We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Show Prices
#17 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Showing 470: English reviews
London
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a number of times. As Platinum member I get an upgrade which is always welcome. This entitles you to a free Happy Hour in the Club Room ( where I am now). Happy front desk staff and Club staff. The pool is heated and gets the sun in the afternoon. Good gym. Concierge can arrange car to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cue-em
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear cue-em, Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We are delighted to read that we have made an oasis of calm for you while in Nairobi. Our team takes pride in both the service and product and we are pleased it met your standards. We appreciate your most...

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great all-round service, from the lobby to restaurant, concierge, reception counter and hotel taxi service! The atmosphere is just wonderful. Good food too! Fresh fruit every morning, diverse menu that incorporates local dishes. Delicious!! Rooms are comfortable! Very fast WiFi with Internet access.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandile S
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Many thanks Sandile S for your time to give us feedback on your stay. We are very happy to read of your positive feedback and to read that your travel was a succesful one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Nairobi on your next visit to the city of cold waters, Nairobi. Best wishes, Ken Musili.

Scotland
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel in late June early July 2014. I felt the Hotel itself was ok. Overall the Hotel itself is a good standard, food was passable, room service was responsive but I felt the hotel was a little boring and sterile. However the roads surrounding the hotel are a bumpy disgrace. There are no shops or conveniences...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart1901
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you so much Stuart1901, for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback on Crowne Plaza Nairobi. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level and guest experience we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The road to Crown plaza is a bit bumpy due to on going works. Today parking was a challenge so I had to pack outside. But the service was great. I would recomend in any time and day for anyone in Nairobi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reubenkimani
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank Reubenkimani for your positive comments on Crowne Plaza Nairobi! We are delighted to hear that you had great service at our hotel hoping that we shall have another opportunity in the near future. Thank you for recommending us to other trip advisor reviewers. Best wishes, Ken Musili.

north carolina
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I recently held a class at the Crowne Plaza. I was concerned about security in Nairobi given the recent bombings but this hotel is clearly focused on it. All cars are checked before entry and all passengers have to exit the vehicle, at least at the times I entered. You need to scan you bags before entering as well. With...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymoussfh
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear anonymoussfh, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi and for taking time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. Like other serious organisations, we take security of our guests very seriously thus the thorough searches on everyone coming into the...

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Location is awesome save for the on-going building sites and road works to and around the hotel, the conceirge services is reliable as our reservations were attended to and a table booked as requested.On arrival the bell men did a great job ushering us into the hotel to the exquisite front desk. The hotel restaurants and coffee shop have good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ngugy
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Many thanks Ngugy for your feedback on Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We are very happy to hear that you had a memorable Father's Day at our hotel. It gives us joy to hear that our guests feel welcomed and well taken care of. Thank you for recommending us to other trip advisor reviewers hoping that we shall have another opportunity to...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Crowne Plaza is solid choice if your business is in Upper Hill. Accommodations are very clean and comfortable and the location allows you to avoid all the downtown traffic (if you don't have to be there otherwise). Staff at the front desk, restaurants and gym are all phenomenal- attentive, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. One staff member in the restaurant, Sella,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HM_Ippy
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Many thanks HM_Ippy for your detailed feedback on Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We are so glad we were able to make your stay so comfortable. We appreciate your mentioning both Sellah and Peter as providing outstanding service during your time with us, we always love to hear when we make someone's day brighter. We love to hear that our guests feel...

Nairobi
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The rooms are big and the TV allows you to check your bill. Their travel desk offers advise on key attractions & their drivers are knowledgeable. Great transit point as it is only 25 minutes from airport & the city center is just 5 minutes away.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mkenya1
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Many thanks Mkenya1 for your positive feedback on your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We are delighted to read of such encouraging comments. Thank you for recommending us to trip advisor reviewers and hope that we shall see you again in the near future. Best wishes, Ken Musili

Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very good experience where your TV welcomes you and allow you to check your bill and a lot more. The service is very good, the staff is helpfull, warm and open. The fitness center is well equiped and a coach is available to help. I enjoyed the breakfast and the room is very big, clean with a very good wash...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kanigui Y
aakbarali00, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive comments with respect to your experience at our hotel. Crowne Plaza Nairobi takes pride in both the service and product and we are pleased it met your standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Nairobi in the near future. Regards, Ali Akbarali Director

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza 4 nights in May. The rooms are very comfortable, and the reception excellent. The front office staff remember your name and is very helpful to find a taxi. I stay here often and will return. The giant prawns are great at both restaurants in the hotel. Don't be put off by the roads...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucette B
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you Ms. Lucette B for your kind comments on Crowne Plaza Nairobi. It has always been a pleasure hosting you and we are delighted to hear of the excellent service from the reception team and great giant prawns at the restaurants. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other trip advisor viewers. Be sure to let us know of...

318 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (193)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.3 km away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 km away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
882 reviews
2.0 km away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
1,182 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nairobi Upper Hill
1.5 km away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 161 in Nairobi
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipment make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 206 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra-modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Price Range: $192 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, IHG, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the left side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles c-napoli1, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Honest opinion we dont like the annex...too bright for us..maybe someone else could love that.”
 of 5 bubbles mambiri, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor guest rooms give a better view of the surrounding areas...”
 of 5 bubbles georgemB7766BJ, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room Series - 29 and 24 are quite zones you can choose them”
 of 5 bubbles PumaSri, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in two separate rooms on two occasions and both were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 533douglasg, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay