotel. We at Karen Camp and Hotel keep trying to improve our product and welcome to new guests and very happy to have our good friends and regular customers continue to enjoy our service. Look forward to your next visit. Val & Brendan

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Poor camping facilities, limited hot water, campsite is on a slope making it difficult to set your tent. Upgrades are basic, but bathroom facilities in the upgrade are worth it. Wifi was in and out but it was free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olimpia G
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review

Dear Olimpia, We're very sorry and disappointed that you did not enjoy our camp and hotel, however we have noticed a few discrepancies with your review. # While there is some sloping ground on the compound it is much less than the 2 acres of flat camping ground that is available to camp. I know where I would have set...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Great place to stay, warm friendly owners and staff. Meals are excellent, wisely from a simple but tasty menu, Rooms basic but clean and everything you need is there. The additional experience which raises this above just a hotel is the coming and going of other travellers and the sharing of their stories along with the wonderful hospitality and company...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allenjcpj
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review

Dear Allen, Thank you for your great review here on TripAdvisor. It was a excellent couple of days and nights here at Karen Camp & Hotel. We really enjoyed your company with your good self and your mates and the very many stories of your adventures of independently overlanding on 'motorbikes'. Val especially pleased with your title, "More than just...

Reviewed 13 November 2016

I camped here for 4 nights, but there are also rooms available. Just perfect for the independently minded traveller, great bar popular with both travellers and locals, food is good pub food, with some Australian delicacies...anyone for "pie floaters"? Clean, safe facilities in a quiet area but also within walking distance of the Purdy Arms, another well known Karen watering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review

Dear Neil, Thank you for your excellent review of our Camp and Hotel here in Karen. So glad you enjoyed our place and its nearby facilities and places of interests like the Baby Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre, besides Karen Blixen House and Museum. It’s nice to be in a quiet and peaceful suburb rather the busy and noisy downtown...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We stayed at Karen Camp for 3 enjoyable nights in room 1in October. Brendan &Val are great hosts. They kindly organised a taxi transfer on our arrival which made our foray into Nairobi late at night seamless-always a good start! They along with their staff have created a welcoming, homely travellers atmosphere. Karen Camp is clean, affordable, food is delicious,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J0hn_Shar0n
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review

Dear Sham & John, Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to host you guys here at Karen Camp and Hotel. It was fun to see you both again and happy to here you enjoyed your stay and safari here in this wonderful country of Kenya. We all look forward to catching up another day soon and...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Amazing 36 hours at Karen camp with the nicest bunch of people I've met in a very long time. Such a warm hospitable welcome to Kenya. And Ireland beat NZ for the first time in 111 years. Look forward to returning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JKPR87
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your friends here at Karen Camp. You have made many friends here with our staff and management and of course ourselves and very much look forward to you visiting us here again some day. All the very best in your future travels Jamie and it...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I miss the sound of the river as I sleep. Such a calm and peaceful feeling. Animals are visible from the lawn so you can just pull up a chair get a drink from the bar and watch the show. We saw many hippos,giraffes smaller animals and crocodiles. So many dick dicks running around the pool and our tent too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rubylips_13
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Great compliments, but we do think you are talking about Karen Blixen Camp in the Masai Mara, and indeed it is a beautiful camp. My wife and I have enjoyed safaris there ourselves. It would be unfair to them and yourself for us to benefit from your excellent review. We do not mind if you wish to delete...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
427 reviews
12.9 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
1,219 reviews
3.2 km away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Purdy Arms
Purdy Arms
#8 of 246 in Nairobi
69 reviews
6.6 km away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#7 of 246 in Nairobi
77 reviews
6.0 km away
Wildebeest Eco Camp
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 246 in Nairobi
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Karen Camp and Hostel provides budget accommodation out of the hustle and bustle of Nairobi in the leafy suburb of Karen. The management and quite a few of the staff have been in the hospitality industry for over twenty years. We especially cater for the independent traveler as well as intrepid, expedition orientated safari folk. We have a small bar and restaurant and provide a variety of budget priced accommodation. Please consider us when planning your safari here in East Africa. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Address: Acacia Drive | Off Marula Ln, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $18 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Karen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Karen Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Karen Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 large & ensuite& quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles J0hn_Shar0n, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 if you want en-suit. Room 1 if you want lots of space, en-suit and a bathtub.”
 of 5 bubbles AcaciaGM, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The upper floor has the more quiet and spacy rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 788gijss, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs suite with bath tub , tv and own dining area is worth the few extra quid.”
 of 5 bubbles travellingzebra, 17 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Avoid triple, number 11. Next door to resident snorer...”
 of 5 bubbles Cider_with_rosie, 27 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5